Admissions
Courses
Feed
SHOP

EXHIBITIONS

100 BESTE PLAKATE 21

From December 8 to 16, 2022, the 100 most beautiful posters of 2021 (Germany, Austria, Switzerland) are back at Galerie l'elac! The exhibition organized by 100 beste Plakate e. V. and in collaboration with ECAL presents the posters selected during the competition in 2022. 

Read more

100 beste Plakate 21, 08–16.12.2022, Gallery l'elac, ECAL

EVENTS

ECAL Lecture - Luca Nichetto,06.12.2022,Auditoire IKEA, ECAL

LECTURES

ECAL Lecture - Luca Nichetto,
06.12.2022,
Auditoire IKEA, ECAL

On Tuesday, December 6, 2022, Master of Advanced Studies in Design for Luxury & Craftsmanship invites Luca Nichetto, Italian designer, for a lecture at ECAL. Free admission.

ECAL Lecture - Sébastian Strappazzon,07.12.2022,Auditoire IKEA, ECAL

LECTURES

ECAL Lecture - Sébastian Strappazzon,
07.12.2022,
Auditoire IKEA, ECAL

On Wednesday, December 7, 2022, Bachelor Graphic Design invites Sébastian Strappazzon, Swiss designer and founder of the brand AVNIER, for a lecture at ECAL: four lessons on creativity. Free admission.

100 beste Plakate 21,08–16.12.2022,Galerie l'elac

EXHIBITIONS

100 beste Plakate 21,
08–16.12.2022,
Galerie l'elac

From December 8 to 16, 2022, the 100 most beautiful posters of 2021 (Germany, Austria, Switzerland) are back at Galerie l'elac! The exhibition organized by 100 beste Plakate e. V. and in collaboration with ECAL presents the posters selected during the competition in 2022.

Willy Guhl - Thinking with Your Hands,09.12.2022–26.03.2023,Museum für Gestaltung Zürich

EXHIBITIONS

Willy Guhl - Thinking with Your Hands,
09.12.2022–26.03.2023,
Museum für Gestaltung Zürich

From December 9, 2022 to March 26, 2023, Bachelor Industrial Design students will take part in the exhibition Willy Guhl - Thinking with Your Hands at the Museum für Gestaltung in Zürich, which invites the pulbic to rediscover the creations of the famous Swiss designer.

ECAL Masterclass - Albert Serra,20.12.2022, 17:00,Auditoire Leenards, ECAL

LECTURES

ECAL Masterclass - Albert Serra,
20.12.2022, 17:00,
Auditoire Leenards, ECAL

Invited by ECAL Cinema Department, the Catalan director Albert Serra will present a Masterclass on Tuesday, December 20, 2022, moderated by Paolo Moretti, head of Bachelor and Master Cinema.

Articles

ECAL LAUNCHES A NEW CLASS: CREATIVE LEADERSHIP

ANNOUNCEMENT

ECAL LAUNCHES A NEW CLASS: CREATIVE LEADERSHIP

Concerned about the quality of its teaching, ECAL ceaselessly strives to meet the needs of its students. This is why a new continuing education programme has been launched : Creative Leadership.

ENCOURAGEMENT PRIZE OF THE CITY OF RENENS 2022

AWARDS & DISTINCTIONS

ENCOURAGEMENT PRIZE OF THE CITY OF RENENS 2022

For the 10th consecutive year, the City of Renens awards the Encouragement Prize to ECAL students. Lea Sblandano, student in Bachelor Photography, and Luis Rodriguez, student in Master Product Design, received the 2022 award for the quality of their work.

PARTNERSHIP

Heidi.news and ECAL present 10 short films

In collaboration with Heidi News, Bachelor Cinema students present 10 short films illustrating a series of articles on the theme of food, and made during their first semester of study.

PARTNERSHIP

ECAL x JEAN PAUL GAULTIER: Under Your Smell

The exhibition Under Your Smell offers a hypnotic and immersive experience in Jean Paul Gaultier's headquarters by imagining new definitions of beauty and body expression. Under the direction of Florence Tétier and Nicolas Coulomb, 3rd year Bachelor Photography students brought to life the brand's iconic perfumes through an immersive photographic experience.

Newsletter

Projects

Discover a selection of recent projects

Ecal x Yamaha Sound Machines

PRODUCT DESIGN

Ecal x Yamaha Sound Machines

Studio project with Camille Blin, Margo Clavier

Master Product Design students from ECAL/University of Art and Design Lausanne have created, in collaboration with Japanese brand Yamaha and its Design Laboratory, new types of music players in order to meet new requirements related to listening to music. Under the guidance of Camille Blin, Head of the project, the students first investigated and documented different contemporary processes and ways of listening to music, specifically through photographs and videos. The aim was to create a cartography of these practises. In a second step, they transcribed and applied these findings to new music playback devices – relevance and innovation being essential in this phase of the project. Finally, with the help of specialists from the Yamaha Design Laboratory based in Hamamatsu (Japan) and Los Angeles (USA), they developed the formal and technical qualities of their initial concepts into prototypes. Six projects were finalised, with great attention to details and materials, which are now presented thanks to a scenography by Anthony Guex. Hence, the exhibition features a music player that offers musicians a new way to practise their instruments using artificial intelligence; an installation that responds to the growing demand for live concerts at home by using a combination of sound and light to mimic a real concert environment; ASMR instruments that offer listeners a soothing moment by playing the sounds of relaxing movements; a home speaker that allows for a smoother transition between the different music players commonly used in the home; a player that offers an unexpected experience by displaying the rotation of a vinyl record vertically on a pedestal, and a speaker that allows people to listen to their music using their favourite objects as a trigger.

Fantastic Smartphones

MEDIA & INTERACTION DESIGN

Fantastic Smartphones

Studio project

Fantastic Smartphones – a series of interactive installations developed by students in Bachelor Media & Interaction Design at ECAL, investigating in a critical and offbeat way our relationship with smartphones and the way they influence our daily behavior.

Ecal x Mini Rethinking the Wheel

PRODUCT DESIGN

Ecal x Mini Rethinking the Wheel

Workshop with Christophe Guberan, Margo Clavier

"Rethinking the Wheel" – a series of projets on steering wheels. Will we be controlling our cars through voice recognition in future? With a soft toy? How about a pizza box? The digital transformation and electrification of cars has opened up a world of possibilities at the wheel. MINI’s design team and ECAL/University of Art and Design Lausanne have collaborated closely on a sophisticated design study to develop unexpected ideas for the future of steering wheels. Under the direction of ECAL tutors Camille Blin and Christophe Guberan, Master students in Product Design have addressed the topic and come up with spectacular designs, developing, improving and ultimately achieving their vision in ongoing consultation with Christian Bauer, Head of Interior Design at MINI. The result: nine innovative and surprising designs that question existing shapes and materials – and, as such, the way in which we might interact with our cars in the future – with a lot of creativity.

COLLABORATION WITH MEC-ART

DESIGN FOR LUXURY & CRAFTSMANSHIP

COLLABORATION WITH MEC-ART

Collaboration with Fiona Krüger

MECHANICAL MARVELS Craftsmanship in Movement: Celebrating Design and the Heritage of Switzerland’s Masters of Mechanical Art

ECAL x Cheryl Donegan

FINE ARTS

ECAL x Cheryl Donegan

Workshop

Nostalagia Is a Different Kind of Pain(t) ECAL x Cheryl Donegan On the occasion of artgenève from 3 to 6 March at Palexpo, ECAL presents projects by Bachelor Fine Arts students produced during a workshop with American artist Cheryl Donegan Initiated in the context of a collaboration with the Art & Vie Foundation, whose mission revolves around textiles, this workshop aimed at crossing everyday objects, subverting craft processes and reproductive gestures. Produced by students from the first to the third year, the selection of works presented reflects the transdisciplinary approach of the programme, where tapestry meets painting in dialogue with more performative pieces or digitally printed and cut aluminium sculptures. Students Patricia Araujo Roxanne Christinet Alexis Colin Oriane Emery Salomé Engel Maria Esteves Albertine Grbic Clément Grimm Laura Hagmann Mathilde Hansen Mariana Isler Charlie Jannes Anna Kawahara Nolan Lucidi Ella Minton Romane Roy Lou-Anna Ulloa del Rio Flavio Visalli Florentina Walser Opening hours Thursday 3 March: 12 - 7pm Friday 4 March: 12 - 8pm Saturday 5 March: 12 - 8pm Sunday 6 March: 12 - 7pm Palexpo Rte François-Peyrot 30 1218 Le Grand-Saconnex https://palexpo.ch/

ECAL x Jean Paul Gaultier: Smells Like Queer Spirit

PHOTOGRAPHY

ECAL x Jean Paul Gaultier: Smells Like Queer Spirit

"Smells Like Queer Spirit" at Musée des beaux-arts du Locle - an exhibition created in collaboration with Jean Paul Gaultier by third-year Bachelor Photography students, under the direction of Florence Tétier and Nicolas Coulomb (Novembre magazine). In the 1980s Jean Paul Gaultier overturned dress codes and showed the porous boundary between masculine and feminine. The fashion designer playfully reversed roles, overturned gender and designed silhouettes that combined masculine sensitivity with feminine power. When they were launched, the brand’s perfume bottles also broke with the androgynous fashion of the 1990s. Now iconic, these served as the starting point for photographic exploration by students of the Bachelor in Photography at ECAL/University of Art and Design Lausanne. For this research project directed by Florence Tétier and Nicolas Coulomb – under the watchful eye of Claude Emmanuelle Gajan-Maull, consultant LGBTQIA+ – the photography class questioned the human body and its representations. The images created in 2021 by the 12 students relate to themes of pride and tolerance. These works show that commitment to a more inclusive society also relies on images. A publication, co-edited by ECAL x Jean Paul Gaultier x Novembre and designed by Baptiste Gerbelot Barillon & Jean Marques, is also being published to coincide with this exhibition. STUDENTS Dominique Bartels Julie Corday Diego Fellmann Florian Hilt Samara Krähenbühl Angèle Marignac-Serra Lisa Mazenauer Marvin Merkel Inès Mermoud Basil Pérot Yolane Rais Camille Spiller ASSISTANTS Matthieu Croizier Antoine Martin Yul Tomatala OPENING REC EPTION Friday 4 February at 6pm EXHIBITION AT MBAL From 5 February to 24 April 2022 OPENING HOURS Mon-Sun, 11am-5pm First Sunday of the month free ADDRESS Rue Marie-Anne-Calame 6, 2400 Le Locle https://www.mbal.ch

Carhartt WIP x ECAL

PHOTOGRAPHY

Carhartt WIP x ECAL

Collaboration with Nicolas Poillot, Matthieu Croizier

Admissions
Formations
Feed
SHOP

EXPOSITIONS

EXPOSITION DES LAURÉAT·E·S DU PRIX D’ENCOURAGEMENT DE LA VILLE DE RENENS

Du 1 au 18 décembre 2022, la Ferme des Tilleuls accueille l'exposition du Prix d'encouragement de la Ville de Renens. Un prix qui récompense Lea Sblandano et Luis rodgriguez - étudiant·e·s respectivement en Bachelor Photographie et en Master Design de Produit - pour la qualité de leur travail.

En savoir plus

EXPOSITION DES LAURÉAT·E·S DU PRIX D’ENCOURAGEMENT DE LA VILLE DE RENENS, 01–18.12.2022, La Ferme des Tilleuls, Renens

événements

EXPOSITION DES LAURÉAT·E·S DU PRIX D’ENCOURAGEMENT DE LA VILLE DE RENENS,01–18.12.2022,La Ferme des Tilleuls, Renens

EXPOSITIONS

EXPOSITION DES LAURÉAT·E·S DU PRIX D’ENCOURAGEMENT DE LA VILLE DE RENENS,
01–18.12.2022,
La Ferme des Tilleuls, Renens

Du 1 au 18 décembre 2022, la Ferme des Tilleuls accueille l'exposition du Prix d'encouragement de la Ville de Renens. Un prix qui récompense Lea Sblandano et Luis rodgriguez - étudiant·e·s respectivement en Bachelor Photographie et en Master Design de Produit - pour la qualité de leur travail.

Conférence ECAL - Luca Nichetto,06.12.2022,Auditoire IKEA, ECAL

CONFERENCES

Conférence ECAL - Luca Nichetto,
06.12.2022,
Auditoire IKEA, ECAL

Le mardi 6 décembre 2022, le Master of Advanced Studies en Desgin for Luxury & Craftsmanship invite Luca Nichetto, designer italien, pour une conférence à l'ECAL. Entrée libre.

Conférence ECAL - Sébastian Strappazzon,07.12.2022,Auditoire IKEA, ECAL

CONFERENCES

Conférence ECAL - Sébastian Strappazzon,
07.12.2022,
Auditoire IKEA, ECAL

Le mercredi 7 décembre 2022, le Bachelor Graphique Design invite Sébastian Strappazzon, designer suisse et fondateur de la marque AVNIER, pour une conférence à l'ECAL : quatre leçons sur la créativité. Entrée libre.

100 Beste Plakate 21,08–16.12.2022,Galerie l'elac

EXPOSITIONS

100 Beste Plakate 21,
08–16.12.2022,
Galerie l'elac

Du 8 au 16 décembre 2022, les 100 plus belles affiches de 2021 (Allemagne, Autriche, Suisse) sont de retour à la Galerie l’elac ! L’exposition organisée par 100 Beste Plakate e. V. et en collaboration avec l’ECAL présente les posters sélectionnés lors du concours en 2022.

Willy Guhl - Penser avec les mains,09.12.2022–26.03.2023,Museum für Gestaltung Zürich

EXPOSITIONS

Willy Guhl - Penser avec les mains,
09.12.2022–26.03.2023,
Museum für Gestaltung Zürich

Du 9 décembre 2022 au 26 mars 2023, les étudiant·e·s du Bachelor Design Industriel prennent part à l'exposition Willy Guhl - Penser avec les mains au Museum für Gestaltung à Zurich qui invite à redécouvir les créations du célèbre designer suisse. Vernissage jeudi 8 décembre.

Articles

L'ECAL LANCE UNE NOUVELLE FORMATION : CREATIVE LEADERSHIP

ANNONCE

L'ECAL LANCE UNE NOUVELLE FORMATION : CREATIVE LEADERSHIP

Soucieuse de la qualité de son offre d’enseignement, l’ECAL s’attèle à rester en adéquation avec les besoins des étudiant·e·s. C’est pourquoi est lancée une nouvelle formation continue : Creative Leadership.

Prix d'encouragement de la Ville de Renens 2022

PRIX & DISTINCTIONS

Prix d'encouragement de la Ville de Renens 2022

Pour la 10ème année consécutive, la Ville de Renens attribue le Prix d'encouragement à des étudiant·e·s de l'ECAL. Lea Sblandano, étudiante en Bachelor Photographie, et Luis Rodriguez, étudiant en Master Design de produit, ont ainsi reçu la distinction 2022 qui récompense la qualité de leur travail.

PARTENARIAT

Heidi News et l'ECAL présentent 10 courts métrages

En collaboration avec Heidi News, les étudiant·e·s du Bachelor Cinéma présentent 10 courts-métrages illustrant une série d'articles sur le thème de l'alimentation, et réalisés lors de leur premier semestre d'étude.

PARTENARIAT

ECAL x JEAN PAUL GAULTIER: Under Your Smell

L'exposition Under Your Smell propose une expérience hypnotique et immersive dans le siège de Jean Paul Gaultier en imaginant de nouvelles définitions de beauté et d’expression corporelle. Sous la direction de Florence Tétier et Nicolas Coulomb, les étudiant·e·s de 3ème année Bachelor Photographie ont donné vie aux parfums iconiques de la marque à travers une expérience photographique immersive.

ANNONCE

The ECAL Manual of Style – How to best teach design today?

L’ECAL présente "The ECAL Manual of Style – How to best teach design today?" – un livre et une exposition révélant la fascinante méthodologie d'enseignement de l'institution suisse de design, à travers les témoignages de designers reconnnu·e·s et une collection de ses projets d’étudiant·e·s les plus innovants.

PARTENARIAT

ECAL x On : collaboration pluridisciplinaire pour repenser l'imaginaire de la marque

Dans le cadre d’une collaboration avec la marque avant-gardiste suisse On, l’ECAL présente le travail interdisciplinaire réalisé conjointement par les étudiant·e·s de 2e année des Masters Design de produit, Photographie et Type Design.

Newsletter

Projets

Découvrez une sélection de projets récents

Ecal x Yamaha Sound Machines

DESIGN DE PRODUIT

Ecal x Yamaha Sound Machines

Projet d’atelier avec Camille Blin, Margo Clavier

Les étudiant·e·s en Master Design de Produit de l’ECAL/Ecole cantonale d’art de Lausanne ont créé, en collaboration avec la marque japonaise Yamaha et son Design Laboratory, de nouvelles typologies de lecteurs de musique afin de répondre aux nouvelles pratiques liées à l'écoute du son. Sous la direction de Camille Blin, responsable du projet, les étudiant·e·s ont d'abord étudié et documenté différents processus et modes d'écoute contemporains, notamment par le biais de photographies et de vidéos. L'objectif était de créer une cartographie de ces pratiques. Dans un deuxième temps, ils·elles ont transcrit et appliqué ces résultats à de nouveaux dispositifs d’écoute du son: la pertinence et l'innovation étant essentielles dans cette phase du projet. Enfin, avec l'aide de spécialistes du Yamaha Design Laboratory basés à Hamamatsu (Japon) et Los Angeles (USA), ils·elles ont transformé les qualités formelles et techniques de leurs concepts initiaux en prototypes. Avec une attention particulière portée aux détails et aux matériaux, six projets ont ainsi été finalisés et sont désormais exposés dans une installation imaginée par Anthony Guex. L'exposition présente  un lecteur de musique qui offre aux musicien·ne·s une nouvelle façon de pratiquer leurs instruments grâce à l'intelligence artificielle; une installation qui répond à la demande croissante de concerts en live à domicile en utilisant une combinaison de son et de lumière pour simuler un véritable environnement performatif; des instruments ASMR qui offrent aux auditeur·trice·s un moment d'apaisement en alliant mouvements et sons relaxants; une enceinte domestique qui permet une transition plus fluide entre les différents lecteurs de musique couramment utilisés à la maison; une platine vinyle qui offre une expérience inattendue en affichant la rotation d’un disque à la verticale sur un piédestal, et finalement une enceinte qui permet à l’utilisateur·rice d’écouter sa musique en utilisant son objet préféré comme déclencheur.

Fantastic Smartphones

MEDIA & INTERACTION DESIGN

Fantastic Smartphones

Projet d’atelier

Fantastic Smartphones – une série d’installations interactives développées par les étudiant·e·s en Bachelor Media & Interaction Design de l’ECAL, investiguant de manière critique et décalée notre relation avec les smartphones et la façon dont ils influencent notre comportement quotidien.

Ecal x Mini Rethinking the Wheel

DESIGN DE PRODUIT

Ecal x Mini Rethinking the Wheel

Workshop avec Christophe Guberan, Margo Clavier

«Rethinking the Wheel» – une série de projets autour des volants de voiture. Dans le futur, contrôlerons-nous nos voitures par reconnaissance vocale? Avec une peluche? Et pourquoi pas une boîte à pizza? La transformation numérique et l'électrification des voitures ont ouvert un nouveau monde de possibilités au volant. L'équipe de design de MINI et l’ECAL ont ainsi collaboré étroitement sur un projet de design sophistiquée afin de développer des idées inattendues et originales autour des volants. Sous la direction de Camille Blin, responsable du programme, et Christophe Guberan, enseignant, les étudiant·e·s du Master en Design de Produit se sont penchés sur le sujet et ont proposé des designs spectaculaires, développant, améliorant et réalisant finalement leur vision, en consultation étroite avec Christian Bauer, responsable Interior Design chez MINI. Le résultat: neuf projets innovants et surprenants qui remettent en question les formes et les matériaux existants – et, par conséquent, la manière dont nous pourrions interagir avec nos voitures à l’avenir – avec beaucoup de créativité.

Collaboration avec MEC-ART

DESIGN FOR LUXURY & CRAFTSMANSHIP

Collaboration avec MEC-ART

Collaboration avec Fiona Krüger

MECHANICAL MARVELS Craftsmanship in Movement: Celebrating Design and the Heritage of Switzerland’s Masters of Mechanical Art

ECAL x Cheryl Donegan

ARTS VISUELS

ECAL x Cheryl Donegan

Workshop

Nostalagia Is a Different Kind of Pain(t) ECAL x Cheryl Donegan A l’occasion d’ artgenève du 3 au 6 mars à Palexpo, l’ECAL présente des projets d’étudiant·e·s en Bachelor Arts Visuels réalisés à l’occasion d’un workshop avec l'artiste américaine Cheryl Donegan . Initié dans le cadre d'une collaboration avec la Fondation Art & Vie, dont la mission s’articule autour du textile, cet atelier avait pour objectif le croisement entre les objets du quotidien, la subversion des processus artisanaux et les gestes reproductifs. Réalisée par des étudiant·e·s de la première à la troisième année, la sélection des œuvres présentées reflète l'approche transdisciplinaire du programme, où la tapisserie rencontre la peinture en dialogue avec des pièces plus performatives ou des sculptures en aluminium imprimées et découpées numériquement. Etudiant·e·s Patricia Araujo Roxanne Christinet Alexis Colin Oriane Emery Salomé Engel Maria Esteves Albertine Grbic Clément Grimm Laura Hagmann Mathilde Hansen Mariana Isler Charlie Jannes Anna Kawahara Nolan Lucidi Ella Minton Romane Roy Lou-Anna Ulloa del Rio Flavio Visalli Florentina Walser Horaires d'ouverture Jeudi 3 mars: 12 - 19h Vendredi 4 mars: 12 - 20h Samedi 5 mars: 12 - 20h Dimanche 6 mars: 12 - 19h Palexpo Rte François-Peyrot 30 1218 Le Grand-Saconnex https://palexpo.ch/

ECAL x Jean Paul Gaultier: Smells Like Queer Spirit

PHOTOGRAPHIE

ECAL x Jean Paul Gaultier: Smells Like Queer Spirit

«Smells Like Queer Spirit» au Musée des beaux-arts du Locle - une exposition réalisée en collaboration avec Jean Paul Gaultier par les étudiant·e·s de 3e année en Bachelor Photographie, sous la conduite de Florence Tétier et Nicolas Coulomb (Novembre magazine). Dans les années 1980, Jean Paul Gaultier renverse les codes vestimentaires et rend visible la frontière poreuse qui réside entre le masculin et le féminin. Avec jeu, le créateur de mode inverse les rôles, bouscule le genre et dessine les silhouettes qui réunissent sensibilité masculine et puissance féminine. A leur lancement, les flacons de parfum de la marque s’affirment eux aussi en rupture avec la mode androgyne des années 1990. Devenus iconiques, ils sont le point de départ des explorations photographiques menées par les étudiant·e·s de l’ECAL. Pour cette recherche dirigée par Florence Tétier et Nicolas Coulomb et sous l'oeil avisé de Claude Emmanuelle Gajan-Maull en charge des questions LGBTQIA+, la classe de photographie interroge le corps humain et ses représentations. Les images créées en 2021 par les 12 étudiant·e·s sont pensées sous le signe de la fierté et de la tolérance. Ces travaux montrent que l’engagement en faveur d’une société plus inclusive passe aussi à travers les images. Une publication, co-éditée par l’ECAL x Jean Paul Gaultier x Novembre et dont le graphisme a été assuré par Baptiste Gerbelot Barillon & Jean Marques, paraît également à l’occasion de cette exposition. ETUDIANT·E·S Dominique Bartels Julie Corday Diego Fellmann Florian Hilt Samara Krähenbühl Angèle Marignac-Serra Lisa Mazenauer Marvin Merkel Inès Mermoud Basil Pérot Yolane Rais Camille Spiller ASSISTANTS Matthieu Croizier Antoine Martin Yul Tomatala EXPOSITION AU MBAL Du 5 février au 24 avril 2022 HEURES D’OUVERTURE Me-di, 11h-17h Premier dimanche du mois gratuit ADRESSE Rue Marie-Anne-Calame 6, 2400 Le Locle https://www.mbal.ch

Carhartt WIP x ECAL

PHOTOGRAPHIE

Carhartt WIP x ECAL

Collaboration avec Nicolas Poillot, Matthieu Croizier