New collaboration ECAL/Vacheron Constantin, 06.03.2013, ECAL

New collaboration ECAL/Vacheron Constantin
06.03.2013
ECAL


With the generous support of Vacheron Constantin, ECAL/Ecole cantonale d’art de Lausanne, featuring among the world’s top ten universities of art and design, is resuming the former MAS in Luxury Industry and Design, henceforth provided as the Master of Advanced Studies in Design for Luxury & Craftsmanship.


Under this new heading, the programme intends to highlight various types of know-how and give young industrial designers the opportunity to investigate, over the course of a year, sectors of excellence as diverse as the arts & crafts, fine watch-making, tableware or specific techniques using noble materials. The contribution of such as prestigious manufacture as Vacheron Constantin, which has shone over the watchmaking industry for more than 250 years and is actively involved in promoting outstanding craftsmen, is a token of the richness of this curriculum and ensures its continuity.


Master of Advanced Studies in Design for Luxury & Craftsmanship
Switzerland is a privileged country in terms of know-how in the field of luxury. Building on this tradition, this Master of Advanced Studies is for the holders of a Bachelor or Master’s degree wishing to further their knowledge in industrial design and investigate sectors of excellence as diverse as fine watch-making, tableware or specific techniques using noble materials.

Through collaborations with prestigious brands – some with a century-old heritage – and workshops provided by major actors on the international scene, students experiment all production stages: from designing an object to its completion, via 3D rendering or photography. They also have the benefit of brand identity analyses and conferences delivered by experts in the field, as well as tours of luxury goods manufacturers. Many projects are singled out by partner companies to be produced, exhibited and published in the international press.

After one year at ECAL, the students are able to submit a varied portfolio to the highest professional standards. Highly sought after by international agencies and world-leading companies, they also often have the opportunity of simultaneously establishing their own business. Graduates are frequently offered internship opportunities right at the end of their curriculum – often leading to steady employment.

Head Nicolas Le Moigne Professors Thilo Brunner, Alexandre Gaillard, André Vladimir Heiz, Tomas Kral, Xavier Perrenoud, Julien Wegmüller, Cédric Widmer Visiting Professors Ronan Bouroullec (Paris), Pierre Charpin (Paris), Ligia Dias (Paris), Jaime Hayon (Valence), Nicolas Le Moigne, Luca Nichetto (Venice), Christian Schwamkrug (Zell am See), Alexander Taylor (London), Bethan Laura Wood (London)... Qualification Requirements College of higher education degree (Bachelor or Master level) in 3D design or related field Entrance Exam By portfolio Duration 1 year Online application : 3 May 2013 Application file submission : 8 May 2013 Interviews : 3 to 7 June 2013 Annual Tuition Fees CHF 8,000 Credits 60 Qualification Awarded Master of Advanced Studies HES-SO in Design for Luxury and Craftsmanship


Vacheron Constantin

Founded in Geneva in 1755, Vacheron Constantin is the world’s oldest watch manufacturer engaged in uninterrupted activity for over 250 years. Founders of the very spirit of technical and precious Fine Watchmaking, the men and women of Vacheron Constantin continue to design, develop and produce exceptional timepieces true to the brand’s three fundamentals: perfectly mastered techniques, inspired and harmonious aesthetics, and an extremely high level of finishing.

Pursuing its longstanding ties with the world of art and culture, Vacheron Constantin is committed to fostering Artistic Crafts that play such a key role in contemporary creativity, while highlighting the excellence achieved by combining these talents with those of Design. The brand is also a privileged partner of a number of cultural institutions such as the Opéra National de Paris, the French Institut National des Métiers d’Art, the Barbier-Mueller Museum Cultural Foundation and the Orchestre de la Suisse Romande.

Informations
Dates and schedules

06.03.2013

Venue
ECAL
Master Luxury, Craftsmanship, Vacheron Constantin, Alexis Georgacopoulos, Juan-Carlos Torres
Alexis Georgacopoulos, Director ECAL. Juan-Carlos Torres, CEO Vacheron Constantin. Photo ECAL/Nicolas Genta

Nouvelle collaboration ECAL/Vacheron Constantin, 06.03.2013, ECAL

Nouvelle collaboration ECAL/Vacheron Constantin
06.03.2013
ECAL


Grâce au généreux soutien de Vacheron Constantin, l’ECAL/Ecole cantonale d’art de Lausanne renouvelle l’ancien MAS en Design et Industrie du Luxe, qui devient désormais le Master of Advanced Studies in Design for Luxury & Craftsmanship.


Avec cette nouvelle formule, ce programme entend mettre en lumière différents types de savoir-faire et offrir l’opportunité à de jeunes designers industriels d’aborder pendant une année des secteurs d’excellence aussi variés que les métiers d’arts, la haute horlogerie, les arts de la table ou encore l’utilisation de matériaux nobles à travers des techniques spécifiques. La contribution d’une manufacture aussi prestigieuse que Vacheron Constantin, qui rayonne depuis plus de 250 ans et participe activement à la promotion des artisans d’excellence, témoigne de la richesse de ce programme et en assure la pérennité.


Master of Advanced Studies in Design for Luxury & Craftsmanship

La Suisse est un pays privilégié en terme de savoir-faire dans le domaine du luxe. S’inscrivant dans cette tradition, ce Master of Advanced Studies s’adresse à des étudiants titulaires d’un Bachelor ou d’un Master qui désirent se perfectionner dans le design industriel et aborder des secteurs d’excellence aussi variés que les métiers d’arts, la haute horlogerie, les arts de la table ou encore l’utilisation de matériaux nobles à travers des techniques spécifiques.

Par le biais de collaborations avec des entreprises prestigieuses fortes d’héritage séculaire, ainsi que par des workshops donnés par des acteurs majeurs de la scène internationale, les étudiants expérimentent toutes les étapes de production d’un produit : du dessin à la réalisation, en passant par le rendu 3D ou la photographie. Ils bénéficient également d’analyses d’identité de marques et de conférences dispensées par des experts en la matière ou encore de visites de manufactures. Nombre de projets sont retenus par les entreprises-partenaires pour être édités, exposés et publiés dans la presse internationale.

Après une année à l’ECAL, les étudiants sont en mesure de présenter un portfolio varié répondant aux standards les plus exigeants. Très sollicités par des agences internationales et des entreprises de renommée mondiale, ils trouvent souvent l’opportunité de monter leur propre structure parallèlement. Des places de stages qui aboutissent parfois à des emplois fixes sont également proposées aux diplômés directement à la fin de leur cursus.

Responsable
 Nicolas Le Moigne Professeurs 
Thilo Brunner,
 Alexandre Gaillard, 
André Vladimir Heiz, Tomas Kral, Xavier Perrenoud,
 Julien Wegmüller, Cédric Widmer... 
Intervenants
 Ronan Bouroullec (Paris), Pierre Charpin (Paris), Ligia Dias (Paris),
 Jaime Hayon (Valence), Nicolas Le Moigne, Luca Nichetto (Venise), Christian Schwamkrug (Zell am See), Alexander Taylor (Londres), Bethan Laura Wood (Londres) Titres exigés Formation dans le domaine du design 3D, ou un domaine apparenté attestée par un diplôme (niveau Bachelor ou Master) d’une Haute école
 Concours d’entrée Sur dossier Dates d’inscription Inscription en ligne : 3 mai 2013 
Dépôt du dossier : 8 mai 2013 
Entretiens: 
entre le 3 et le 7 juin 2013 
Durée 
1 année
 Ecolage annuel CHF 8’000. – 
Crédits
 60 
Titre délivré Master of Advanced Studies HES-SO in Design for Luxury and Craftsmanship


Vacheron Constantin

Fondée en 1755 à Genève, la manufacture horlogère Vacheron Constantin est la plus ancienne au monde avec une activité ininterrompue depuis plus de 250 ans. Fondateurs de l’esprit même de la Haute Horlogerie technique et précieuse, les hommes et les femmes de Vacheron Constantin continuent aujourd’hui de concevoir, développer et produire des garde-temps d’exception, fidèles aux trois fondamentaux de la marque: technique maîtrisée, esthétique harmonieuse et inspirée, finition extrême.

Depuis toujours liée au monde de l’art et de la culture, Vacheron Constantin s’engage en faveur des Métiers d’Arts, véritables acteurs de la création contemporaine, tout en valorisant l’excellence atteinte à travers la combinaison de talents entre le Design et les Métiers d’Arts. La marque est également le partenaire privilégié de nombreuses institutions culturelles comme l’Opéra national de Paris, l’Institut National des Métiers d’Art, la Fondation Culturelle Musée Barbier-Mueller et l’Orchestre de la Suisse Romande.

Informations
Dates et horaires

06.03.2013

Lieu
ECAL
Master Luxury, Craftsmanship, Vacheron Constantin, Alexis Georgacopoulos, Juan-Carlos Torres
Alexis Georgacopoulos, Directeur ECAL. Juan-Carlos Torres, CEO Vacheron Constantin. Photo ECAL/Nicolas Genta