Belle Dune - "See You Later, Alligator..."

Belle Dune - "See You Later, Alligator..."

A police investigation in Belle Dune, a small seaside resort in the north of France. This graduation film is a pilote of a series.

Diploma project (2019) by Léonard Sinclair, Maxime Beaud

Professors
Thomas Cailley, Josée Deshaies, Elsa Amiel
Tags
fiction, photography direction

A short film by Léonard Sinclair, photographed by Maxime Beaud

Fiction / 18 min

Synopsis

The mutilated corpse of an English tourist is found in a tree, close to a small seaside resort in the north of France. Lieutenant Angela Jumcaucourt starts to investigate. Jérôme Montpied, a solitary young man from Belle Dune with few prospects, is profoundly changed by this macabre incident. It is as if he had found a new lease of life.

Comment

At Fort-Mahon Plage, the dunes are beautiful, but danger lurks. Thus begins episode 1 of season 1 in which Lieutenant Angela Jumcaucourt investigates the murder of a tourist whose mutilated body was found in a vacant lot.

Tumultuous seaside atmospheres, anonymous letters, ghostly Cadillac, everything here contributes to the suspense and strangeness. Leonard Sinclair, with his meticulous direction, plays with the codes. As a good forensic scientist, he dissects genre films to better lose us and surprise us. Like a Bruno Dumont who has watched too much David Lynch's films or a Tati lost in a Yves Klein's painting, Léonard has fun to blur the tracks, very sandy by the way. Each sequence is constructed to distill its share of micro-details like so many potential clues, until transforming the film into a role-playing game both playful and totally addictive. There is something hypnotic about following this endless quest and we want more.

In this seaside labyrinth, where nothing is ever totally stable, the fantastic is likely to appear at every slip of the whodunit. In the end, the only thing to watch out for is not so much the hypothetical episode 2 as the future of this talented young filmmaker.

Raphaël Sohier / Sound editor

Belle Dune - "See You Later, Alligator..."

Belle Dune - "See You Later, Alligator..."

Une enquête policière dans une petite station balnéaire du nord de la France appelée Belle Dune. Ce film de diplôme est le premier épisode d’un film à suite.

Projet de diplôme (2019) par Léonard Sinclair, Maxime Beaud

Professeur·e·s
Thomas Cailley, Josée Deshaies, Elsa Amiel
Savoir-faire
fiction, direction image

Un film de Léonard Sinclair, photographié par Maxime Beaud

Fiction / 18 min

Synopsis

Le cadavre mutilé d'une touriste anglaise est retrouvé dans un arbre aux abords d'une petite station balnéaire du nord de la France. Le lieutenant Angela Jumcaucourt est mis sur le coup. Jérôme Montpied, jeune habitant de Belle Dune d’habitude solitaire et sans perspective d’avenir n’est plus le même depuis l’arrivée du fait divers macabre. C'est comme s'il reprenait goût à la vie.

Commentaire

A Fort-Mahon Plage, les dunes sont belles, mais le danger rôde. Ainsi commence l'episode 1 de la saison 1 dans lequel le lieutenant Angela Jumcaucourt enquête sur le meurtre d'une touriste dont le corps mutilé a été retrouvé dans un terrain vague.

Ambiances tumultueuses de bord de mer, lettres anonymes, Cadillac fantomatique, tout ici contribue au suspense et à l'étrangeté. Léonard Sinclair, par une réalisation au cordeau, se joue des codes. En bon médecin légiste, il dissèque les films de genre pour mieux nous perdre et nous surprendre. Tel un Bruno dumont ayant trop regardé les films de David Lynch ou un Tati perdu dans un tableau d'Yves Klein, Léonard s'amuse à brouiller les pistes, très ensablées par ailleurs. Chaque séquence est construite pour distiller son lot de micro détails comme autant d'indices potentiels, jusqu'à transformer le film en un jeu de rôles à la fois ludique et totalement addictif. Il y a quelque chose d'hypnotique à suivre cette quête sans fin et on en redemande.

Dans ce labyrinthe balnéaire, où rien n'est jamais totalement stable, le fantastique risque de surgir à chaque dérapage du polar. Dans le fond, la seule chose à guetter est moins l'hypothétique épisode 2 que le devenir de ce jeune cinéaste talentueux.

Raphaël Sohier / Monteur son