Automated Photography

Automated Photography

The Automated Photography research project (2019–2021) is conducted by Milo Keller in the framework of the MA in Photography at ECAL/University of Art and Design Lausanne. It is a continuation of the research project Augmented Photography, equally conducted at ECAL (2016–2017), which aimed to question the mutability of the digital image, transformed both in its physical materiality and in its virtual expression. 

Research project (2021)

For the past twenty years, many photographers have been integrating images produced autonomously by machines into their work. We are now witnessing a paradigm shift in the process of creating photography. From photographic capture in the strict sense we move towards practices involving appropriation, automated and computational processes: a phenomenon which reflects a conception of space that is increasingly less built on the equivalence between the human eye and the machine.

The Automated Photography research project (2019–2021) is conducted by Milo Keller in the framework of the MA in Photography at ECAL/University of Art and Design Lausanne. It is a continuation of the research project Augmented Photography, equally conducted at ECAL (2016–2017), which aimed to question the mutability of the digital image, transformed both in its physical materiality and in its virtual expression. Automated Photography focuses on a specific aspect of these changes, which are omnipresent in contemporary visual culture: the automation of capture systems (smartphones, lidar, UAVs, satellites, space probes), the automation of image processing (machine vision analysis, facial recognition), and the increasing automation of image production and post-production (CGI, photogrammetry, artificial intelligence).

Automated Photography has a dual objective. On the one hand, it plans to develop a critical theory of the automated image, in order to confront the students of the MA in Photography with its multiple implications (social, political, technical and aesthetic). On the other hand, it proposes to respond to the profound changes in the photographic profession, which must constantly adapt to technological developments. By combining an analytical and a theoretical perspective with considerations resulting from the practical experiences with these technical devices, the project aims to take advantage of the crossroads of these different fields. The synthesis is based on a practical process by applying these technologies, on an aesthetic outlook by analysing the visual qualities of these devices and their creative potential, and on a theoretical approach by assessing the practical results in their cultural, social and political context.

Main applicant

ECAL/University of Art and Design Lausanne
Milo Keller (project leader)

Research team

Claus Gunti (researcher)
Joël Vacheron (researcher)
Florian Amoser (research assistant)
Robin Bervini (research assistant)
Thomas Le Provost (graphic designer)

Visiting lecturers

Marco de Mutiis
Simone C. Niquille
François Zajega
Kurt Caviezel
Lauren Moffatt

Students

Sara BastaiEmidio BattipagliaRobin BerviniMaeva BoskoJasmine DeportaAnja Karolina FurrerAlessia GunawanChristian HarkerJung-Ting HuJohanna HullarSally JoPhilipp Klak , Doruk Kumkumoglu , Igor Lucena , Natalia Maximova , Valentin Russo , Jelena Schuhmacher , Yang Su , Gedvile Tamosiunaite , Joanna Wierzbicka , Olivia Wünsche , Manqin Zhang

Period

september 2019 – february 2021

Supported by

ECAL/University of Art and Design Lausanne
Strategic fund of the University of Applied Sciences Western Switzerland (HES-SO RCDAV)

Dissemination

Website
automated-photography.ch/

1718_S2_1BAPH_Keller-Gohan_CLambelet_What-is-photography_08.jpg
Gohan Keller, See Me In Depth, 2018. © ECAL / Gohan Keller
1920_S1_MAP2_Klak-Philipp_AutomatedKurt_238_7c8edeb45d51bacc.jpg
Philip Klak, See What Is Left, 2020. © ECAL / Philip Klak
Emidio_Battipaglia.jpg
Emidio Battipaglia, All Watched Over By Machine Of Loving Grace Ver 1.1B, 2020. © ECAL / Emidio Battipaglia
Sara_Bastai-AsWeMelt.jpg
Sara Bastai, As We Melt, 2020. © ECAL / Sara Bastai

Automated Photography

Automated Photography

Le projet de recherche Automated Photography (2019-2021) est dirigé par Milo Keller dans le cadre du MA en photographie de l’ECAL/Ecole cantonale d’art de Lausanne. Il s'inscrit dans le prolongement du projet de recherche Augmented Photography, qui s’est déroulé également à l’ECAL (2016-2017). 

Projet de recherche (2021)

Au cours des vingt dernières années, de nombreux photographes ont intégré dans leurs travaux des images automatisées produites par des machines. Nous assistons aujourd'hui à un changement de paradigme dans le processus de création photographique. De la capture photographique au sens strict, nous passons à des pratiques qui s’approprient des techniques automatisées et informatisées : ce phénomène relève d’une conception de l’espace qui est de moins en moins construite sur la base de l’équivalence entre l’oeil humain et la machine.

Le projet de recherche Automated Photography (2019-2021) est dirigé par Milo Keller dans le cadre du MA en photographie de l’ECAL/Ecole cantonale d’art de Lausanne. Il s'inscrit dans le prolongement du projet de recherche Augmented Photography, qui s’est déroulé également à l’ECAL (2016-2017). Il s’agissait alors d’interroger la mutabilité de l’image digitale et ses transformations, aussi bien sur le plan de la matérialité physique que sur le plan de l’expression virtuelle. Automated Photography se concentre sur un aspect spécifique de ces transformations qui sont omniprésentes dans la culture visuelle contemporaine : l’automatisation des systèmes de prise de vue  (smartphones, lidar, drones, satellites, sondes spatiales), l’automatisation du traitement d’images (vision machinique, reconnaissance faciale), et l’automatisation croissante dans la production et la post-production d’image (images de synthèse, photogrammétrie, intelligence artificielle).

Le projet Automated Photography poursuit deux objectifs. D’une part, il s’agit de développer une théorie critique de l’image automatisée, afin de sensibiliser les étudiants du MA en photographie aux multiples implications en jeu (implications sociales, politiques, techniques et esthétiques). D’autre part, le projet est une proposition de réponse face aux mutations profondes que rencontre la profession de photographe, qui doit constamment s’adapter aux développements technologiques. En associant perspectives analytiques et théoriques, tout en s’appuyant sur les expériences pratiques réalisées avec ces techniques, le projet souhaite mettre à profit l’entrecroisement de ces différentes dimensions. La synthèse visée repose sur un processus pratique qui consiste à appliquer ces technologies suivant d’une part une dimension esthétique fondée sur l’analyse des qualités visuelles générées par ces instruments et de leur potentiel créatif, et d’autre part sur une dimension théorique qui procédera à une évaluation des résultats pratiques inscrits dans leurs contextes culturel, social et politique.

Requérant principal

ECAL/Ecole cantonale d’art de Lausanne
Milo Keller (chef de projet)

Équipe de recherche

Claus Gunti (chercheur)
Joël Vacheron (chercheur)
Florian Amoser (assistante de recherche)
Robin Bervini (assistante de recherche)
Thomas Le Provost (graphiste)

Intervenant-e-s

Marco de Mutiis
Simone C. Niquille
François Zajega
Kurt Caviezel
Lauren Moffatt

Étudiant-e-s

Sara BastaiEmidio BattipagliaRobin BerviniMaeva BoskoJasmine DeportaAnja Karolina FurrerAlessia GunawanChristian HarkerJung-Ting Hu , Johanna Hullár, Sally JoPhilipp Klak , Doruk Kumkumoglu , Igor Lucena , Natalia Maximova , Valentin Russo , Jelena Schuhmacher , Yang Su , Gedvile Tamosiunaite , Joanna Wierzbicka , Olivia Wünsche , Manqin Zhang

Durée

septembre 2019 – février 2021

Soutenu par

ECAL/Ecole cantonale d’art de Lausanne
Réserve stratégique de la HES-SO (RCDAV)

Diffusion

Site internet
automated-photography.ch/

1718_S2_1BAPH_Keller-Gohan_CLambelet_What-is-photography_08.jpg
Gohan Keller, See Me In Depth, 2018 © ECAL / Gohan Keller
1920_S1_MAP2_Klak-Philipp_AutomatedKurt_238_7c8edeb45d51bacc.jpg
Philip Klak, See What Is Left, 2020 © ECAL / Philip Klak
Emidio_Battipaglia.jpg
Emidio Battipaglia, All Watched Over By Machine Of Loving Grace Ver 1.1B, 2020 © ECAL / Emidio Battipaglia
Sara_Bastai-AsWeMelt.jpg
Sara Bastai, As We Melt, 2020 © ECAL / Sara Bastai

Événements et projets liés

Exposition «Automated Photography» + Conférence de Constant Dullaart,09.03.2022, 17:30,Galerie l'elac

GALERIE ELAC

Exposition «Automated Photography» + Conférence de Constant Dullaart,
09.03.2022, 17:30,
Galerie l'elac

Un nombre croissant d’images sont produites de manière autonome par des machines pour des machines avec une exclusion progressive de toute intervention humaine. « Automated Photography » est un projet de recherche développé par le Master en Photographie de l’ECAL qui questionne cette situation en examinant les technologies de production et distribution d’images : CGI, drones, machine learning, photogrammétrie, réalité augmentée.

L'ECAL à Paris Photo: exposition, symposium, livre «Automated Photography» + OFFPRINT & Alumni,09–13.11.2021,Espace Commines, Paris

EXPOSITIONS

L'ECAL à Paris Photo: exposition, symposium, livre «Automated Photography» + OFFPRINT & Alumni,
09–13.11.2021,
Espace Commines, Paris

A l'occasion de Paris Photo, une exposition audiovisuelle immersive, un symposium et un livre présentent des regards critiques et une sélection de projets qui explorent le potentiel esthétique et conceptuel de la photographie automatisée.

Self Initiated Project / Automated Photography

PHOTOGRAPHIE

Self Initiated Project / Automated Photography

Projet d’atelier avec Milo Keller

First-year students worked on self-initiated projects tutored by Milo Keller. Students had the option to propose projects that would explore technologies and themes related to the current master's research project Automated Photography.

Automated Photography

PHOTOGRAPHIE

Automated Photography

Projet d’atelier avec Marco De Mutiis

2nd year Automated Photography course tutored by Marco De Mutiis.