Feed

Type

Course

Know-how

Years

2006 2022
ON 2040 - MASTER TYPE DESIGN

TYPE DESIGN

ON 2040 - MASTER TYPE DESIGN

Collaboration with Larissa Kasper

Following a collaboration with the Swiss avant-garde brand On, ECAL is proud to present the interdisciplinary work carried out jointly by the 2nd year students of the Product Design, Photography and Type Design Masters.

Raphaël Carruzzo – Remote

GRAPHIC DESIGN

Raphaël Carruzzo – Remote

Diploma project by Raphaël Carruzzo

Remote is a variable typeface born from a desire to recreate the link between movement and letters. Inspired by the body and choreographic notation, this typeface was designed for digital media. It helps interact with graphic content thanks to movement. Faced with an animated body, Remote interacts and transforms the typographic forms by following variations of movement. Passing easily from text to abstract typography, this variable font helps link movement and typographic compositions, thanks to a multitude of possible instances.

Hugo Le Corre – Relativ

GRAPHIC DESIGN

Hugo Le Corre – Relativ

Diploma project by Hugo Le Corre

Are legibility and expressiveness incompatible terms in typography? Anchored in a context of digitalisation of communication media, Relativ is a typeface that questions the notion of distance in reading. Associated with an AI algorithm, this variable font adapts itself through an axis covering two extremes: from continuous reading to monumental titling, from micro to macro-typographic. Thus, this system automatically favours legibility and expressiveness, taking into account the reader’s distance. In a context where screens tend to replace printed media, Relativ opens new perspectives between typography, adaptive technologies and digital communication.

Marion Marquet – Moving from Trisha

GRAPHIC DESIGN

Marion Marquet – Moving from Trisha

Diploma project by Marion Marquet

Like a typeface, Moving from Trisha offers a repertoire of ten choreographic signs generated based on an adaptation of Trisha Brown’s Glacial Decoy. The dancer’s movements serve as a support for the drawings of the characters. The vertical depth of the movements defines the thickness of the lines. These signs draw the trajectory of one of the dancers’ hands seen from above. Their feet are physically located in the centre of each sign, free to be interpreted according to a desired orientation and by the desired hand. The repertoire, which can be constantly developed, constitutes a methodology. A two-dimensional choreographic notation system and creates an applicable link to a three-dimensional performative interpretation.

Type specimen

GRAPHIC DESIGN

Type specimen

Studio project with Aurèle Sack

Type design displayed on a specimen.

Type Specimen

GRAPHIC DESIGN

Type Specimen

Studio project with Robert Huber

Type design displayed on a specimen.

Type specimen

GRAPHIC DESIGN

Type specimen

Studio project with Aurèle Sack

Emma Chapuis – Typeswing

GRAPHIC DESIGN

Emma Chapuis – Typeswing

Diploma project by Emma Chapuis

This project offers a typographic approach to express emotions in digital communication.

Type specimen

GRAPHIC DESIGN

Type specimen

Studio project with Aurèle Sack

Type design displayed on a specimen.

Type specimen

GRAPHIC DESIGN

Type specimen

Studio project with Aurèle Sack

Type specimen

GRAPHIC DESIGN

Type specimen

Studio project with Robert Huber

Type design displayed on a specimen.

Type specimen

GRAPHIC DESIGN

Type specimen

Studio project with Aurèle Sack

Type design displayed on a specimen.

Marvin Armand – Bibliothèque

GRAPHIC DESIGN

Marvin Armand – Bibliothèque

Diploma project with Gilles Gavillet, Nicole Udry

“Bibliothèque” addresses typographical signs and their use in the perfume industry. This project features an olfactory alphabet of 45 elements. Each represents a scent of the perfume company “L’Eau de Cassis”. At the crossroads of illustration and typography, this alphabet takes us on a journey through the ephemeral nature of smells. Indeed, this notion of time and temporality inspired me to define a protocol to develop the nature of each sign from figuration to abstraction. “Bibliothèque” thus offers a new way of exploring signs and visual identity.

Arthur Seguin – Vers

GRAPHIC DESIGN

Arthur Seguin – Vers

Diploma project with Diego Bontognali, Nicole Udry

“Vers” is a socially and politically-committed newspaper that addresses eco-socialism, a movement that aspires to change consumerist and productivist mentalities by strengthening human relationships. This newspaper/manifesto aims to simplify and make more accessible the ideas of Michael Lowe, the movement’s main instigator. The deliberately hectic graphic design serves the voice of the people and fuels the debate between the philosophies of the current system and eco-socialist suggestions. The journal thus intends to question and encourage readers to react…

Niki Paltenghi – CSX369

GRAPHIC DESIGN

Niki Paltenghi – CSX369

Diploma project with Gilles Gavillet, Jonathan Hares

“CSX369” features research on the potential of variable fonts in the ASCII technique. A technical quality is identified – that of precise quantification between two instances – and used for colour mixing through typography. Letters are tripled in the same position and each one has a primary colour. Their interspersed variations create secondary, tertiary, etc. hues. The system is implemented with an image processing tool. The research is presented with a specimen and some posters. Prix de l’ECAL

Alexandre Lescieux – Rohny

GRAPHIC DESIGN

Alexandre Lescieux – Rohny

Diploma project with Aurèle Sack, Nicole Udry

Rohny is back & horny! Attractive, spiky yet smooth. Genuine stunner. 16 styles. Geared 4 action. Skinny 2 xtra large. L B R M SBL BL EBL & BLK. Can be tilted. 500 glyphs/style. Well-equipped. Non-binary, chat on paper & screen. Versatile and Latin. Connoisseurs only. Take me anywhere. Soon ready in xtreme & low contrast. Born in the USA. Previous location: 606–614 Sansom Street, Philadelphia. For an experience you won’t forget. Contact me at rohny20@icloud.com for a good deal.

Arnaud Claret – La librairie magique

GRAPHIC DESIGN

Arnaud Claret – La librairie magique

Diploma project with Diego Bontognali, Aurèle Sack

Mention Excellent “La librairie magique” features an optimised reading experience for dyslexic children thanks to a website. The project offers modular personalisation of the texts using the “Dyslexia Variable” font as well as many specific functions to meet their needs. In order to provide ideal reading comfort, the site enables users to adjust the form, the differentiation of letters between them and the layout of the texts. It opens up a new path to provide these children with better access to reading and to help them enjoy it.

Typography Design

GRAPHIC DESIGN

Typography Design

Studio project with Aurèle Sack

Typography Design

GRAPHIC DESIGN

Typography Design

Studio project with Aurèle Sack

Drawing Machines

MEDIA & INTERACTION DESIGN

Drawing Machines

Studio project with Daniël Maarleveld

Drawing Machines - Projects centered around the design of machines capable of producing generative drawings. Workshop given to the 2nd year class in Media & Interaction Design by Daniël Maarleveld. Workshop assisted by Callum Ross et Pietro Alberti.

Jules Boulaert – Mundaka

GRAPHIC DESIGN

Jules Boulaert – Mundaka

Diploma project with Jonathan Hares, Aurèle Sack

Mundaka is a family of fonts inspired by the expressive and vernacular forms of  Basque fonts. Originating from a pre-Antiquity language that remains the last living isolate and the oldest language in Western Europe, Basque typography embodies the local identity. Halfway between regionalism and global openness, Mundaka questions the notion of heritage and its cultural propagation in a globalised era. I found it very motivating to work in this cultural context and to get to grips with  these specific fonts; this experience has given me ideas for the future.

David Massara – Ripley

GRAPHIC DESIGN

David Massara – Ripley

Diploma project with Guy Meldem, Aurèle Sack

Ripley considers how to optimize legibility in an on-screen environment; the idea  is to transpose the legibility rules of body text from print to new media. This typeface is a toolbox that combines a multitude of axes to provide the reader  with ideal reading comfort. Furthermore, the font itself is programmed to respond to light sources. It adapts to ambient surrounding light changes throughout the day, increasing readability, in order to protect the reader from eye strain. This project confirmed my ambition to continue my career in the fi eld of typography.

Giseigo

MEDIA & INTERACTION DESIGN

Giseigo

Studio project with Gaël Hugo

Project developed as part of the Network Related Design course led by Gaël Hugo.

Type Design

GRAPHIC DESIGN

Type Design

Type Design

GRAPHIC DESIGN

Type Design

Studio project with Aurèle Sack

Sylvan Lanz – Voicewriter

GRAPHIC DESIGN

Sylvan Lanz – Voicewriter

Diploma project by Sylvan Lanz

Voicewriter: Typographic speech visualization tool using a voice-recognition software Voicewriter is a project about the visualization of speech through the written language and its typographic dimensions. It consists of an interactive web tool coupled with a specifically developed scalable typeface. Thanks to voice recognition, this tool creates typographical compositions according to voice variations in intonation, rhythm and pitch.

Type specimen

GRAPHIC DESIGN

Type specimen

Type design displayed on a specimen. Second year course supervised by Aurèle Sack.

Time is Form, Form is Time

GRAPHIC DESIGN

Time is Form, Form is Time

Workshop with Mitch Paone (Dia Studio)

Type Specimen

GRAPHIC DESIGN

Type Specimen

Studio project with Aurèle Sack

Type design displayed on a specimen. Second year course supervised by Aurèle Sack.

Audio Reactive

MEDIA & INTERACTION DESIGN

Audio Reactive

Other with Gaël Hugo

Series of audio reactive projects developed for the visual identity of the French Pavilion “Studio Venezia” by Xavier Veilhan at the Biennale di Venezia. Instagram posts were produced based on these experiments. Curators : Lionel Bovier and Christian Marclay Graphic Design : Gavillet Cie

Error is Human

MEDIA & INTERACTION DESIGN

Error is Human

Collaboration with Alain Bellet, Cyril Diagne

"Error is human and to blame it on a robot is even more so" Mixed media installation with Thymio robots (EPFL/Mobsya), commissioned by Vitra Design Museum. Presented until 14 May in the exhibition Hello, Robot. at the Vitra Design Museum: design-museum.de/en/exhibitions/detailpages/hello-robot-design-between-human-and-machine.html Students: Luca Kasper, Mathieu Palauqui Tutors: Alain Bellet, Cyril Diagne Assistant: Laura Perrenoud

Nicolas Nahornyj – Lazy Pen

MEDIA & INTERACTION DESIGN

Nicolas Nahornyj – Lazy Pen

Diploma project with Alain Bellet, Cyril Diagne, Christophe Guignard, Gaël Hugo

After receiving a dozen handwritten letters from my grandmother, I finally decided to answer them. I wanted to combine the practical side of computer-based word processing and the emotional aspect of one's handwriting. This tool allows the user to distort the typeface as they write, using the moving palettes placed beneath their palms. The goal is to be able to produce one's own typography in real time, thus offering a more personal touch.

Thymio meets ECAL

MEDIA & INTERACTION DESIGN

Thymio meets ECAL

Workshop with Alain Bellet

During a one week workshop students were asked to develop projects using the Thymio robot. 50 Robots were available. The week began with an introduction to Thymio and its secrets by Prof. Francesco Mondada from EPFL. Students worked then in group with the task to make Thymio(s) write a word, all those words was then put together to form a sentences that you can discover in this movie. Thymio is an affordable educational robot. It provides three main features: a large number of sensors and actuators, an educative interactivity based on light and touch and a programming environment featuring graphical and text programming. Thymio Robot has been developed in a collaboration between the Ecole Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne (EPFL) and the Ecole Cantonale d'Art de Lausanne (ECAL).

Who is the Plotter

MEDIA & INTERACTION DESIGN

Who is the Plotter

Workshop with Alain Bellet, Angelo Benedetto

Reactive Type

MEDIA & INTERACTION DESIGN

Reactive Type

Studio project with Gaël Hugo

Filter

Feed

Type

Formation

Savoir-faire

Années

2006 2022
Beyond the screen

MEDIA & INTERACTION DESIGN

Beyond the screen

Workshop avec Angelo Benedetto, Martial Grin

Beyond the screen - est une série de machines interactives développées par les étudiant.x.e.s en 1e année Bachelor Media & Interaction Design de l’ECAL. Ces systèmes sont inspirés du rapport entre instructions et exécution au sein d’un système informatique. Ces machines créent du texte  au travers d'un système typographique modulaire.

ON 2040 - MASTER TYPE DESIGN

TYPE DESIGN

ON 2040 - MASTER TYPE DESIGN

Collaboration avec Larissa Kasper

Dans le cadre d’une collaboration avec la marque avant-gardiste suisse On, l’ECAL est fière de présenter le travail interdisciplinaire réalisé conjointement par les étudiant·e·s de 2e année des Masters Design de produit, Photographie et Type Design.

Hugo Le Corre – Relativ

DESIGN GRAPHIQUE

Hugo Le Corre – Relativ

Projet de diplôme par Hugo Le Corre

Lisibilité et expressivité sont-ils deux termes incompatibles en typographie ? S’ancrant dans un contexte de digitalisation des supports de communication, Relativ est une police de caractères interrogeant la notion de distance dans la lecture. Associée à un algorithme d’intelligence artificielle, cette police variable s’adapte à travers un axe parcourant deux extrêmes ; de la lecture continue au titrage monumental, du micro au macro-typographique. Ce système privilégie ainsi de manière automatique lisibilité et expressivité compte tenu de la distance du lecteur. Dans un contexte où les écrans tendent à remplacer les supports imprimés, Relativ ouvre de nouvelles perspectives entre typographie, technologies adaptatives et communication digitale.

Raphaël Carruzzo – Remote

DESIGN GRAPHIQUE

Raphaël Carruzzo – Remote

Projet de diplôme par Raphaël Carruzzo

Remote est une typographie variable née de la volonté de recréer le lien entre le mouvement et la lettre. Inspirée du corps et de la notation chorégraphique, cette police de caractères a été pensée pour les supports numériques. Elle permet d’interagir sur le contenu graphique grâce au mouvement. Face à un corps animé, Remote interagit et transforme les formes typographiques en suivant les variations de mouvement. Passant aisément d’une typographie de texte à une typographie abstraite, cette police variable permet, grâce à une multitude d’instances possibles, de lier mouvement et compositions typographique.

Marion Marquet – Moving from Trisha

DESIGN GRAPHIQUE

Marion Marquet – Moving from Trisha

Projet de diplôme par Marion Marquet

Moving from Trisha propose, à l’image d’une police de caractères un répertoire de 10 signes chorégraphiques générés sur la base d’une adaptation de la pièce Glacial Decoy de Trisha Brown. Les mouvements de l’interprète servent d’appui aux dessins des caractères. La profondeur verticale des gestes définit l’épaisseur des traits. Ces signes dessinent la trajectoire d’une des mains des danseuses vue du dessus. Leurs pieds se situent physiquement au centre de chaque signe, libre d’être interprété selon une orientation voulue et par la main souhaitée. Le répertoire pouvant être constamment développé constitue une méthodologie. Un système de notation chorégraphique bidimensionnel et créé un lien applicable vers une interprétation tridimensionnelle performative.

Type specimen

DESIGN GRAPHIQUE

Type specimen

Projet d’atelier avec Aurèle Sack

Création d'une police de caractère et présentation sous forme d'un spécimen.

Type Specimen

DESIGN GRAPHIQUE

Type Specimen

Projet d’atelier avec Robert Huber

Création d'une police de caractère et présentation sous forme d'un spécimen.

Type specimen

DESIGN GRAPHIQUE

Type specimen

Projet d’atelier avec Aurèle Sack

Emma Chapuis – Typeswing

DESIGN GRAPHIQUE

Emma Chapuis – Typeswing

Projet de diplôme par Emma Chapuis

Ce projet propose une approche typographique pour la transmission de sentiments dans la communication digitale.

Type specimen

DESIGN GRAPHIQUE

Type specimen

Projet d’atelier avec Aurèle Sack

Création d'une police de caractère et présentation sous forme d'un spécimen.

Type specimen

DESIGN GRAPHIQUE

Type specimen

Projet d’atelier avec Aurèle Sack

From Screen to Paper Abecedarium

MEDIA & INTERACTION DESIGN

From Screen to Paper Abecedarium

Workshop avec Jessica In, Paul Noël, Clio Hadjigeorgiou

<meta charset="UTF-8"> Un workshop d’une semaine à distance avec Jessica In où les étudiant·e·s de 1ère année Media & Interaction Design et Design Graphique ont travaillé ensemble sur le lien entre contenu écran et imprimé. Durant cette semaine, les étudiant·e·s ont effectué des recherches formelles dans Processing afin de réaliser un abécédaire, ensuite imprimé à l'aide d'un plotter axidraw.

Type specimen

DESIGN GRAPHIQUE

Type specimen

Projet d’atelier avec Robert Huber

Création d'une police de caractère et présentation sous forme d'un spécimen.

Type specimen

DESIGN GRAPHIQUE

Type specimen

Projet d’atelier avec Aurèle Sack

Création d'une police de caractère et présentation sous forme d'un spécimen.

Marvin Armand – Bibliothèque

DESIGN GRAPHIQUE

Marvin Armand – Bibliothèque

Projet de diplôme avec Gilles Gavillet, Nicole Udry

« Bibliothèque » est un questionnement sur les signes typographiques et leur utilisation dans la parfumerie. Ce projet propose un alphabet olfactif de 45 éléments. Chacun d’entre eux représente un parfum de la maison « L’Eau de Cassis ». Entre illustration et typographie, cet alphabet nous fait voyager à travers l’éphémérité des odeurs. En effet, cette notion de temps et de temporalité m’a inspiré à définir un protocole pour construire la nature de chaque signe allant de la figuration à l’abstraction. « Bibliothèque » propose ainsi une nouvelle façon d’explorer l’identité visuelle aujourd’hui.

Niki Paltenghi – CSX369

DESIGN GRAPHIQUE

Niki Paltenghi – CSX369

Projet de diplôme avec Gilles Gavillet, Jonathan Hares

« CSX369 » est une recherche sur le potentiel des variable fonts dans la technique ASCII. Une qualité technique est identifiée – celle de la quantification précise entre deux instances – et utilisée pour le mélange des couleurs par la typographie. Les lettres sont triplées sur la même position et chacune a une couleur primaire. Leurs variations intercalées créent des teintes secondaires, tertiaires, etc. Le système est mis en œuvre avec un outil de traitement d’images. La recherche est présentée avec un spécimen et des affiches. Prix de l’ECAL

Arthur Seguin – Vers

DESIGN GRAPHIQUE

Arthur Seguin – Vers

Projet de diplôme avec Diego Bontognali, Nicole Udry

« Vers » est un journal engagé qui questionne l’éco-socialisme : un mouvement qui aspire à changer les mentalités consuméristes et productivistes à travers le renforcement des rapports humains. Ce journal-manifeste a pour ambition de simplifier et rendre plus accessibles les idées de Michael Lowe, l’initiateur principal du mouvement. Le graphisme, volontairement agité, sert la parole citoyenne et nourrit un débat entre les pensées du système actuel et les propositions faites par l’éco-socialisme. Ce journal devient une invitation à l’interrogation et nous incite à réagir…

Alexandre Lescieux – Rohny

DESIGN GRAPHIQUE

Alexandre Lescieux – Rohny

Projet de diplôme avec Aurèle Sack, Nicole Udry

Rohny est de retour ! Chaude, séduisante, piquante & douce. Belles formes. 16 styles prêts. Fine voire brutale. L B R M SBL BL EBL & BLK. Fun en diagonale possible. T’offre 500 glyphes/style. Latine versatile. Prends-moi partout. Papier & écran. Belle affaire. Uniquement pour les connaisseurs. Bientôt en contraste extrême et faible contraste. Maintenant au 5 Av. du Temple CH-1020. Nouvelle adresse : rohny20@icloud.com

Arnaud Claret – La librairie magique

DESIGN GRAPHIQUE

Arnaud Claret – La librairie magique

Projet de diplôme avec Diego Bontognali, Aurèle Sack

Mention Excellent « La librairie magique » offre une optimisation de la lecture pour les enfants dyslexiques à l’aide d’un site internet. Ce projet propose une personnalisation modulable des textes en utilisant la police de caractère « Dyslexia Variable » ainsi que de nombreuses fonctions spécifiques pour répondre à leurs besoins. Afin d’offrir un confort de lecture idéal, ce site permet d’agir sur la forme, la différenciation des lettres entre elles et la mise en page des textes. Il propose une nouvelle voie pour permettre à ces enfants un meilleur accès à la lecture et leur donner envie de lire.

Design typographique

DESIGN GRAPHIQUE

Design typographique

Projet d’atelier avec Aurèle Sack

Design typographique

DESIGN GRAPHIQUE

Design typographique

Projet d’atelier avec Aurèle Sack

Drawing Machines

MEDIA & INTERACTION DESIGN

Drawing Machines

Projet d’atelier avec Daniël Maarleveld

Drawing Machines - Projets axés sur la conception de machines capables de produire des dessins de façon générative. Semaine bloc donnée à la classe de 2ème année en Media & Interaction Design par Daniël Maarleveld. Workshop assisté par Callum Ross et Pietro Alberti.

Jules Boulaert – Mundaka

DESIGN GRAPHIQUE

Jules Boulaert – Mundaka

Projet de diplôme avec Jonathan Hares, Aurèle Sack

Mundaka est une famille de polices inspirée des formes expressives et vernaculaires  des polices basques. Originaire d’une langue pré-antique, qui reste le dernier isolat  vivant et la plus ancienne langue d’Europe occidentale, la typographie basque porte  une identité symbolique dans la région. A mi-chemin entre régionalisme et ouverture  sur le monde, Mundaka questionne la notion de patrimoine et sa propagation culturelle à  l’ère de la mondialisation. Travailler dans ce contexte culturel et me confronter à ces formes bien spécifiques  a été très motivant et suscite déjà des envies futures.

David Massara – Ripley

DESIGN GRAPHIQUE

David Massara – Ripley

Projet de diplôme avec Guy Meldem, Aurèle Sack

Ripley est une interrogation sur l’optimisation de la lisibilité à l’écran, qui développe  l’idée de la transposition des règles de lisibilité de la page imprimée aux nouveaux médias. Cette police de caractères combine une multitude d’axes permettant de choisir un  confort de lecture idéal. Par ailleurs, la police est programmée pour répondre directement  aux sources lumineuses, s’adaptant aux changements de lumière ambiante pour éviter la  fatigue oculaire du lecteur, en produisant une lisibilité optimale tout au long de la journée. Ce projet a confirmé ma volonté de poursuivre ma carrière dans le domaine de la  typographie.

Giseigo

MEDIA & INTERACTION DESIGN

Giseigo

Projet d’atelier avec Gaël Hugo

Projet développé dans le cadre du cours Network Related Design donné par Gaël Hugo.

Design typographique

DESIGN GRAPHIQUE

Design typographique

Design typographique

DESIGN GRAPHIQUE

Design typographique

Projet d’atelier avec Aurèle Sack

Sylvan Lanz – Voicewriter

DESIGN GRAPHIQUE

Sylvan Lanz – Voicewriter

Projet de diplôme par Sylvan Lanz

Voicewriter: Outil de visualisation typographique par reconnaissance vocale Voicewriter est un projet qui traite de la visualisation de la parole au travers du langage écrit et de ses dimensions typographiques. Il consiste en un outil interactif web fonctionnant de pair avec une police variable développée spécifiquement pour ce projet. Grâce à la reconnaissance vocale, cet outil crée des compositions typographiques qui suivent les variations d’intonation, de rythme ou de hauteur de la voix.

Type specimen

DESIGN GRAPHIQUE

Type specimen

Création d'une police de caractère et présentation sous forme d'un spécimen Cours de deuxième année suivi par Aurèle Sack.

Time is Form, Form is Time

DESIGN GRAPHIQUE

Time is Form, Form is Time

Workshop avec Mitch Paone (Dia Studio)

Type Specimen

DESIGN GRAPHIQUE

Type Specimen

Projet d’atelier avec Aurèle Sack

Création d'une police de caractère et présentation sous forme d'un spécimen Cours de deuxième année suivi par Aurèle Sack.

Audio Reactive

MEDIA & INTERACTION DESIGN

Audio Reactive

Autre avec Gaël Hugo

Série de projets réactifs au son développés pour l'identité visuelle du Pavillon français "Studio Venezia" par Xavier Veilhan à la Biennale de Venise. Des postes Instagram ont été produits à partir de ces expériences. Curation : Lionel Bovier et Christian Marclay Graphic Design : Gavillet Cie

Error is Human

MEDIA & INTERACTION DESIGN

Error is Human

Collaboration avec Alain Bellet, Cyril Diagne

"Error is human and to blame it on a robot is even more so" Installation mixte, robots Thymio (EPFL/Mobsya), commissioné par le Vitra Design Museum. Présentée jusqu'au 14 mai au sein de l'exposition «Hello, Robot» au Vitra Design Museum: design-museum.de/en/exhibitions/detailpages/hello-robot-design-between-human-and-machine.html Etudiants : Luca Kasper, Mathieu Palauqui Tuteurs : Alain Bellet, Cyril Diagne Assistant : Laura Perrenoud

Nicolas Nahornyj – Lazy Pen

MEDIA & INTERACTION DESIGN

Nicolas Nahornyj – Lazy Pen

Projet de diplôme avec Alain Bellet, Cyril Diagne, Christophe Guignard, Gaël Hugo

Après réception de plus d’une dizaine de lettres manuscrites de ma grand-mère, j’ai finalement décidé d’y répondre. J’ai voulu allier le côté pratique d’une rédaction par ordinateur et l'aspect émotionnel d'une écriture manuscrite. Cet outil permet de modifier le tracé des caractères tout en écrivant, grâce aux palettes disposées sous les paumes de l'utilisateur. Le but est de pouvoir produire sa propre typographie en temps réel afin de proposer une approche plus personnelle.

Thymio meets ECAL

MEDIA & INTERACTION DESIGN

Thymio meets ECAL

Workshop avec Alain Bellet

Pendant une semaine de workshop, les étudiants ont développé des projets en utilisant le robot Thymio. Pour cette occasion, 50 de ces robots ont été mis à disposition. La semaine a débuté avec une introduction à Thymio par le professeur Francesco Mondada de l’EPFL. Les étudiants ont ensuite travaillé en groupe afin de faire écrire à Thymio un mot. Tous ces mots ont ensuite été mis à la suite afin de former une phrase à découvrir dans la vidéo du projet. Thymio est un robot éducatif abordable. Il fournit trois fonctions principales : un grand nombre de capteurs et actionneurs, une interactivité éducative basée sur la lumière et le toucher ainsi qu' un environnement de programmation de graphismede texte. Le robot Thymio a été développé en collaboration entre l’Ecole Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne (EPFL) et de l’Ecole Cantonale d’Art de Lausanne (ECAL).

Who is the Plotter

MEDIA & INTERACTION DESIGN

Who is the Plotter

Workshop avec Alain Bellet, Angelo Benedetto

Reactive Type

MEDIA & INTERACTION DESIGN

Reactive Type

Projet d’atelier avec Gaël Hugo

Filtrer