Cotonov Vanished

Cotonov Vanished

A way of approaching the exercise of portrait, Cotonov Vanished returns to the dazzling career of a young and brilliant Russian interpreter embarked in the Cold War who, one day, mysteriously disappeared...

Studio project (2009) by Andreas Fontana

Professors
Jean-Louis Comolli, José Michel Bühler, Claudio Pazienza
Know-how
documentary

Documentary

Synopsis

A way of approaching the exercise of portraiture, Cotonov Vanished returns to the dazzling career of a young and brilliant Russian interpreter embarked in the Cold War who, one day, mysteriously disappeared. To tell his story, one of his former teachers and colleagues, now retired, lends himself to the game of interview. With, in counter-field, a young woman who translates his words, a posteriori and in a booth. Starting from these visible devices, Andreas Fontana prefers the path of evocation and mise en abyme to the path of investigation. Here, no biographical retracement, but some facts and intuitions transmitted by the old man to which archives respond. Images through which a world where the USA and the USSR confront each other and the silhouette, absent or out of frame, of Cotonov, an anonymous young man with a crucial role to play: to ensure communication between the enemy heads of state.

Comment

After the Loterie Romande Prize "First steps" at the Festival Visions du Réel - Nyon and the Best Screenplay Prize at the 10th Festival du Film Court Francophone de Vaulx-en-Velin, Cotonov Vanished continues its brilliant international career with a third award, the Best Short Film Prize, given by one of the most prestigious festivals in Italy, the Festival dei Popoli. Andreas Fontana's short film was praised by the jury with this comment: "If someone living on Mars watched this short film he would understand the Earth much better."

Festivals and awards

2011

2010

2009

Cotonov Vanished

Cotonov Vanished

Manière d’aborder en creux l’exercice du portrait, Cotonov Vanished revient sur la carrière fulgurante d’un jeune et brillant interprète russe embarqué dans la guerre froide qui, un jour, disparut mystérieusement...

Projet d’atelier (2009) par Andreas Fontana

Professeur·e·s
Jean-Louis Comolli, José Michel Bühler, Claudio Pazienza
Savoir-faire
documentaire

Documentaire

Synopsis

Manière d’aborder en creux l’exercice du portrait, Cotonov Vanished revient sur la carrière fulgurante d’un jeune et brillant interprète russe embarqué dans la guerre froide qui, un jour, disparut mystérieusement. Pour raconter son histoire, un de ses anciens professeurs et collègues, aujourd’hui à la retraite, se prête au jeu de l’entretien. Avec, en contrechamp, une jeune femme qui traduit ses propos, a posteriori et en cabine. Partant de ces dispositifs visibles, Andreas Fontana préfère à la voie de l’enquête celle de l’évocation et de la mise en abyme. Ici, pas de retracement biographique, mais quelques faits et intuitions transmis par le vieil homme auxquels répondent des archives. Des images à travers lesquelles se dessinent un monde où s’affrontent les USA et l’URSS et la silhouette, absente ou hors cadre, de Cotonov, jeune homme anonyme au rôle cependant crucial : assurer la communication entre les chefs d’Etat ennemis.

Commentaire

Après le Prix de la Loterie Romande « First steps » au Festival Visions du Réel – Nyon et le Prix du meilleur scénario au 10ème Festival du Film Court Francophone de Vaulx-en-Velin, Cotonov Vanished poursuit son brillant parcours international avec une troisième récompense, le Prix du Meilleur Court métrage, décerné par l’un des festivals les plus prestigieux en Italie, le Festival dei Popoli. Le court-métrage d’Andreas Fontana a été salué par le jury par ce commentaire : « If someone living on Mars watched this short film he would understand the Earth much better. »

Festivals et prix

2011

2010

2009