Playing Hell

Adèle Beaulieu – Playing Hell

22 year old Ava, goes to stay with her grandfather who lives in the Franches-Montagnes. They walk through forests together looking for Antoine who had disappeared that morning.

Diploma project (2019) by Adèle Beaulieu

Professors
Thomas Cailley, Elsa Amiel
Know-how
fiction

Fiction / 14 min

Synopsis

22 year old Ava, goes to stay with her grandfather who lives in the Franches-Montagnes. They walk through forests together looking for Antoine who had disappeared that morning.

Comment

Ava goes to stay with her grand father, François, a whimsical character reclused on the edge of the moutains, in the small village Les Enfers. Like a road movie, the landscapes pass by, François confides to Ava that he has lost Antoine, his dog. Granddaughter and grandfather go in search of him. They make it their quest. Like a pretext for their meeting.

Snow and fog envelop them. The space closes in on them. In the absence of a trajectory where it can unfold, time becomes an instant. It is lived on the surface of the image, on the surface of the faces. The quest for the dog becomes the quest for the other, which we scrutinize to guess its relief, to detect its informal history. Ava and François go deeper into the forest. In the snow, the mark of their passage, of their mysterious presence to each other. Their paths diverge and then meet again. A relationship takes shape, a link is created.  Adèle prints it, the nostalgic black and white of the film reveals it.

Suspended, impressionistic, delicate staging. The trace of its two characters - endearing and disconcerting - crosses us. A tasty impression of an encounter, of a fleeting and deep embrace in Les Enfers. A successful bet.

Sophie Audier, script supervisor and head of the Script Supervisor departement at La Fémis, Paris

 

Stills
Stills
Stills

1/3

Affiche_WEB_LesEnfers_AdeleBeaulieu_Image.jpg

Les Enfers

Adèle Beaulieu – Les Enfers

Ava, jeune fille de 22ans, rend visite à son grand-père dans les Franches-Montagnes. Ensemble, à travers les forêts, ils partent à la recherche d’Antoine, disparu le matin même...

Projet de diplôme (2019) par Adèle Beaulieu

Professeur·e·s
Thomas Cailley, Elsa Amiel
Tag
fiction

Fiction / 14 min

Synopsis

Ava, jeune fille de 22ans, rend visite à son grand-père dans les Franches-Montagnes. Ensemble, à travers les forêts, ils partent à la recherche d’Antoine, disparu le matin même…

Commentaire

Ava rend visite à son grand-père, François, un personnage fantasque reclus aux confins des Franches-Montagnes, Les Enfers. Tel un road-movie, les paysages défilent, François confie à Ava qu'il a perdu Antoine, son chien. Petite-fille et grand-père partent à sa recherche. Ils en font leur quête. Comme un prétexte à leur rencontre.

La neige et le brouillard les enveloppent. L'espace se referme sur eux. A défaut d'une trajectoire où se déployer, le temps devient instant. Il se vit à la surface de l'image, à la surface des visages. La quête du chien devient la quête de l'autre que l'on scrute pour en deviner le relief, pour en déceler l'histoire informulée. Ava et François s'enfoncent dans la forêt. Dans la neige, la marque de leur passage, de leur présence mystérieuse l'un à l'autre. Leurs chemins s'écartent puis se rejoignent. Une relation se dessine, un lien se crée.  Adèle l'imprime, le noir et blanc nostalgique de la pellicule le révèle.

Mise en scène suspendue, impressioniste, délicate. La trace de ses deux personnages - attachants et déroutants - nous traverse. Empreinte savoureuse d'une rencontre, d'une étreinte fugace et profonde dans Les Enfers. Pari réussi.

Sophie Audier / Scripte, co-responsable du Département Scripte de La Fémis

Stills
Stills
Stills

1/3