Moment Catcher

Dongwoo Kim – Moment Catcher

Drawings appeared in our culture through the desire of leaving a trace of our  reality, the same spirit that brought to life film and photography. In virtual space,  experiences being as ephemeral as in real life, the desire to grasp and document them also exists. Is it possible to anchor a trace in a spatial context inside a virtual  dimension? Based on Augmented Reality, Moment Catcher proposes its  user to keep a virtual, spatialized sound imprint in shapes that can be drawn by  moving a smartphone in real space.

Diploma project (2018) by Dongwoo Kim

Professors
Alain Bellet, Christophe Guignard, Gaël Hugo

Drawings appeared in our culture through the desire of leaving a trace of our reality, the same spirit that brought to life film and photography. In virtual space, experiences being as ephemeral as in real life, the desire to grasp and document

them also exists. Is it possible to anchor a trace in a spatial context inside a virtual dimension? Based on Augmented Reality, Moment Catcher proposes its user to keep a virtual, spatialized sound imprint in shapes that can be drawn by moving a smartphone in real space.


1/2

Moment Catcher

Dongwoo Kim – Moment Catcher

Le dessin a émergé dans notre culture par la volonté de laisser une trace de notre réalité. C’est dans la même dynamique que sont nés le film et la photographie. Les espaces virtuels présentent les mêmes problématiques de conservation de la mémoire. Est-il possible d’en ancrer une trace dans son contexte spatial ? En s’appuyant sur la réalité augmentée, « Moment Catcher » propose à son utilisateur de conserver une empreinte numérique, spatialisée et sonorisée, obtenue par le déplacement de son smartphone dans l’air.

Projet de diplôme (2018) par Dongwoo Kim

Professeur·e·s
Alain Bellet, Christophe Guignard, Gaël Hugo

Le dessin a émergé dans notre culture par la volonté de laisser une trace de notre réalité. C’est dans la même dynamique que sont nés le film et la photographie. Les espaces virtuels présentent les mêmes problématiques de conservation de la mémoire. Est-il possible d’en ancrer une trace dans son contexte spatial ?

En s’appuyant sur la réalité augmentée, « Moment Catcher » propose à son utilisateur de conserver une empreinte numérique, spatialisée et sonorisée, obtenue par le déplacement de son smartphone dans l’air.


1/2