Dans ces rues / These streets will never look the same

Léonard Vuilleumier – Dans ces rues / These streets will never look the same

Leandre goes looking for a stranger named Tristan in order to give him some bad news about a mutual friend. 

Diploma project (2019) by Léonard Vuilleumier

Professors
Thomas Cailley, Elsa Amiel
Know-how
fiction

Fiction / 23 min

Leandre goes looking for a stranger named Tristan in order to give him some bad news about a mutual friend. However, when they meet, Leandre fails to deliver his message, which makes Tristan believe that they met by pure chance. He then puts Leandre to the test by making him collect signatures in the streets with him. As time,  goes by, Leandre and Tristan get to tame each other and look at each other. They form a bond, but the true nature of what links them to the same boy remains ambiguous.

Comment

It is with modesty and a certain elegance that Léonard Vuilleumier takes up the theme of mourning and desire. An Eros and Thanatos in the streets of Lausanne. A sweet labyrinth where men hide the truths, look for encounters, flirt with the unspoken, find peace in the flesh.

Léonard Vuilleumier fully committed himself to his theme by placing the actor at the center of his research, rethinking the rhythm and the filmic writing according to this character and his wandering.  It is with feverishness but determination and belief that he delivers with These streets will never look the same a film that looks like him. Necessarily. 

Elsa Amiel, director and 1st assistant director

Dans ces rues

Léonard Vuilleumier – Dans ces rues

Léandre part à la recherche d'un inconnu, Tristan, afin de lui annoncer une mauvaise nouvelle concernant un ami commun.

Projet de diplôme (2019) par Léonard Vuilleumier

Professeur·e·s
Thomas Cailley, Elsa Amiel
Savoir-faire
fiction

Fiction / 23 min

Synopsis

Léandre part à la recherche d'un inconnu, Tristan, afin de lui annoncer une mauvaise nouvelle concernant un ami commun. Mais une fois face à lui, Léandre omet de livrer son message, et laisse croire à Tristan que leur rencontre n'est que fortuite.  Ce dernier prend alors Léandre à l’essai pour récolter des signatures dans la rue. Les heures passent, les jeunes hommes se regardent, s’apprivoisent. Un lien se noue alors entre eux, sur lequel va plâner ce qui les a liés au même garçon.

Commentaire

C'est avec pudeur et une certaine élégance que Léonard Vuilleumier s'empare du thème du deuil et du désir. Un Eros et Thanatos dans les rues de Lausanne. Doux labyrinthe où les hommes cachent les vérités, cherchent les rencontres, flirtent avec les non-dits, trouvent la paix dans la chair.

Léonard Vuilleumier s'est attaché pleinement à son thème en plaçant l'acteur au centre de son travail de recherche, repensant le rythme et l'écriture filmique en fonction de ce personnage et sa déambulation.  C'est avec fébrilité mais détermination et croyance qu'il livre avec Dans ces rues un film qui lui ressemble. Nécessairement. 

Elsa Amiel / Réalisatrice, 1ère assistante réalisation