Josef Müller-Brockmann Award 2023 – Ceremony & Lecture, 07.12.2023, IKEA Auditorium, ECAL

Josef Müller-Brockmann Award 2023 – Ceremony & Lecture
IKEA Auditorium, ECAL

On Thursday December 7, 2023 at 6pm, ECAL will host the public presentation of the Josef Müller-Brockmann 2023 Prize to Laura Csocsán, an ECAL graduate. Graphic designer Vera van de Seyp will also give a lecture on this occasion.

Laura Zsófia Csocsán , who graduated from ECAL's Master Type Design program in 2022, is the winner of the Josef Müller-Brockmann Prize 2023. She is the third artist to receive this award, worth CHF 25,000.  Awarded every two years by the Shizuko Yoshikawa and Josef Müller-Brockmann Foundation, this is one of the most important prizes for graphic design in Switzerland. 
> Read the full article


Graphic designer, MIT Media Lab Boston/Amsterdam
Dutch designer and creative coder, Vera van de Seyp is currently based in Boston (USA), and member of the Future Sketches group at MIT Media Lab. Her exploration of new technologies and digital tools, as well as her unique approach to typography, resonates strongly with the practice of the awardee, Laura Csocsán.

Both question and reinvent the use of digital devices. Rather than just using them as tools, they turn them into instruments. Images and texts are revisited with computational twists, turning the page into a playground for experimentation and creation. Using automation, artificial intelligence and coding, they question our uses of the digital with their reflexions about systems, structures, both elements being at the center of typographic practice and type design drawing, and also an echo of the work of Josef Müller-Brockmann.



Thursday, December 7, 2023 at 6:00pm
Free entry


Alexis Georgacopoulos , ECAL Director

Lars Müller, President, Shizuko Yoshikawa und Josef Müller-Brockmann Stiftung

Laura Zsófia Csocsán , award winner


Vera Van de Seyp, graphic designer, MIT Media Lab Boston/Amsterdam


IKEA Auditorium, ECAL
Avenue du Temple 5
1020 Renens


Image ECAL/Marvin Merkel
Image ECAL/Marvin Merkel


Image ECAL/Marvin Merkel
Image ECAL/Marvin Merkel