ECAL x Vitra

ECAL x Vitra

Following a workshop led by Camille Blin and Erwan Bouroullec, Master Product Design students of ECAL present projects around the Workbays created by Ronan & Erwan Bouroullec and edited by Vitra. Together with new functionalities, these prospective work environments are presented on the occasion of Design Parade Toulon  – festival international d’architecture d’intérieur. With Workbays, which they created for Vitra a few years ago, the French designers Ronan & Erwan Bouroullec, who regularly collaborate with ECAL, have developed a micro-architectural system that redefines the working environment and breaks with the typical rigid planning structure of offices. Thus Workbays create distinct areas where individuals or groups can retreat from the general office environment to carry out specific activities. The units come equipped with everything users need: work surfaces, seating, optional storage and power connections. The structure of Workbays consists of slim aluminium profiles and organically shaped wall elements made of pressed polyester felt.  “The ECAL students suggested we devised new typologies for these working environments, adding novel features and supplying them with new accessories”, says Camille Blin, the designer and professor who headed the project. So the Master Product Design students worked for a full semester under the watchful eye of Erwan Bouroullec and invented new structures that call to mind Japanese 0capsule hotels, a prototyping workshop, a gym, a bar, a garden or a resting area.  For each of these spaces, the students created specific and original objects, ranging from Bluetooth loudspeakers to miniature lamps reminiscent of stadium ones, desk pads-cum-bags, a semi-standing stool, a cable-covering carpet, in & out wastepaper baskets, multi socket trays or a desk partition with vases and drawing pins. A 3D animation film specifically created by TRAUM Inc. presenting these unusual Workbays can also be seen at the exhibition.
Professors
Camille Blin

Following a workshop led by Camille Blin and Erwan Bouroullec, Master Product Design students of ECAL present projects around the Workbays created by Ronan & Erwan Bouroullec and edited by Vitra. Together with new functionalities, these prospective work environments are presented on the occasion of Design Parade Toulon  – festival international d’architecture d’intérieur.

With Workbays, which they created for Vitra a few years ago, the French designers Ronan & Erwan Bouroullec, who regularly collaborate with ECAL, have developed a micro-architectural system that redefines the working environment and breaks with the typical rigid planning structure of offices. Thus Workbays create distinct areas where individuals or groups can retreat from the general office environment to carry out specific activities. The units come equipped with everything users need: work surfaces, seating, optional storage and power connections. The structure of Workbays consists of slim aluminium profiles and organically shaped wall elements made of pressed polyester felt.

“The ECAL students suggested we devised new typologies for these working environments, adding novel features and supplying them with new accessories”, says Camille Blin, the designer and professor who headed the project. So the Master Product Design students worked for a full semester under the watchful eye of Erwan Bouroullec and invented new structures that call to mind Japanese 0capsule hotels, a prototyping workshop, a gym, a bar, a garden or a resting area.

For each of these spaces, the students created specific and original objects, ranging from Bluetooth loudspeakers to miniature lamps reminiscent of stadium ones, desk pads-cum-bags, a semi-standing stool, a cable-covering carpet, in & out wastepaper baskets, multi socket trays or a desk partition with vases and drawing pins.

A 3D animation film specifically created by TRAUM Inc. presenting these unusual Workbays can also be seen at the exhibition.


Overview
Overview

1/2

Capsule Bay  ECAL/Antoine Chauvin
Capsule Bay  ECAL/Antoine Chauvin

1/2

In & Out Bin  ECAL/Yeyeon Park
Bar Bay  ECAL/Sara de Campos In & Out Bin  ECAL/Yeyeon Park

1/2

Day Bed  ECAL/Yasunori Morinaga
Magnetic Lamp  ECAL/Yen-Hao Chu
Magnetic Lamp  ECAL/Yen-Hao Chu

1/3

Leather Bag  ECAL/Nicolas de Vismes
Leather Bag  ECAL/Nicolas de Vismes

1/2

WorkBays11.jpg
Farm Bay  ECAL/Paula Cermeno
WorkBays16.jpg
Hacking Bay  ECAL/Aleksandra Szewc
WorkBays12.jpg
Workout Bay ECAL/Paul Louda
WorkBays18.jpg
XS Bay  ECAL/Sumegha Mantri
WorkBays15.jpg
Plug & Tray  ECAL/Maxime Augay
Bluetooth Speaker  ECAL/Hugo Chaffiotte
Bluetooth Speaker  ECAL/Hugo Chaffiotte
Bluetooth Speaker ECAL/Hugo Chaffiotte

1/3

Circuit Carpet  ECAL/Sara Regal
Circuit Carpet  ECAL/Sara Regal

1/2

WorkBays31.jpg
Stadium Bay  ECAL/Adrien Cugulliere
Divider Bay  ECAL/Hiroyuki Morita Standing Help  ECAL/Christian Holweck
Standing Help  ECAL/Christian Holweck

1/2

Film by TRAUM Inc.

ECAL x Vitra

ECAL x Vitra

A l’issue d’un workshop dirigé par Camille Blin et Erwan Bouroullec, les étudiants en Master Design de Produit de l’ECAL/Ecole cantonale d’art de Lausanne présentent des projets autour des systèmes d’agencement de bureau Workbays créés par Ronan & Erwan Bouroullec et édités par Vitra. Assortis ainsi de nouvelles fonctionnalités, ces environnements de travail prospectifs sont exposés dans le cadre de Design Parade Toulon  – festival international d’architecture d’intérieur.  Avec les Workbays créés pour Vitra il y a quelques années, les designers Ronan & Erwan Bouroullec, qui interviennent régulièrement à l’ECAL, ont conçu un système micro-architectural qui redéfinit l’environnement de travail et se démarque de l’agencement figé des bureaux. Ce système permet de moduler des espaces de retrait dans lesquels un individu ou un groupe peuvent accomplir une tâche déterminée. Les utilisateurs y trouvent ce dont ils ont besoin, surfaces de travail, sièges et en cas de besoin espace de rangement et électrification. Leur structure se compose de profilés d’aluminium fins et d’éléments muraux aux formes organiques en feutre de polyester pressé. « Le concept proposé par les étudiants de l’ECAL était de concevoir de nouvelles typologies pour ces environnements de travail, en leur conférant des fonctions inédites et en leur adjoignant de nouveaux accessoires », explique Camille Blin, designer et professeur en charge du projet. Sous le regard d’Erwan Bouroullec également, les étudiants du Master Design de Produit ont ainsi travaillé pendant un semestre, créant de nouvelles structures qui évoquent les hôtels capsules japonais, un atelier de prototypage, un fitness, un bar, un jardin ou un lieu de repos. Pour chacun de ces espaces, des objets spécifiques et originaux ont aussi été produits par les étudiants, dont des haut-parleurs Bluetooth, des mini-lampes rappelant celles des stades, des sacs sous-main, un tabouret semi-debout, un tapis cache-câbles, des poubelles in & out, des multiprises-plateaux ou encore une paroi de bureau avec vases et punaises. A découvrir conjointement dans l’exposition, une animation 3D spécialement réalisée pour l’occasion par TRAUM Inc. qui met en scène ces différents Workbays.
Professeur·e·s
Camille Blin

A l’issue d’un workshop dirigé par Camille Blin et Erwan Bouroullec, les étudiants en Master Design de Produit de l’ECAL/Ecole cantonale d’art de Lausanne présentent des projets autour des systèmes d’agencement de bureau Workbays créés par Ronan & Erwan Bouroullec et édités par Vitra. Assortis ainsi de nouvelles fonctionnalités, ces environnements de travail prospectifs sont exposés dans le cadre de Design Parade Toulon  – festival international d’architecture d’intérieur.

Avec les Workbays créés pour Vitra il y a quelques années, les designers Ronan & Erwan Bouroullec, qui interviennent régulièrement à l’ECAL, ont conçu un système micro-architectural qui redéfinit l’environnement de travail et se démarque de l’agencement figé des bureaux. Ce système permet de moduler des espaces de retrait dans lesquels un individu ou un groupe peuvent accomplir une tâche déterminée. Les utilisateurs y trouvent ce dont ils ont besoin, surfaces de travail, sièges et en cas de besoin espace de rangement et électrification. Leur structure se compose de profilés d’aluminium fins et d’éléments muraux aux formes organiques en feutre de polyester pressé.

« Le concept proposé par les étudiants de l’ECAL était de concevoir de nouvelles typologies pour ces environnements de travail, en leur conférant des fonctions inédites et en leur adjoignant de nouveaux accessoires », explique Camille Blin, designer et professeur en charge du projet. Sous le regard d’Erwan Bouroullec également, les étudiants du Master Design de Produit ont ainsi travaillé pendant un semestre, créant de nouvelles structures qui évoquent les hôtels capsules japonais, un atelier de prototypage, un fitness, un bar, un jardin ou un lieu de repos.

Pour chacun de ces espaces, des objets spécifiques et originaux ont aussi été produits par les étudiants, dont des haut-parleurs Bluetooth, des mini-lampes rappelant celles des stades, des sacs sous-main, un tabouret semi-debout, un tapis cache-câbles, des poubelles in & out, des multiprises-plateaux ou encore une paroi de bureau avec vases et punaises.

A découvrir conjointement dans l’exposition, une animation 3D spécialement réalisée pour l’occasion par TRAUM Inc. qui met en scène ces différents Workbays.


Vue d'ensemble
Vue d'ensemble

1/2

Capsule Bay  ECAL/Antoine Chauvin
Capsule Bay ECAL/Antoine Chauvin

1/2

In & Out Bin ECAL/Yeyeon Park
Bar Bay ECAL/Sara de Campos In & Out Bin  ECAL/Yeyeon Park

1/2

Day Bed ECAL/ Yasunori Morinaga
Magnetic Lamp ECAL/Yen-Hao Chu
Magnetic Lamp  ECAL/Yen-Hao Chu

1/3

Leather Bag  ECAL/Nicolas de Vismes
Leather Bag ECAL/ Nicolas de Vismes

1/2

WorkBays11.jpg
Farm Bay  ECAL/Paula Cermeno
WorkBays16.jpg
Hacking Bay ECAL/Aleksandra Szewc
WorkBays12.jpg
Workout Bay  ECAL/Paul Louda
WorkBays18.jpg
XS Bay  ECAL/Sumegha Mantri
WorkBays15.jpg
Plug & Tray  ECAL/Maxime Augay
Bluetooth Speaker  ECAL/Hugo Chaffiotte
Bluetooth Speaker ECAL/Hugo Chaffiotte
Bluetooth Speaker  ECAL/Hugo Chaffiotte

1/3

Circuit Carpet  ECAL/Sara Regal
Circuit Carpet  ECAL/Sara Regal

1/2

WorkBays31.jpg
Stadium Bay  ECAL/Adrien Cugulliere
Divider Bay ECAL/Hiroyuki Morita Standing Help  ECAL/Christian Holweck
Standing Help ECAL/Christian Holweck

1/2

Film by TRAUM Inc.