écal
From 05.09.2021 to 10.09.2021
MUJI Store, Milan

Following the MUJI method of carefully observing everyday routines to uncover specific needs, leading to the creation of intuitive and handy products, Japanese brand MUJI presents – on the occasion of the Milan Design Week  (5-10 September) – a collection of clever household furniture and accessories to help tidy up our daily life, imagined by Bachelor Industrial Design students from ECAL/University of Art and Design Lausanne, under the guidance of Stéphane Halmaï-Voisard, Head of the programme, and Swiss designer Michel Charlot.

Poster with explanations

An important part of MUJI’s product development is based on detailed photographic studies of people homes. Thus, Bachelor Industrial Design students were asked to follow the same design process by documenting the spontaneous state of their own home and other peoples’ surroundings to reveal the way they interact with products and identify how objects are put to use as direct inspiration for their design.

The resulting collection of household furniture and accessories features a series of discreet steel wire basket trolleys designed to roll and stow away seamlessly under your furniture; a collapsible flat angle chair that also serves as a handy minimalist side table; a simple pole with slits that can be fitted with just about any hook or hanger to organise your clothes; a compact bedside table with just the right proportions and a convenient adjustable storage shelf to hide your smartphone away when you turn in for the night; sleek and easy-to-mount frames whose outer edge doubles as a clip for your notes and cards; and a wall organiser made of sturdy laminated Crepe paper, available by the metre – to name just a few.

Press preview : 5 September, 9am – 11 am

Opening hours : 5 – 10 September, 11am – 7pm

MUJI Milan Store
Via Torino 22
20123 Milano
www.muji.com


Video on Vimeo

FICHTRE & Adrien Kaeser

Exhibition in Milan

Images by ECAL/Jimmy Rachez

Bedside Table

Design by ECAL/Noémie Soriano
Image ECAL/Jasmine Deporta


Clip Hanging Frames

Design by ECAL/Eugénie Perrin
Image ECAL/Jasmine Deporta


Corner Shelf

Design by ECAL/Marine Fondin
Image ECAL/Jasmine Deporta


Folding Chair

Design by ECAL/Alan Schopfer
Image ECAL/Jasmine Deporta

Hanger Pole

Design by ECAL/Stéfanie Kay
Image ECAL/Jasmine Deporta


Insect House
Design by ECAL/Jillian Reichlin
Image ECAL/Jasmine Deporta


Whiteboard/Mirror Shelf
Design by ECAL/Manon Novelli
Image ECAL/Jasmine Deporta


Paper Wall Pocket
Design by ECAL/Lucie De Martin
Image ECAL/Jasmine Deporta


Pole Storage System
Design by ECAL/Juri Römmel
Image ECAL/Jasmine Deporta


Steel Wire Basket Trolley
Design by ECAL/Théo Blanchard
Image ECAL/Jasmine Deporta


Stepladder Basket
Design by ECAL/Victorine Lefebvre
Image ECAL/Jasmine Deporta


Valet Stand

Design by ECAL/Julien Lindt
Image ECAL/Jasmine Deporta

écal
Du 05.09.2021 au 10.09.2021
MUJI Store, Milan

Suivant la méthode qui consiste à observer attentivement nos routines quotidiennes pour identifier des besoins uniques et ensuite créer des produits intuitifs et pratiques, MUJI présente – à l’occasion du Salon du meuble de Milan du 5 au 10 septembre – une collection de meubles et d’accessoires ménagers astucieux pour aider à organiser notre vie quotidienne, imaginée par des étudiant·e·s en Bachelor Design Industriel de l’ECAL/Ecole cantonale d’art de Lausanne, sous la direction de Stéphane Halmaï-Voisard, responsable du programme, et du designer Michel Charlot.

Images HD

Vidéo

Poster avec explications

Une partie importante du développement des produits MUJI étant basée sur des études photographiques détaillées au domicile des gens, les étudiant·e·s en Bachelor Design Industriel ont été invité·e·s à suivre le même processus en documentant l'état spontané de leur propre maison et de l'environnement d'autres personnes afin de révéler la manière dont ils·elles interagissent avec les produits, et d'identifier la manière dont les objets sont utilisés comme inspiration directe pour leur design.

Cette collection comprend, entre autres, une série de chariots discrets en fil d’acier conçus pour rouler et se ranger sans problème sous vos meubles; une chaise pliable qui sert également de table d’appoint minimaliste; un simple poteau avec des fentes qui peut être équipé de n’importe quel crochet ou cintre pour organiser vos vêtements; une table de chevet compacte aux proportions parfaites, dotée d’une tablette réglable pratique pour ranger votre smartphone lorsque vous vous couchez; des cadres élégants et faciles à monter, dont le bord extérieur sert de clip pour vos notes et vos cartes ou encore un organisateur mural en papier crêpé laminé, disponible au mètre.

Press Preview : 5 septembre, 9h00 - 11h00

Horaires : 5 - 10 septembre, 11h00 - 19h00

MUJI Milan Store
Via Torino 22
20123 Milano

Vidéo sur Vimeo

FICHTRE & Adrien Kaeser


Exposition à Milan

Images by ECAL/Jimmy Rachez

Bedside Table

Design by ECAL/Noémie Soriano
Image ECAL/Jasmine Deporta

Clip Hanging Frames

Design by ECAL/Eugénie Perrin
Image ECAL/Jasmine Deporta

Corner Shelf

Design by ECAL/Marine Fondin
Image ECAL/Jasmine Deporta

Folding Chair

Design by ECAL/Alan Schopfer
Image ECAL/Jasmine Deporta

Hanger Pole

Design by ECAL/Stéfanie Kay
Image ECAL/Jasmine Deporta

Insect House
Design by ECAL/Jillian Reichlin
Image ECAL/Jasmine Deporta

Whiteboard/Mirror Shelf
Design by ECAL/Manon Novelli
Image ECAL/Jasmine Deporta

Paper Wall Pocket
Design by ECAL/Lucie De Martin
Image ECAL/Jasmine Deporta

Pole Storage System
Design by ECAL/Juri Römmel
Image ECAL/Jasmine Deporta

Steel Wire Basket Trolley
Design by ECAL/Théo Blanchard
Image ECAL/Jasmine Deporta

Stepladder Basket
Design by ECAL/Victorine Lefebvre
Image ECAL/Jasmine Deporta

Valet Stand

Design by ECAL/Julien Lindt
Image ECAL/Jasmine Deporta