Alma in the herd

Agnese Làposi – Alma in the herd

Alma visits her older sister, who lives in a commune in the countryside. She meets a boy and a stolen cow in the garden.

Diploma project (2019) by Agnese Làposi

Professors
Thomas Cailley, Elsa Amiel
Know-how
fiction

Fiction / 25 min

Synopsis

Alma, thirteen years old, visits her older sister, who lives in a commune in the countryside. A stolen cow and a young man live in the garden of the house. The young girl struggles to come to terms with this new reality.

Comment

"When you take the horns off the cows, they can't communicate." For this reason, a cow has been kidnapped and hidden in the neo-rural, revolutionary and contemporary community where Ramona, a fulfilled young woman, lives.

Alma, Ramona's younger sister, comes to visit her for the first time. A teenager with a long and urban silhouette. She discovers her sister's life and it is in her alternately curious, impressed and critical eyes that we discover the other members who live there. Alma wanders among them. From the sensitive look of the teenager emerges a poetry that enlightens each one, here a young woman who anoints her hair with oil, there a handsome young man, an apprentice manufacturer of explosives, who shows her the effects of his mixtures. Something could happen between them... or not. Agnese Làposi has chosen to keep Alma at a distance from those she meets. 

With small touches, she draws a portrait of this reserved young girl who has difficulty mixing with others. Alma will remain fascinated by the cow. And why not? These are the things of nature that we rediscover with the film Alma in the herd by Agnese Làposi. 

Annette Dutertre / Editor and head of the editing department of La Fémis

Alma nel branco

Agnese Làposi – Alma nel branco

Alma visite sa grande soeur dans une communauté à la campagne. Dans le jardin, elle rencontre un garçon et une vache volée.

Projet de diplôme (2019) par Agnese Làposi

Professeur·e·s
Thomas Cailley, Elsa Amiel
Savoir-faire
fiction

Fiction / 25 min

Synopsis

Alma, treize ans, rend visite à sa grande soeur qui vit dans une communauté à la campagne. Une vache volée et un jeune garçon habitent le jardin de la maison. La jeune fille se trouve bousculée face à cette nouvelle réalité.

Commentaire

"Quand on enlève les cornes aux vaches, elles ne peuvent plus communiquer." Pour cette raison, une vache a été enlevée et cachée dans la communauté, néorurale, révolutionnaire et contemporaine, où vit Ramona, une jeune femme épanouie.

Alma, la jeune soeur de Ramona, vient lui rendre visite pour la première fois. Adolescente à la silouhette longiligne et urbaine, elle découvre la vie de sa soeur et c'est dans son regard tour à tour curieux, impréssionné et critique que nous découvrons les autres membres qui vivent là. Alma erre au milieu d'eux. Du regard sensible de l'adolescente se dégage une poésie qui éclaire chacun, ici une jeune femme qui oint ses cheveux d'huile, là un beau jeune homme, apprenti fabricant d'explosifs, qui lui montre les effets de ses mixtures. Quelque chose pourrait advenir entre eux... ou pas. Agnese Làposi a choisi de garder Alma à distance de ceux qu'elle rencontre. 

Par petites touches, elle dessine un portrait de cette jeune fille réservée qui a du mal à se mêler aux autres. Alma restera fascinée par la vache. Et pourquoi pas? Ce sont des choses de la nature que l'ont redlcouvre avec le film Alma nel Branco d'Agnese Làposi. 

Annette Dutertre / Monteuse, responsable du Département Montage de La Fémis