E15

E15

Marking the twentieth anniversary of modern design classic BACKENZAHN™, e15 invited Master Product Design students of ECAL to develop own interpretations for furniture and accessories utilising the same materials available to the company’s co-founder Philipp Mainzer when he conceived the iconic stool. With a focus on sustainability, the BACKENZAHN™ stool was created using wood offcuts from the production of celebrated table BIGFOOT™. For its signature form and detail, seasoned heartwood is used, resulting in characteristic cracks, which make every stool unique. Under the guidance of designer Camille Blin, the students produced a series of 14 objects that reflect everyday functions, such as book shelves, children’s toys or paperweights. HD Images Brochure with explanations Photo ECAL/Maxime Guyon

Studio project (2016) with Camille Blin

Professors
Camille Blin

Marking the twentieth anniversary of modern design classic BACKENZAHN™, e15 invited Master Product Design students of ECAL to develop own interpretations for furniture and accessories utilising the same materials available to the company’s co-founder Philipp Mainzer when he conceived the iconic stool.

With a focus on sustainability, the BACKENZAHN™ stool was created using wood offcuts from the production of celebrated table BIGFOOT™. For its signature form and detail, seasoned heartwood is used, resulting in characteristic cracks, which make every stool unique.

Under the guidance of designer Camille Blin, the students produced a series of 14 objects that reflect everyday functions, such as book shelves, children’s toys or paperweights.


HD Images

Brochure with explanations


Photo ECAL/Maxime Guyon
Lucky  by ECAL/Maxime Augay
Vanish  by ECAL/Christian Holweck

1/2

Bakula  by ECAL/Adrien Cugulliere
I Beam  by ECAL/Yasunori Morinaga

1/2

Junctions  by ECAL/Sara Regal
Herz  by ECAL/Hugo Chaffiotte

1/2

Anvil  by ECAL/Yeyeon Park
Two  by ECAL/Sumegha Mantri

1/2

Cask  by ECAL/Sara de Campos Rodrigues
Half  by ECAL/Nicolas de Vismes

1/2

Yuragi  by ECAL/Hiroyuki Morita
Mitsogo  by ECAL/Adrien Cugulliere

1/2

Plok  by ECAL/Antoine Chauvin
Whale  by ECAL/Paul Louda

1/2

E15

E15

Pour célébrer le vingtième anniversaire du désormais classique tabouret BACKENZAHN™, e15 a invité l’ECAL et les étudiants en 1re année du Master Design de Produit à développer leurs propres interprétations de meubles et accessoires, en utilisant les mêmes matériaux que Philipp Mainzer, co-fondateur de l’entreprise, quand il conçut la fameuse assise. En mettant l’accent sur la durabilité, le tabouret BACKENZAHN™ a été créé à l’aide des chutes de bois de la célèbre table BIGFOOT™, rendant chaque pièce unique grâce à ses fissures caractéristiques. Les étudiants ont ainsi produit sous la conduite du designer Camille Blin, une série de 14 objets qui traduisent des fonctions du quotidien comme une bibliothèque, des jeux pour enfant ou un presse-papier. Images HD Brochure avec explications Photo ECAL/Maxime Guyon

Projet d’atelier (2016) avec Camille Blin

Professeur·e·s
Camille Blin

Pour célébrer le vingtième anniversaire du désormais classique tabouret BACKENZAHN™, e15 a invité l’ECAL et les étudiants en 1re année du Master Design de Produit à développer leurs propres interprétations de meubles et accessoires, en utilisant les mêmes matériaux que Philipp Mainzer, co-fondateur de l’entreprise, quand il conçut la fameuse assise.

En mettant l’accent sur la durabilité, le tabouret BACKENZAHN™ a été créé à l’aide des chutes de bois de la célèbre table BIGFOOT™, rendant chaque pièce unique grâce à ses fissures caractéristiques.

Les étudiants ont ainsi produit sous la conduite du designer Camille Blin, une série de 14 objets qui traduisent des fonctions du quotidien comme une bibliothèque, des jeux pour enfant ou un presse-papier.


Images HD

Brochure avec explications

Photo ECAL/Maxime Guyon


Lucky  by ECAL/Maxime Augay
Vanish  by ECAL/Christian Holweck

1/2

Bakula  by ECAL/Adrien Cugulliere
I Beam  by ECAL/Yasunori Morinaga

1/2

Junctions  by ECAL/Sara Regal
Herz  by ECAL/Hugo Chaffiotte

1/2

Anvil  by ECAL/Yeyeon Park
Two  by ECAL/Sumegha Mantri

1/2

Cask  by ECAL/Sara de Campos Rodrigues
Half  by ECAL/Nicolas de Vismes

1/2

Yuragi  by ECAL/Hiroyuki Morita
Mitsogo  by ECAL/Adrien Cugulliere

1/2

Plok  by ECAL/Antoine Chauvin
Whale  by ECAL/Paul Louda

1/2