Still Working

Julietta Korbel – Still Working

The guardian of a factory doomed to be demolished is faced with the end of his universe…

Diploma project (2019) by Julietta Korbel

Professors
Thomas Cailley, Elsa Amiel
Tag
fiction

Fiction / 17 min

Synopsis

In an abandoned factory destined to be demolished, Pavel’s routine, the guardian, is disturbed by the arrival of a young engineer who discovers an unusual electric activity, a running turbine. Pavel will be faced with the imminent disappearance of the factory and with the end of his universe…

Comment

Julietta fell in love with an abandoned factory. A ruined setting, gigantic and inanimate, but which she inhabited from her first visit. The script was written on this particular relationship to the setting, intimate and organic.

The characters came in the wake of this, as if out of this clay. The guard Pavel, his marked face, his massive and graceful dog. And the presence of the factory that oozes in all the shots, digs its imprint in time and space. The castle and its guardian. A body trapped in a larger body. A void, a collapse that probes another. 

Still Working, Julietta Korbel's film, is at once a portrait, a fable and a disturbing, haunted physical experience. Made of mystery, meaning and sensuality. David Lynch said that the hardest thing about making a film is falling in love with a story. That's what happened here. 

Thomas Cailley / Screenwritter, director

Still Working

Julietta Korbel – Still Working

Le gardien d'une usine promise à la démolition est confronté à la fin de son univers…

Projet de diplôme (2019) par Julietta Korbel

Professeur·e·s
Thomas Cailley, Elsa Amiel
Tag
fiction

Fiction / 17 min

Synopsis

Dans une usine abandonné promise à la démolition, la routine de Pavel, le gardien, est perturbée par l’arrivée d’un jeune ingénieur qui découvre une machine inexplicablement restée en marche. Pavel va être confronté à la disparition prochaine de l’usine et à la fin de son univers…

Commentaire

Julietta a eu un coup de foudre pour une usine abandonnée. Un décor en ruine, gigantesque et inanimé, mais qu'elle a habité dès la première visite. Le scénario s'est écrit sur cette relation particulière au décor, intime et organique.

Les personnages sont venus dans la foulée, comme sortis de cette glaise-là. Le gardien Pavel, son visage marqué, son chien massif et gracieux. Et la présence de l'usine qui suinte dans tous les plans, creuse son empreinte dans le temps et dans l'espace. Le château et son gardien. Un corps prisonnier d'un corps plus grand. Un vide, un effondrement qui en sonde un autre. 

Still Working, le film de Julietta Korbel, est à la fois un portrait, une fable et une expérience physique troublante, hantée. Faite de mystère, de sens et de sensualité. David Lynch dit que le plus difficile quand on fait un film, c'est de tomber amoureux d'une histoire. C'est ce qui s'est passé ici. 

Thomas Cailley / Scénariste, réalisateur