Dehors (Photography)

Michaela Theus – Dehors (Photography)

It is raining in the park. Natacha and her son Eli are looking for a shelter for the night. Walter wanders alone with his guitar.

Diploma project (2021) by Michaela Theus

Professors
Josée Deshaies

Fiction / 23 mn

Synopsis

The rain wets the park where Eli is playing alone. Drops fall on Natacha’s embarrassed face as she searches through her phone book for a solution. Not far away, Walter is wandering alone. The sound of his guitar travels up to the mother and child who are seeking shelter for the night.

The hostility of the outside world, the fear of being left behind and an encounter, that of a mother and child who have recently become homeless with an outsider: for a moment, in all their modesty, they inspire us with a semblance of a blended family.

An actress, a child, a bohemian. Unstable weather, a lot of improvisation and flexibility. A lesson in freedom, simplicity and letting go. For me, as for others, the experience of a project flirting with the documentary was like a powerful rite of passage.

Student's comment

The film Dehors was a journey that brought me and my collaborator, friend and director Charlène Girel closer than ever. Between planning and improvisation, depth and flight, emotional chaos and creative release, we went through all the phases. We never left the boat: I remained  on board as cinematographer, as high as the waves breaking on the deck, and we did our best to keep the sails oriented towards the vision of the filmmaker. Trust and fascination for the director became essential components to be able to put our hearts into a project. Thanks to all those who helped us stay on course. The birth of this film was not easy, but it was only the beginning of many journeys into unknown waters.

Michaela Theus

Stills
Stills
Stills
Stills

1/4

Dehors (Image)

Michaela Theus – Dehors (Image)

Il pleut au parc. Natacha et son fils Eli cherchent un abri pour la nuit. Walter erre en solitaire avec sa guitare.

Projet de diplôme (2021) par Michaela Theus

Professeur·e·s
Josée Deshaies

Fiction / 23 mn

Synopsis

La pluie mouille le parc où joue Eli, esseulé. Les gouttes tombent sur le visage gêné de Natacha, qui épluche son répertoire téléphonique pour trouver une solution. Non loin, Walter erre en solitaire. Le son de sa guitare remonte jusqu’à la mère et l’enfant qui cherchent un abri pour la nuit.

L’hostilité du dehors, la peur de se retrouver en marge, une rencontre. Celle d’une mère et d’un enfant avec un marginal. Pendant un instant dans toute leur pudeur, ils nous inspirent un semblant de famille recomposée.

Une actrice, un enfant, un bohème. Une météo instable, beaucoup d’improvisation et de flexibilité. Une leçon de liberté, simplicité et lâcher-prise. Pour moi, comme pour d’autres, l’expérience du projet flirtant avec le documentaire a été puissamment initiatique.

Commentaire de l'étudiante

Le film Dehors a été un voyage qui m’a plus que jamais soudée avec ma collaboratrice, amie et réalisatrice Charlène Girel. Entre planification et improvisation, profondeur et envol, chaos émotionnel et libération créative, nous sommes passées par toutes les étapes. On ne quitte jamais le bateau, on reste à bord en tant que cheffe opératrice aussi haut que les vagues qui se brisent sur le deck et on fait de son mieux pour garder les voiles orientées vers la vision du cinéaste. La confiance et la fascination pour le cinéaste deviennent des composantes essentielles pour pouvoir mettre son cœur dans un projet. Merci à tous ceux qui nous ont permis de garder le cap. La naissance de ce film n’a pas été facile, mais ce n’était que le début de nombreux voyages dans des eaux inconnues.

Michaela Theus

Stills
Stills
Stills
Stills

1/4