ECAL x Jean Paul Gaultier: Smells Like Queer Spirit

ECAL x Jean Paul Gaultier: Smells Like Queer Spirit

"Smells Like Queer Spirit" at Musée des beaux-arts du Locle - an exhibition created in collaboration with Jean Paul Gaultier by third-year Bachelor Photography students, under the direction of Florence Tétier and Nicolas Coulomb (Novembre magazine).  In the 1980s Jean Paul Gaultier overturned dress codes and showed the porous boundary between masculine and feminine. The fashion designer playfully reversed roles, overturned gender and designed silhouettes that combined masculine sensitivity with feminine power. When they were launched, the brand’s perfume bottles also broke with the androgynous fashion of the 1990s. Now iconic, these served as the starting point for photographic exploration by students of the Bachelor in Photography at ECAL/University of Art and Design Lausanne. For this research project directed by Florence Tétier and Nicolas Coulomb – under the watchful eye of Claude Emmanuelle Gajan-Maull, consultant LGBTQIA+ – the photography class questioned the human body and its representations. The images created in 2021 by the 12 students relate to themes of pride and tolerance. These works show that commitment to a more inclusive society also relies on images. A publication, co-edited by ECAL x Jean Paul Gaultier x Novembre and designed by Baptiste Gerbelot Barillon & Jean Marques, is also being published to coincide with this exhibition. STUDENTS Dominique Bartels Julie Corday Diego Fellmann Florian Hilt Samara Krähenbühl Angèle Marignac-Serra Lisa Mazenauer Marvin Merkel Inès Mermoud Basil Pérot Yolane Rais Camille Spiller ASSISTANTS Matthieu Croizier Antoine Martin Yul Tomatala OPENING REC EPTION Friday 4 February at 6pm EXHIBITION AT MBAL From 5 February to 24 April 2022 OPENING HOURS Mon-Sun, 11am-5pm First Sunday of the month free ADDRESS Rue Marie-Anne-Calame 6, 2400 Le Locle https://www.mbal.ch

"Smells Like Queer Spirit" at Musée des beaux-arts du Locle - an exhibition created in collaboration with Jean Paul Gaultier by third-year Bachelor Photography students, under the direction of Florence Tétier and Nicolas Coulomb (Novembre magazine).

In the 1980s Jean Paul Gaultier overturned dress codes and showed the porous boundary between masculine and feminine. The fashion designer playfully reversed roles, overturned gender and designed silhouettes that combined masculine sensitivity with feminine power. When they were launched, the brand’s perfume bottles also broke with the androgynous fashion of the 1990s. Now iconic, these served as the starting point for photographic exploration by students of the Bachelor in Photography at ECAL/University of Art and Design Lausanne. For this research project directed by Florence Tétier and Nicolas Coulomb – under the watchful eye of Claude Emmanuelle Gajan-Maull, consultant LGBTQIA+ – the photography class questioned the human body and its representations. The images created in 2021 by the 12 students relate to themes of pride and tolerance. These works show that commitment to a more inclusive society also relies on images.

A publication, co-edited by ECAL x Jean Paul Gaultier x Novembre and designed by Baptiste Gerbelot Barillon & Jean Marques, is also being published to coincide with this exhibition.

STUDENTS
Dominique Bartels
Julie Corday
Diego Fellmann
Florian Hilt
Samara Krähenbühl
Angèle Marignac-Serra
Lisa Mazenauer
Marvin Merkel
Inès Mermoud
Basil Pérot
Yolane Rais
Camille Spiller

ASSISTANTS
Matthieu Croizier
Antoine Martin
Yul Tomatala

OPENING RECEPTION
Friday 4 February at 6pm

EXHIBITION AT MBAL
From 5 February to 24 April 2022

OPENING HOURS
Mon-Sun, 11am-5pm

First Sunday of the month free

ADDRESS
Rue Marie-Anne-Calame 6, 2400 Le Locle

https://www.mbal.ch

12b92b41bdd56928762b46aa427edf37.jpg
Repro: ECAL/Camille Spiller & Basil Pérot & Angèle_Marignac-Serra
1b10dbe238f91588d49c0bb069dab11f.jpg
Repro: ECAL/Camille Spiller & Basil Pérot & Angèle_Marignac-Serra
8d28bf3c0bfb46ba39b079095eb012d6.jpg
Repro: ECAL/Camille Spiller & Basil Pérot & Angèle_Marignac-Serra
2ac48b70cee07076085bce0ad2725683.jpg
Repro: ECAL/Florian Hilt & Marvin Merkel
ECAL/Dominique Bartels & Lisa Mazenauer
ECAL/Dominique Bartels & Lisa Mazenauer

1/2

ECAL/Yolane Rais & Julie Corday
ECAL/Yolane Rais & Julie Corday
ECAL/Yolane Rais & Julie Corday

1/4

88b380cb22828f50c659997b6003e535.jpg
ECAL/Florian Hilt & Basil Pérot
ECAL/Florian Hilt & Basil Pérot

1/2

ECAL/Samara Krähenbül & Diego Fellmann
ECAL/Samara Krähenbül & Diego Fellmann
ECAL/Samara Krähenbül & Diego Fellmann

1/3

ECAL/Angèle Marignac-Serra & Camille Spiller
ECAL/Angèle Marignac-Serra & Camille Spiller
ECAL/Angèle Marignac-Serra & Camille Spiller

1/3

ECAL x Jean Paul Gaultier: Smells Like Queer Spirit

ECAL x Jean Paul Gaultier: Smells Like Queer Spirit

«Smells Like Queer Spirit» au Musée des beaux-arts du Locle - une exposition réalisée en collaboration avec Jean Paul Gaultier par les étudiant·e·s de 3e année en Bachelor Photographie, sous la conduite de Florence Tétier et Nicolas Coulomb (Novembre magazine).  Dans les années 1980, Jean Paul Gaultier renverse les codes vestimentaires et rend visible la frontière poreuse qui réside entre le masculin et le féminin. Avec jeu, le créateur de mode inverse les rôles, bouscule le genre et dessine les silhouettes qui réunissent sensibilité masculine et puissance féminine. A leur lancement, les flacons de parfum de la marque s’affirment eux aussi en rupture avec la mode androgyne des années 1990. Devenus iconiques, ils sont le point de départ des explorations photographiques menées par les étudiant·e·s de l’ECAL. Pour cette recherche dirigée par Florence Tétier et Nicolas Coulomb et sous l'oeil avisé de Claude Emmanuelle Gajan-Maull en charge des questions LGBTQIA+, la classe de photographie interroge le corps humain et ses représentations. Les images créées en 2021 par les 12 étudiant·e·s sont pensées sous le signe de la fierté et de la tolérance. Ces travaux montrent que l’engagement en faveur d’une société plus inclusive passe aussi à travers les images. Une publication, co-éditée par l’ECAL x Jean Paul Gaultier x Novembre et dont le graphisme a été assuré par Baptiste Gerbelot Barillon & Jean Marques, paraît également à l’occasion de cette exposition. ETUDIANT·E·S Dominique Bartels Julie Corday Diego Fellmann Florian Hilt Samara Krähenbühl Angèle Marignac-Serra Lisa Mazenauer Marvin Merkel Inès Mermoud Basil Pérot Yolane Rais Camille Spiller ASSISTANTS Matthieu Croizier Antoine Martin Yul Tomatala EXPOSITION AU MBAL Du 5 février au 24 avril 2022 HEURES D’OUVERTURE Me-di, 11h-17h Premier dimanche du mois gratuit ADRESSE Rue Marie-Anne-Calame 6, 2400 Le Locle https://www.mbal.ch

«Smells Like Queer Spirit» au Musée des beaux-arts du Locle - une exposition réalisée en collaboration avec Jean Paul Gaultier par les étudiant·e·s de 3e année en Bachelor Photographie, sous la conduite de Florence Tétier et Nicolas Coulomb (Novembre magazine).

Dans les années 1980, Jean Paul Gaultier renverse les codes vestimentaires et rend visible la frontière poreuse qui réside entre le masculin et le féminin. Avec jeu, le créateur de mode inverse les rôles, bouscule le genre et dessine les silhouettes qui réunissent sensibilité masculine et puissance féminine. A leur lancement, les flacons de parfum de la marque s’affirment eux aussi en rupture avec la mode androgyne des années 1990. Devenus iconiques, ils sont le point de départ des explorations photographiques menées par les étudiant·e·s de l’ECAL. Pour cette recherche dirigée par Florence Tétier et Nicolas Coulomb et sous l'oeil avisé de Claude Emmanuelle Gajan-Maull en charge des questions LGBTQIA+, la classe de photographie interroge le corps humain et ses représentations. Les images créées en 2021 par les 12 étudiant·e·s sont pensées sous le signe de la fierté et de la tolérance. Ces travaux montrent que l’engagement en faveur d’une société plus inclusive passe aussi à travers les images.

Une publication, co-éditée par l’ECAL x Jean Paul Gaultier x Novembre et dont le graphisme a été assuré par Baptiste Gerbelot Barillon & Jean Marques, paraît également à l’occasion de cette exposition.

ETUDIANT·E·S
Dominique Bartels

Julie Corday
Diego Fellmann
Florian Hilt
Samara Krähenbühl
Angèle Marignac-Serra
Lisa Mazenauer
Marvin Merkel
Inès Mermoud
Basil Pérot
Yolane Rais
Camille Spiller

ASSISTANTS
Matthieu Croizier
Antoine Martin
Yul Tomatala

EXPOSITION AU MBAL
Du 5 février au 24 avril 2022

HEURES D’OUVERTURE
Me-di, 11h-17h
Premier dimanche du mois gratuit

ADRESSE
Rue Marie-Anne-Calame 6, 2400 Le Locle

https://www.mbal.ch

12b92b41bdd56928762b46aa427edf37.jpg
Repro: ECAL/Camille Spiller & Basil Pérot & Angèle_Marignac-Serra
1b10dbe238f91588d49c0bb069dab11f.jpg
Repro: ECAL/Camille Spiller & Basil Pérot & Angèle_Marignac-Serra
8d28bf3c0bfb46ba39b079095eb012d6.jpg
Repro: ECAL/Camille Spiller & Basil Pérot & Angèle_Marignac-Serra
2ac48b70cee07076085bce0ad2725683.jpg
Repro: ECAL/Florian Hilt & Marvin Merkel
ECAL/Dominique Bartels & Lisa Mazenauer
ECAL/Dominique Bartels & Lisa Mazenauer

1/2

ECAL/Yolane Rais & Julie Corday
ECAL/Yolane Rais & Julie Corday
ECAL/Yolane Rais & Julie Corday
ECAL/Yolane Rais & Julie Corday

1/4

88b380cb22828f50c659997b6003e535.jpg
ECAL/Inès Mermoud & Marvin Merkel
ECAL/Florian Hilt & Basil Pérot
ECAL/Florian Hilt & Basil Pérot

1/2

ECAL/Samara Krähenbül & Diego Fellmann
ECAL/Samara Krähenbül & Diego Fellmann
ECAL/Samara Krähenbül & Diego Fellmann

1/3

ECAL/Angèle Marignac-Serra & Camille Spiller
ECAL/Angèle Marignac-Serra & Camille Spiller
ECAL/Angèle Marignac-Serra & Camille Spiller

1/3