Friday 21.05.2021
Instagram Live: @ecal_ch
"Lake ECAL"
Hans Ulrich Obrist in conversation with Stéphanie Moisdon
Friday 21 May 2021
3pm (CEST) on Instagram Live

Hans Ulrich Obrist is the artistic director of the Serpentine Galleries in London. Prior to this, he was curator and head of the Migrateurs programme at the Musée d’Art Moderne de la Ville de Paris. Since his first show World Soup (The Kitchen Show) in 1991, he has curated more than 350 exhibitions: his recent shows include It’s Urgent at Luma Arles (2019-2021) and Enzo Mari at Triennale Milano (2020). Obrist also writes columns for Das Magazin and Weltkunst. In 2011, he received the CCS Bard Award for Curatorial Excellence and in 2015 was awarded the International Folkwang Prize, and most recently he was honoured by the Appraisers Association of America with the 2018 Award for Excellence in the Arts. Obrist’s recent publications include Ways of Curating (2015), The Age of Earthquakes (2015), Lives of the Artists, Lives of the Architects (2015), Mondialité (2017), Somewhere Totally Else (2018), The Athens Dialogues (2018), Maria Lassnig: Letters (2020), Entrevistas Brasileiras: Volume 2 (2020) and the forthcoming Remember Nature (2021).

Stéphanie Moisdon is an art critic, curator, head of the Master in Fine Arts at ECAL and co-director of the Consortium Museum in Dijon. Together with Eric Troncy, she is also the co-founder of Frog magazine and regularly contributes to various publications such as Artforum, artpress, Beaux Arts Magazine, Purple or Self Service. She has organised numerous exhibitions and curated, among others, the European Biennial Manifesta 4 in Frankfurt (2001) and the 9th Lyon Biennial (2007), whose artistic direction she shared with Hans Ulrich Obrist. Since 2006, she has also directed an alternative and itinerant academic institution, L’Ecole de Stéphanie. She is author of several monographs such as Dominique Gonzalez-Foerster (2002), Marnie Weber (2011) or Jean-Luc Verna, Les roches noires (2017).

Photo : Nicolas Trembley – Graphic design : ECAL/Arthur Seguin – Font : Larish Neue, Radim Peško