Garage

Garage

At the edge of a rail traffic, in an abandoned garage four people of different backgrounds live in a perfect harmony.

Diploma project (2018) by Lorraine Perriard, Brandon Beytrison

Professors
Olivier Loustau, Alain Gomis

Fiction / 20 min

Synopsis

Milda is a young lituanian dancer. She lives in a garage with three roommates. Even though they all have different backgrounds, it seems like they really found each other well and live in a perfect harmony. One night, some freaking noises wake them up : constructions works have started on the railway, just next to them. Those sounds announce the very near demolition of their home. From then, Milda, Alan, Nadine and Selena try to forget that their life togeter is about to end.

Comment

The film Garage, by Lorraine, and edited by Brandon Beytrison, seems to me to be emblematic of what the journey of an edit is. The first cut was far from the final film... Out of fear of boring the spectator, of assuming her scenario, Lorraine had artificially stretched the story and, in doing so, killed the very idea of her film! Dryness of the scenes, imbalance between the characters, mechanical rhythm, etc. Lorraine couldn't see her dailies anymore and Brandon was limited to pacing, for lack of direction.

So we went back to the dailies to find Lorraine's original intentions, and they were there! It was a matter of finding the heart of the scenes, of redeploying them around the details that Lorraine had so meticulously put in place during the shooting and of giving back its soul to the film. Brandon then became a real force of proposal!

The rest is up to them, and from the second cut, the film was there, obvious, in place. From that moment on, their collaboration was able to work fully to achieve the film you are about to see!

Fabrice Rouaud / Editor

Garage

Garage

Au bord d'un trafic ferroviaire, dans un garage désaffecté, quatre jeunes d'horizons différents vivent en parfaite harmonie. 

Projet de diplôme (2018) par Lorraine Perriard, Brandon Beytrison

Professeur·e·s
Olivier Loustau, Alain Gomis

Fiction / 20 min

Synopsis

Milda, est une jeune danseuse d'origine lituanienne qui essaie de faire sa place dans le monde des arts de la scène. Elle vit dans un ancien garage automobile avec trois colocataires. Bien que tous aient des parcours différents, ils semblent s'être trouvés et vivent en parfaite harmonie, dans une sorte de douce folie, dans un lieu un peu précaire et sans intimité sonore. Une nuit, d'inquiétants grincements les réveillent : des travaux ont commencés sur la voie ferrée juste à côté de chez eux. Ceux-ci annoncent la destruction imminente de leur lieu de vie. Dès lors, Milda, Alan, Nadine et Selena vont essayer d'oublier que leur vie ensemble touche à sa fin.

Commentaire

Le film Garage de Lorraine, monté par Brandon Beytrison, me semble emblématique de ce qu'est le cheminement d'un montage. Le premier montage était loin d'être le film final... Par peur d'ennuyer le spectateur, d'assumer son scénario, Lorraine avait tendu artificiellement le récit et, ce faisant, tué l'idée même de son film ! Sécheresse des scènes, déséquilibre entre les personnages, rythme mécanique, etc. Lorraine ne pouvait plus voir ses rushes et Brandon était cantonné à rythmer, faute de direction.

Nous sommes donc repartis dans les rushes pour retrouver les intentions premières de Lorraine, et elles y étaient ! Il s'agissait donc pour eux de retrouver le cœur des scènes, de les redéployer autour des détails que Lorraine avait si minutieusement mis en place au tournage et de redonner son âme au film. Brandon devenant alors une réelle force de proposition !

La suite leur appartient, et dès le deuxième bout à bout, le film était là, évident, en place. A partir de ce moment, leur collaboration a pu fonctionner pleinement pour aboutir au film que vous allez voir !

Fabrice Rouaud / Monteur