Ramboy (Editing)

Selin Dettwiler – Ramboy (Editing)

On Achill Island, on the west coast of the Republic of Ireland, Cian hopes to spend his summer vacation playing soccer with his friends. But his grandfather Martin reckons the time has come to introduce him to farm work in order to pass on his craft to the next generation. 

Diploma project (2022) by Selin Dettwiler

Professors
Gion Reto Killias

Documentary / 30 min

Synopsis

On Achill Island, a predominantly sheep-populated island off the west coast of Ireland, Cian tries his best to train his grandfather's sheep dog, Martin. From an opening scene that shows the teenager struggling with disobedient animals and a patient but firm grandfather, the long and rigorous apprenticeship of farm work begins, during a summer he would have preferred to spend with his friends. Wearing a soccer jersey and city sneakers, Cian is confronted with the harshness and demands of a job that he admires and respects, but in which he is not sure he has a long term vision.

Student's comment

On Achill Island, on the west coast of the Republic of Ireland, Cian hopes to spend his summer vacation playing soccer with his friends. But his grandfather Martin reckons the time has come to introduce him to farm work in order to pass on his craft to the next generation. 

The opening scene shows a teenager struggling with unruly animals and a patient but determined grandfather, as the long learning process and the hard work begin over the summer. The editing focuses on this patient process while also evoking Cian’s inner development.

Stills
Stills
Stills
Stills

1/4

Ramboy (Montage)

Selin Dettwiler – Ramboy (Montage)

Sur l’île d’Achill, tout à l’ouest de la côte irlandaise, Cian espère passer ses vacances d’été à jouer au football avec ses amis. Mais pour son grand-père Martin, le moment est venu de l’initier aux travaux de la ferme afin de transmettre un métier d’une génération à l’autre. 

Projet de diplôme (2022) par Selin Dettwiler

Professeur·e·s
Gion Reto Killias

Documentaire / 30 min

Synopsis

Sur l’île d’Achill peuplée principalement de moutons, tout à l’ouest de la côte irlandaise, Cian tente tant bien que mal de dresser le chien-berger de son grand-père, Martin. D’une scène d’ouverture qui montre l’adolescent luttant contre des animaux désobéissants et un grand-père patient mais ferme, débute l’apprentissage long et rigoureux du travail à la ferme, le temps d’un été qu’il aurait préféré passer avec ses amis. Vêtu en toutes circonstances d’un maillot de foot et de baskets de ville, Cian est confronté à la dureté et l’exigence d’un métier qu’il admire et respecte, mais dans lequel il n’est pas certain de se projeter sur le long terme.

Commentaire de l'étudiante

Sur l’île d’Achill, tout à l’ouest de la côte irlandaise, Cian espère passer ses vacances d’été à jouer au football avec ses amis. Mais pour son grand-père Martin, le moment est venu de l’initier aux travaux de la ferme afin de transmettre un métier d’une génération à l’autre. 

Avec une scène d’ouverture montrant un adolescent aux prises avec des animaux désobéissants et un grand-père patient mais déterminé, le long apprentissage et le dur labeur commencent pendant un été. Le montage se concentre sur ce patient processus d’apprentissage et évoque également le processus intérieur de Cian.

Stills
Stills
Stills
Stills

1/4