300 000 km/s

André Andrade – 300 000 km/s

The probable future expansion of the territory of Man towards Mars will bring us  to communicate through an interplanetary Internet. The distance between the  two planets will not physically allow the immediacy of the Internet as we know  it on Earth.  My project highlights the limit of the communication speed through  a simplified visualization of a permanent ping (round-trip time) between Earth  and Mars. In a world where everything is accelerating, 300’000 km/s symbolically  illustrates the limits of physics and evokes a patience that we are not used  to anymore.

Diploma project (2018) by André Andrade

Professors
Alain Bellet, Christophe Guignard, Gaël Hugo

The probable future expansion of the territory of Man towards Mars will bring us to communicate through an interplanetary Internet. The distance between the two planets will not physically allow the immediacy of the Internet as we know it on Earth.

My project highlights the limit of the communication speed through a simplified visualization of a permanent ping (round-trip time) between Earth and Mars. In a world where everything is accelerating, 300’000 km/s symbolically illustrates the limits of physics and evokes a patience that we are not used to anymore.


diplome_MID_2018_04.jpg
Photo ECAL/Calypso Mahieu
closeup.jpg
Photo ECAL/Calypso Mahieu

300 000 km/s

André Andrade – 300 000 km/s

La probable future expansion du territoire de l’Homme sur Mars nous amènera à communiquer via un Internet interplanétaire. L’éloignement entre les deux astres ne permettra physiquement pas l’instantanéité d’Internet telle qu’on la connaît sur Terre.  Mon projet met en évidence la limite de la vitesse de communication à travers la visualisation simplifiée d’un « ping » (c’est-à-dire un aller-retour) permanent entre la Terre et Mars. Dans un monde où tout s’accélère, « 300'000 km/s » illustre symboliquement les limites de la physique et évoque une patience à laquelle nous ne sommes plus habitués.

Projet de diplôme (2018) par André Andrade

Professeur·e·s
Alain Bellet, Christophe Guignard, Gaël Hugo

La probable future expansion du territoire de l’Homme sur Mars nous amènera à communiquer via un Internet interplanétaire. L’éloignement entre les deux astres ne permettra physiquement pas l’instantanéité d’Internet telle qu’on la connaît sur Terre.

Mon projet met en évidence la limite de la vitesse de communication à travers la visualisation simplifiée d’un « ping » (c’est-à-dire un aller-retour) permanent entre la Terre et Mars. Dans un monde où tout s’accélère, « 300'000 km/s » illustre symboliquement les limites de la physique et évoque une patience à laquelle nous ne sommes plus habitués.


diplome_MID_2018_04.jpg
Photo ECAL/Calypso Mahieu
closeup.jpg
Photo ECAL/Calypso Mahieu