Imperial (direction)

Coline Confort – Imperial (direction)

At dawn, a cannon shatters the silence. The horses gallop across the beaten ground. Eva, 21, wants to join the Imperial HorseGuards, a historical reenactment of a Napoleonic regiment reserved for men.

Diploma project (2020) by Coline Confort

Professors
Laurent Larivière
Know-how
documentary

Documentary / 22 min

Synopsis

At dawn, a cannon shatters the silence. The horses gallop across the beaten ground. Eva, 21, wants to join the Imperial HorseGuards, a historical reenactment of a Napoleonic regiment reserved for men. In search of romance, she conceals her identity so that she can set her foot in the stirrup //(climb into the saddle), defying a 200-year-old ban. In this world of powder and smoke, Eva finally finds herself as she had always dreamed: ‘a handsome soldier beside a beautiful princess.

Comment

There are films that take a long time to be found, others that are born of an obviousness. One cannot say which is preferable. One cannot tell by looking at a film if its trajectory was eventful or peaceful. What counts is its impact on the present and the trace it leaves. 

Imperial has known versions of the script very different from the finished film. But these variants have nourished Coline's reflection, and this documentary carries within it all the others that were not made. Like layers. As if it had taken all these detours to finally manage to tell us a simple story, one of those that always thrill us, a story of desire and love.

We can notice the great maturity in the management of the duration of the shots, the beauty of the frames and the attention given to the light. The almost feverish look at her character, while at the same time a great determination in the way she accompanies her. Eva's trajectory is simple and fluid in its accomplishment, and this simplicity (so difficult to achieve) is movingly beautiful. As can be the look of Eva on a young girl who is enough to put "a little glitter in her life".

Laurent Larivière / Director

Stills
Stills
Stills
Stills
Stills

1/5

Impériale

Coline Confort – Impériale

À l’aube, un coup de canon déchire la plaine. Les chevaux foulent la terre battue au galop. Eva, 21 ans, rêve de rejoindre les chasseurs de la garde impériale, un régiment napoléonien réservé aux hommes.

Projet de diplôme (2020) par Coline Confort

Professeur·e·s
Laurent Larivière
Savoir-faire
documentaire

Documentaire / 22 min

Synopsis

« Impériale » est un film documentaire tourné en immersion dans le milieu singulier de la reconstitution historique napoléonienne. Dans cet entre-soi masculin, les femmes ne sont pas admises sur un champ de bataille. En quête de romantisme, Eva dissimule son identité et s’enrôle dans la cavalerie de la Grande Armée de Napoléon Bonaparte. En se travestissant, elle brave un interdit vieux de 200 ans dans une grande chevauchée impériale.

Le parcours d’Eva est un miroir du processus de fabrication du film : un combat pour trouver sa place et faire ses preuves dans un univers clos et réactionnaire.

Commentaire

Il est des films qui se cherchent longtemps, d'autres qui naissent d'une évidence. On ne saurait dire ce qui est préférable. On ne saurait dire en regardant un film si sa trajectoire fut mouvementée ou paisible. Ce qui compte c'est son impact au présent et la trace qu'il laisse. 

Impériale a connu des versions de scénario très éloignées du film fini. Mais ces variantes ont nourri la réflexion de Coline, et ce documentaire porte en lui tous les autres non réalisés. Comme des strates. Comme s'il avait fallu tous ces détours pour finalement arriver à nous raconter une histoire simple, de celles qui nous font toujours vibrer, une histoire de désir et d'amour.

On remarquera la grande maturité dans la gestion de la durée des plans, la beauté des cadres et l'attention accordée à la lumière. Le regard presque fébrile porté à son personnage, en même temps qu'une grande détermination dans la manière de l'accompagner. La trajectoire d'Eva est simple et fluide dans son accomplissement, et cette simplicité (si difficile à atteindre) est d'une beauté émouvante. Comme peut l'être le regard d'Eva sur une jeune fille qui suffit à mettre "un peu de paillettes dans sa vie".

Laurent Larivière / Réalisateur

Stills
Stills
Stills
Stills
Stills

1/5