Master Type Design

ECAL is introducing a new master’s degree in Type Design as from the 2016 academic year. Unique in Switzerland, this two-year programme gives graduate students with a Bachelor in Graphic Design an opportunity to develop projects in the long term. This training provides privileged access to one of the flagship disciplines in Swiss graphic design, relying on ECAL’s expertise in this field as the first Swiss school to have integrated digital typography as part of its curriculum.

With the support of renowned professionals and academics, students explore fields ranging from corporate typography to experimental research, focusing on creativity. They work on techniques specific to typeface design (calligraphy, work on curves, construction, digital drawing), including in the field of non-Latin fonts. They acquire and develop a sharp and thoughtful eye, technical and methodological skills and an ability to produce quality digital fonts with efficiency and rigour (mastering, scripting) as part of courses and workshops where their projects are assessed and commented by experts invited for conferences and individual interviews. Finally, they attend lectures and research sessions around concepts ranging from the prospective to the historical, including aesthetic and legal aspects, which are given concrete form through dissertations, online or paper publications and even exhibitions.

The skills and projects developed throughout the curriculum serve to produce a portfolio that meets the highest standards. At the end of their curriculum, having acquired a solid typographical culture, students will have the  opportunity to apply their skills either as part of a company or in a self-employed capacity.


Matthieu Cortat, Lyon

Matthieu Cortat, Lyon
Anniina Koivu, Basel
François Rappo

Kai Bernau, The Hague
Julia Born, Zurich
Radim Peško, London
Wayne Daly, London
Roland Früh, St. Gallen
Bruno Maag, London
Marie Lusa, Zurich

Paul Barnes, London
Sofie Beier, Copenhague
Peter Biľak, The Hague
Thibault Brevet, Berlin
Johannes Breyer, Berlin
Laurenz Brunner, Zurich
Maria Doreuli, Moscow
Alaric Garnier, Paris
Gilles Gavillet, Geneva
Roger Gorrindo, Lyon
Fabian Harb, Basel
Atilla Korap, Frankfurt
Henrik Kubel, London
Rory McGrath, London
Yoann Minet, Paris
John Morgan, London
Reto Moser, Bern
Michele Patané, London
Edwin Pickstone, Glasgow
Krista Radoeva, London
Alice Savoie, Lyon
Régis Tosetti, Paris

Ondřej Báchor
Malte Bentzen Bredstrup