Master Film Studies

Developing a personal cinematographic vision, understanding the film-making process and apprehending the stakes of production so as to pave the way for graduates to smoothly join professional circles – such are the main objectives of this programme. This Master course, which is unique in Europe, is aimed at the holders of a Bachelor’s degree, or with equivalent experience, wishing to further their knowledge in one of the following fields: directing, writing, editing, sound or producing.

Through courses and workshops provided by renowned lecturers in each field, the students develop a personal project throughout the curriculum. For their master project, they are involved in the production (directing, writing, editing, sound or producing) of a short, medium or full-length film of a previously set genre (fiction, documentary, TV series, art-house, transmedia…). Some films gain international visibility through renowned festivals or by being shown on TV.

This Master programme relies on a partnership between ECAL and HEAD/Geneva University of Art and Design and on collaborations with Lausanne University (UNIL), Zurich University (UZH), Zurich University of the Arts (ZHDK), the Swiss National Film Archive in Lausanne, Swiss National Broadcasting RTS, and la Manufacture (school of performing arts) in Lausanne, University of Music Lausanne and Swiss Literature Institute in Bienne.


Registration deadline, interview www.ecal.ch/en/admission


4 semesters

Yearly fees (materials included) 

CHF 2225.–


120 ECTS


French and English

Qualification issued

Master of Arts HES-SO in Cinema, major in Direction, Scenario, Editing, Sound or Production


Lionel Baier (ECAL)

Nicolas Wadimoff (HEAD – Genève)


Jasmin Basic

Professors and Visiting Lecturers

Elsa Amiel, Paris

Claire Atherton, Paris

Nathalie Baye, Paris

Jean-Pierre Beauviala, Grenoble

Pierre Bismuth, Bruxelles

Stéphane Bouquet, Paris

Louise Bourgouin, Paris

Serge Bozon, Paris

Jean-Stéphane Bron, Paris

Robert Cantarella, Paris

Djinn Carrenard, Berlin

Lolita Chammah, Paris 

Michael Cimino, New York

Donigan Cumming, Toronto

Abdel Raouf Dafri, Paris

Thierry de Peretti, Ajaccio

Dieter Fahrer

Philippe Faucon, Toulon

Laetitia Fèvre, Paris

Emmanuel Finkiel, Paris

Jennifer Fox, New York

Pauline Gaillard, Paris

Amos Gitaï, Haïfa

Delphine Gleize, Bordeaux

Mahamat Saleh Haroun, Paris

Nicolas Humbert, Hambourg

Mike Hoolboom, Toronto

Jean-Christophe Hym, Paris

Antoine Jaccoud

Simon Jaquemet, Zurich

Tom Kalin, New York

Anurag Kashyap, Mumbai

Alanté Kavaïté, Vilnius, 

Marthe Keller, Paris

Stéphane Kuthy, Zurich, 

Joachim Lafosse, Bruxelles

Sébastien Lifshitz, Paris

Eric Loret, Paris

Noémie Lvovsky, Paris

Vincent Macaigne, Paris

Ursula Meier, Bruxelles

Peter Mettler, Toronto

Luc Moullet, Paris

Bettina Oberli, Zurich 

Ruben Östlund, Göteborg

François Ozon, Paris

Vasco Pimentel, Lisbonne

Aude Py, Paris

Katell Quillévéré, Paris

Philippe Ramos, Paris

Charlotte Rampling, Paris

Gianfranco Rosi, Rome

Emmanuel Salinger, Paris

Ulrich Seidl, Vienne

Florence Seyvos, Paris

Eyal Sivan, Tel-Aviv

Bela Tarr, Sarajevo

Marianne Tardieu, Paris

Anne-Dominique Toussaint

Cécile Vargaftig, Paris

Teresa Villaverde, Lisbonne

Production and broadcasting

Jean-Guillaume Sonnier (ECAL)


Alice Riva (HEAD)

ECAL book 2018
Interview Lionel Baier - Mise au point