General
What are the qualifications required to register for the admission exam in Foundation Year? What is the Specialised Baccalaureate in Arts and Design (maturité spécialisée arts et design – MSAD)?

This one-year course is designed for the holders of a general education certificate from a Vaud secondary school (gymnase), ideally with a fine arts major, wishing to access the admission procedure for an HES Bachelor programme in Design and Fine Arts. To earn the specialised baccalaureate, students must obtain a passing grade in courses and workshops dispensed by ECAL and their specialised baccalaureate paper must be validated.

How do I register for the specialised baccalaureate in Arts and Design (maturité spécialisée arts et design – MSAD)?

The procedure for students wishing to register for the MSAD is as follows:

  • Inquire at the school you are attending and register on vd.ch;
  • Complete the online registration form on the ECAL website;
  • Prepare a personal application for one of the options – Fine Arts, Film Studies, Graphic Design, Industrial Design, Media & Interaction Design, Photography – and deposit it at ECAL;
  • Students whose applications have been selected will be called for an interview with the ECAL jury.

The decision to accept or turn down the application is made after the interview with the jury. For information on deadlines and various other instructions, refer to the websites of the Etat de Vaud and ECAL.

Can I register for two majors when I apply for admission to the Foundation Year?

No. You may register for only one major. Don’t hesitate to contact the ECAL Secretariat if you have any questions.

What is a reference image?

The choice is vast. It can be for example a work, a piece, a photograph, a screenshot, a film poster, etc., linked in principle to the field under consideration. However, the dossier may contain images that are not related to the field of study, and which highlight other areas of interest of the candidate.

Does successful completion of the Foundation Year guarantee automatic admission to a Bachelor programme?

No. Admission to Bachelor programmes is subject to an entrance exam. However, the success rate of applicants who have successfully completed the Foundation Year is high thanks to the solid basic training in art and design they receive during that year.

Can I apply for admission to the Foundation Year even if I don’t have the requisite diploma?

Yes. ECAL may exceptionally accept applicants demonstrating extraordinary artistic talent even if they do not meet the admission requirements. However, the applicants must first send the ECAL Director a written waiver request.

What does the waiver request include?

The applicant submits an application comprising a letter of motivation, a CV and a portfolio. If the request is accepted, he/she can then register for the Foundation Year entrance exam, in the option he/she has chosen.

I have a French Baccalaureate. What conditions do I have to meet to take part in the Foundation Year entrance exam?

Bac S are recognized without special distinction. Bac L are accepted without special distinction, but with mathematics (including the exam) in the final two years (première and terminale). Bac ES are accepted with an average of 14/20.

Once admitted, can I change my major during the academic year if I realise that I am not happy with my initial choice?

Yes. You can apply to the Head of the Foundation Year for a change in major by the end of the autumn term at the latest. The results obtained by that point are often decisive. Any change in major is subject to approval by the Head and an interview with management.

Languages
What are the languages of instruction?

Courses and workshops are in French in the Foundation Year and at Bachelor level (some Bachelor workshops are in English). Master / MAS programmes are for the most part bilingual (English/French). Fluency in French is therefore essential for the Foundation Year and Bachelor programmes. The same applies to English at least for Master programmes.

Do I need a language certificate to enrol in an ECAL course?

Yes. For the Foundation Year and Bachelor programmes, non-French-speaking applicants who have not attended school in Switzerland must be able to attest that they are proficient in French at the B2 level of the European Language Portfolio. The B2 level is required on registration.

Generally speaking, language proficiency is also checked by the juries during the entrance exam.

Accomodation
Does ECAL have a residence?

ECAL has neither a residence nor a campus, but it can, to a limited extent, help students looking for accommodation. As the housing market in the Lake Geneva area is relatively tight, students are advised to make arrangements well in advance.

Can ECAL act as a guarantor on a lease signed by a foreign student?

No, not at the moment.

Practical informations

Due to a relatively difficult housing situation in Lausanne area and its surroundings, it should be brought to attention that finding accommodation can take several months. Students are therefore invited to begin their search as soon as they receive their acceptance letter.

The price of studios and apartments starts at CHF 600.- per month. Additionally, most agencies and owners will require a 3 months safety deposit. Therefore, to rent a CHF 600.- per month studio, will cost you CHF 2'400.- the first month. Nevertheless, you can go with an insurance company such as Swisscaution: www.swisscaution.com, which will pay the safety deposit for you in exchange of a yearly fee.

The following solutions are available:

Student houses

FSLE (Fondation Solidarité Logement pour étudiant·e·s)
UNIL – Anthropole - Bureau 1128.2
M. Eran Shoshani, directeur admnistratif
1015 Lausanne
Tél. +41 (0)21 692 25 92
Mobile : +41 (0)78 626 40 84
https://www.fsle.ch/en/
fsle@unil.ch

Résidence "La Meute"
On a "first come, first served" basis and with equal applications, ECAL students will have priority. They will be able to use all the facilities, including the common areas such as the art space and the workshop.
Rent : ~ CHF 700.- per month. Room size : ~12 m2
https://www.fsle.ch/fr/logements-residences/residence-la-meute/

FMEL (Fondation Maisons pour étudiant·e·s Lausanne)
Bâtiment Vortex - BP 927 - Rte de Praz-Véguey 29
1022 Chavannes-près-Renens
Tél. +41 (0)21 617 81 54
https://www.fmel.ch
info@fmel.ch

Stud'home
Régie Foncière SA
5, rue de la Fontaine
1204 Genève
Tél. +41 (0)22 817 08 17
www.regiefonciere.ch
ddupin@regiefonciere.ch

Student Flat
Régimo
38, ch. de Mornex
1001 Lausanne
www.studentflat.ch
contact@la.regimo.ch

Rooms for rent

Résidence l'ancienne Usine
FAM Immobilier SA
7, rue de la Paix
1020 Renens
Tél. +41 (0)21 633 08 30
francois.schoch@firstindustries.swiss 

Le Cazard
15, Pré du Marché
1004 Lausanne
Tél. +41 (0)21 320 52 61
www.lecazard.ch
info@lecazard.ch

Centre universitaire catholique
Boulevard de Grancy 31
1006 Lausanne
Tel +41 (0)21 612 61 40
www.lecuc.ch
info@lecuc.ch

http://silobleu.ch
https://studiomodernes.com
https://parc-du-simplon.ch/logements/
https://www.lausanne-tourisme.ch/fr/hebergements/

Online agencies (main addresses)
https://fr-ch.roomlala.com
https://www.aljf.ch
www.homegate.ch
www.immoscout24.ch
www.recherche-colocation.com
https://www.cohebergement.com
ch.chambrealouer.com
https://citypop.com

Facebook Group
https://www.facebook.com/groups/851460721563916/
https://www.facebook.com/groups/330486193693264/?fref=ts
https://www.facebook.com/groups/logements.etudiants.lausanne/?ref=share
https://www.facebook.com/groups/112570489364171/?ref=share

Scholarships & school fees
I am a foreign student. Can I obtain a scholarship in Switzerland?

Educational assistance (grants or student loans) is awarded by the cantons and is intended for Swiss students (nationals, foreign permanent residents and persons with refugee status). It is not available to foreign citizens residing in Switzerland for the purposes of study only. However, the Swiss Confederation offers excellence scholarships to foreign students, researchers and artists for a period of study or research in Switzerland.

I am resident abroad. Will my tuition at ECAL be higher than for a student resident in Switzerland?

Except for the Foundation Year, where the course fees are determined by the student’s domicile, tuition is the same for all students in the same Bachelor, Master or MAS programme.

Miscellaneous
Does ECAL offer evening or summer courses? Can I sign up just for certain specific courses or workshops?

No, not at the moment.

Can I have a tour of ECAL?

Apart from events organised by the ECAL (various exhibitions, Open Day, etc.), no individual visits are permitted. Group visits can be organised, but should be planned well in advance. In this case, please contact the ECAL Secretariat directly at ecal@ecal.ch.

My company wishes to hire an ECAL student as an intern or employee. What do I have to do?

Please send the ECAL Secretariat, at ecal@ecal.ch, an advert in A4 PDF format containing all the information on the internship or job. The advert will be published on the ECAL intranet. Interested students will contact the advertiser directly.

Contact
Any other questions?
Do not hesitate to contact the ECAL secretariat for any further information.

Tél. +41 (0)21.316.99.39
inscription@ecal.ch


Apply
Contact us

Général
Quels sont les titres requis pour s’inscrire au concours d’admission en Année Propédeutique? Qu’est-ce que la maturité spécialisée arts et design (MSAD)?

Cette formation d’une année s'adresse aux étudiant·e·s titulaires d'un certificat de culture générale obtenu dans un gymnase vaudois, idéalement dans l'option arts visuels, qui souhaitent ensuite accéder à la procédure d'admission dans une filière Bachelor HES du Domaine Design et Arts Visuels. L’obtention du certificat de maturité spécialisée arts et design est liée à la réussite de cours et ateliers dispensés par l’ECAL, et à la validation d’un travail de maturité spécialisée (TMsp).

Comment s’inscrire pour une formation en maturité spécialisée arts et design (MSAD)?

Pour un·e étudiant·e qui souhaite entrer en MSAD, la procédure est la suivante:

  • Se renseigner auprès de son établissement et s’inscrire sur le site vd.ch;
  • Remplir le formulaire d’inscription en ligne sur le site de l’ECAL;
  • Préparer un dossier personnel dans l’une des options suivantes: Arts Visuels, Cinéma, Design Graphique, Design Industriel, Media & Interaction Design, Photographie, et le déposer à l’ECAL;
  • Pour celles et ceux dont le dossier est retenu, s’entretenir avec le jury de l’ECAL.

La décision d’admission ou de refus à la MSAD fait suite à l’entretien avec le jury. Pour les délais et consignes diverses, se référer aux pages Internet de l’Etat de Vaud et de l’ECAL.

Qu’est-ce qu’une image de référence?

Le choix est vaste. Il peut s’agir par exemple d'une oeuvre, d'une pièce, d'une photographie, d'une capture d’écran, d'une affiche de films, etc., liée en principe au domaine envisagé. Le dossier peut toutefois contenir des images qui s’en éloignent, et qui permettent de mettre en évidence d’autres centres d’intérêt du·de la candidate.

Puis-je m’inscrire pour deux options lors du concours d’entrée de l’Année Propédeutique?

Non. Une seule inscription pour une option est autorisée. En cas de doute ne pas hésiter à contacter le Secrétariat de l’ECAL.

La réussite de l’Année Propédeutique garantit-elle une admission automatique en Bachelor?

Non. L’admission en Bachelor est subordonnée au passage d’un concours d'admission. Le taux de réussite des diplômé·e·s de l’Année Propédeutique est toutefois élevé, considérant la solide formation de base en art et design dont ils·elles bénéficient durant cette année.

Puis-je accéder au concours d’entrée de l’Année Propédeutique, si je n’ai pas de titre requis?

Oui. Pour des candidat·e·s faisant preuve d’un talent artistique hors du commun, l’accès au concours d’entrée de l’Année Propédeutique peut être exceptionnellement ouvert. Le/la candidat·e doit toutefois effectuer, au préalable, une demande de dérogation auprès du Directeur de l’ECAL.

En quoi consiste une demande de dérogation?

Le/la candidat·e transmet un dossier comprenant une lettre de motivation, un CV et un portfolio. Si sa demande est acceptée, il/elle peut ensuite s’inscrire au concours d’entrée en Année Propédeutique, dans l’option souhaitée.

S’agissant d’un baccalauréat français, quelles conditions dois-je remplir pour l’inscription auconcours d’entrée de l’Année Propédeutique?

Les Bac S sont reconnus sans mention. Les Bac L sont acceptés sans mention, mais avec l’option mathématique (y compris l’examen) en première et terminale. Les Bac ES sont acceptés avec une moyenne de 14/20.

Une fois admis, puis-je changer d’option en cours d’année académique, si je me rends compte que celle choisie ne me convient pas?

Oui. Une demande de changement d’option peut-être adressée au responsable de l’Année Propédeutique, au plus tard au terme du semestre d’automne. Les résultats obtenus jusqu’alors sont souvent déterminants. Le changement éventuel intervient sur la base du préavis du responsable, et après entretien avec la Direction.

Langues
Dans quelle langue les cours sont-ils donnés?

Les cours et ateliers sont donnés en français en Année Propédeutique ainsi qu’en Bachelor (certains workshops en Bachelor sont dispensés en anglais). Les formations Master/MAS sont en revanche très largement bilingues anglais/français. La maîtrise du français est donc requise en Année Propédeutique ainsi que dans les programmes Bachelor. Il en va de même au moins de l’anglais pour les programmes Master.

Est-il nécessaire d’avoir un diplôme de langue pour accéder aux formations proposées par l’ECAL?

Oui. Pour l’Année Propédeutique et le Bachelor, les candidat·e·s non francophones qui n’ont pas suivi une formation scolaire en Suisse doivent pouvoir attester de leur maîtrise du français au niveau B2 du Portfolio européen des langues. Le niveau B2 est demandé lors de l’inscription. De manière générale, les compétences en langues sont également vérifiées par les jurys au moment des concours d’admission.

Logement
L’ECAL dispose-t-elle d’un internat?

L’ECAL ne dispose ni d’un internat ni d’un campus mais peut, dans la mesure du possible, orienter les étudiant·e·s dans la recherche d’un logement. Cette recherche étant relativement difficile dans la région lémanique, les étudiant·e·s sont invit·é·es à prendre leurs dispositions suffisamment à l’avance en la matière.

L’école peut-elle se porter garante d’un logement pour un étudiant étranger?

Non, pas pour le moment.

Informations pratiques

En raison d’une situation du logement relativement difficile à Lausanne et dans ses environs, plusieurs mois sont parfois nécessaires pour trouver un studio/appartement ou une chambre. Les étudiants sont ainsi invités à prendre leurs dispositions suffisamment à l’avance en la matière, et si possible dès leur admission.

Le prix de la location d’un studio/appartement ou d’une chambre commence généralement à CHF 600.-/mois. En outre, la majorité des agences et propriétaires demande une caution correspondant à 3 mois de loyer. Un loyer de CHF 600.-/mois coûtera donc CHF 2’400.- le premier mois. Il existe néanmoins des compagnies d’assurance comme swisscaution www.swisscaution.com qui prennent en charge le dépôt de garantie contre paiement annuel d’une charge.

Différents types d'hébergements

Maisons pour étudiants

FSLE (Fondation Solidarité Logement pour étudiant·e·s)
UNIL – Anthropole - Bureau 1128.2
M. Eran Shoshani, directeur admnistratif
1015 Lausanne
Tél. +41 (0)21 692 25 92
Mobile : +41 (0)78 626 40 84
https://www.fsle.ch/en/
fsle@unil.ch

Résidence "La Meute"
Sur la base du « premier·e arrivé·e, premier·e servi·e » et à dossier égal, les étudiant·e·s de l’ECAL seront prioritaires. Ils·elles pourront exploiter toutes les installations, y compris les locaux communs comme l’espace d’art et l’atelier. 
Loyer : ~ CHF 700.-par mois. Surface de la chambre : ~12 m2
https://www.fsle.ch/fr/logements-residences/residence-la-meute/

FMEL (Fondation Maisons pour étudiant·e·s Lausanne)
Bâtiment Vortex - BP 927 - Rte de Praz-Véguey 29
1022 Chavannes-près-Renens
Tél. +41 (0)21 617 81 54
https://www.fmel.ch
info@fmel.ch

Stud'home
Régie Foncière SA
5, rue de la Fontaine
1204 Genève
Tél. +41 (0)22 817 08 17
www.regiefonciere.ch
ddupin@regiefonciere.ch

Student Flat
Régimo
38, ch. de Mornex
1001 Lausanne
www.studentflat.ch
contact@la.regimo.ch

Chambres à louer

Résidence l'ancienne Usine
FAM Immobilier SA
7, rue de la Paix
1020 Renens
Tél. +41 (0)21 633 08 30
francois.schoch@firstindustries.swiss 

Le Cazard
15, Pré du Marché
1004 Lausanne
Tél. +41 (0)21 320 52 61
www.lecazard.ch
info@lecazard.ch

Centre universitaire catholique
Boulevard de Grancy 31
1006 Lausanne
Tel +41 (0)21 612 61 40
www.lecuc.ch
info@lecuc.ch

http://silobleu.ch
https://studiomodernes.com
https://parc-du-simplon.ch/logements/
https://www.lausanne-tourisme.ch/fr/hebergements/

Agences en ligne – adresses principales
https://fr-ch.roomlala.com
https://www.aljf.ch
www.homegate.ch
www.immoscout24.ch
www.recherche-colocation.com
https://www.cohebergement.com
ch.chambrealouer.com
https://citypop.com

Groupe Facebook
https://www.facebook.com/groups/851460721563916/
https://www.facebook.com/groups/330486193693264/?fref=ts
https://www.facebook.com/groups/logements.etudiants.lausanne/?ref=share
https://www.facebook.com/groups/112570489364171/?ref=share

Bourses & frais d’écolage
Puis-je obtenir une bourse en Suisse en qualité d’étudiant étranger?

L'octroi d'une aide à la formation (bourses ou prêts d'études) relève des cantons et est destinée aux étudiant·e·s suisses (nationaux, étranger·e·s établi·e·s et personnes ayant le statut de réfugié). Les citoyen·ne·s étranger·e·s qui résident en Suisse uniquement pour y suivre des études n'ont pas accès à ces bourses. La Confédération suisse offre toutefois des bourses d’excellence à des étudiant·e·s, chercheurs·chercheuses et artistes étranger·e·s pour un séjour d'études ou de recherche en Suisse.

Je suis un·e étudiant·e domicilié·e à étranger. Mes frais d’écolages à l’ECAL sont-ils plus importants que ceux d’un·e étudiant·e domicilié·e en Suisse?

Excepté en Année Propédeutique où la taxe d’études est fixée en fonction du domicile, les frais d’écolage sont identiques pour tous au sein d’un même programme Bachelor, Master ou MAS.

Divers
L’ECAL propose-t-elle des cours du soir ou d’été? Est-il possible de suivre sur demande certains cours ou workshops?

Non, pas pour le moment.

Peut-on visiter l’ECAL?

En dehors des manifestations organisées par l’ECAL (expositions diverses, Open Day, etc.), aucune visite n’est autorisée à titre individuel. Des visites de groupes peuvent être organisées mais planifiées suffisamment à l’avance. Le cas échéant, merci de contacter directement le Secrétariat de l’ECAL, à l’adresse ecal@ecal.ch.

Je suis entrepreneur et j’aimerais engager un·e étudiant·e de l’ECAL pour un stage ou emploi. Quelle procédure dois-je suivre?

Merci de bien vouloir transmettre à l’ECAL, à l’adresse ecal@ecal.ch, un PDF au format A4 comprenant tous les détails de l’offre de stage ou d’emploi. L’annonce est publiée sur l’intranet de l’ECAL. Les étudiant·e·s intéressé·e·s se chargent ensuite de contacter directement l’annonceur.

Contact
D’autres questions? N’hésitez pas à contacter le secrétariat de l’ECAL pour tout renseignement complémentaire.

Tél. +41 (0)21.316.99.39
inscription@ecal.ch


S’inscrire
Nous contacter