Lovers of the Nile

Léonore Baud – Lovers of the Nile

Young couples in search of intimacy on the banks of the Nile in Cairo. Léonore Baud tries to catch them with her camera in a long tracking shot in a car; but as soon as the lovers feel observed, they stop snogging. Uncomfortable with this device, the director stops shooting. What she would like to do is to get out of the car and film the couples openly. A step that Egyptian moral rules make impossible however. 

Lovers of the Nile poses a fundamental question of the cinema of reality. Can we force people to be filmed?

Diploma project (2008) by Léonore Baud

Tag
documentary

Documentary

Synopsis

Young couples in search of intimacy on the banks of the Nile in Cairo. Léonore Baud tries to catch them with her camera in a long tracking shot in a car, but as soon as the lovers feel they are being watched, they stop snogging. Uncomfortable with this device, the director stops shooting. What she would like to do is to get out of the car and film the couples openly. A step that Egyptian moral rules make impossible however.



Lovers of the Nile poses a fundamental question of the documentary genre: can we force people to be filmed? Continuing her adventure, the filmmaker organizes a casting session where she chooses a couple to whom she proposes to play the game of love in front of the camera. But the young people do not succeed, because for them, kissing in public is transgressing the rules of propriety. Léonore Baud doesn't let herself be discouraged, and that's the whole point of her film. She is therefore going to be interested in the origins of these moral prohibitions. She starts looking for information on the subject from Egyptian filmmakers and the head of the censorship. They all told her that the gap between the Arab and Western world is deep, and that she had to accept that the ethical, moral and cultural rules that govern Egypt are different from her own.



The filmmaker will therefore not make Lovers of the Nile, but will instead offer us a subtle reflection on the profession of filmmaker.

Comment

Making a documentary on lovers in Cairo: this is the project of a young Swiss student of cinema who quickly comes up against a term that is absolutely foreign to his work: censorship. A short journey through the world of contemporary Egyptian cinema in search of encounters, replies and confrontations with images and reality.

Cécile Tanner (
Catalogue du Festival "Visons du Réel", 2008)

Festivals and awards

2012

2008

Les amoureux du Nil

Léonore Baud – Les amoureux du Nil

Des jeunes couples en quête d’intimité sur les quais du Nil au Caire. Léonore Baud tente de les surprendre avec sa caméra dans un long travelling à bord d’une voiture ; mais dès que les amoureux se sentent observés, ils cessent de se bécoter. Mal à l’aise avec ce dispositif, la réalisatrice arrête de tourner. Ce qu’elle aimerait, c’est descendre de voiture pour filmer ouvertement les couples. Une démarche que les règles morales égyptiennes rendent pourtant impossible. 

Les amoureux du Nil pose une question fondamentale du cinéma du réel. Peut-on obliger les gens à être filmés ?

Projet de diplôme (2008) par Léonore Baud

Tag
documentaire

Documentaire

Synopsis

Des jeunes couples en quête d’intimité sur les quais du Nil au Caire. Léonore Baud tente de les surprendre avec sa caméra dans un long travelling à bord d’une voiture ; mais dès que les amoureux se sentent observés, ils cessent de se bécoter. Mal à l’aise avec ce dispositif, la réalisatrice arrête de tourner. Ce qu’elle aimerait, c’est descendre de voiture pour filmer ouvertement les couples. Une démarche que les règles morales égyptiennes rendent pourtant impossible.



Les amoureux du Nil pose une question fondamentale du cinéma du réel. Peut-on obliger les gens à être filmés ? Poursuivant malgré tout son aventure, la cinéaste organise un casting ou elle choisit un couple à qui elle propose de jouer le jeu de l’amour devant la caméra. Mais les jeunes gens n’y arrivent pas, car pour eux, s’embrasser en public, c’est transgresser les règles de la bienséance. Léonore Baud ne se laisse pas démonter pour autant, c’est tout l’intérêt de son film. Elle va dès lors s’intéresser aux origines de ces interdits moraux. Elle se met en quête d’informations sur le sujet auorès de cinéastes égyptiens et du chef de la censure. Tous lui répondent que le fossé entre le monde arabe et occidental est profond, et qu’il s’agit pour elle d’accepter que les règles éthiques, morales et culturelles qui régissent l’Egypte soient différentes des siennes.



La cinéaste ne fera donc pas "Les amoureux du Nil", mais nous proposera à la place une subtile réflexion sur le métier de cinéaste.

Commentaire

Réaliser un documentaire sur les amoureux au Caire : tel est le projet d'une jeune étudiante Suisse en cinéma qui se heurte rapidement à un terme absolument étranger à son travail : la censure. Un petit voyage dans le monde du cinéma égyptien contemporain à la recherche de rencontres, de répliques et de confrontations avec les images et la réalité.

Cécile Tanner (
Catalogue du Festival "Visons du Réel", 2008)

Festivals et prix

2012

2008