Summer University Finland — ECAL toys with ARTEK

Summer University Finland — ECAL toys with ARTEK

Teaming up with iconic Finnish furniture company Artek, Bachelor Industrial Design students, under the guidance of designer Julie Richoz, present a collection of playful objects for children made from salvaged b-quality, rejected and half- finished materials and offcuts. Staying true to the spirit of Artek and its founders, the products promote conscious manufacturing and seek to highlight the natural materials that have gone into producing these designs.

Studio project (2022) by Inès Aznar, Alicia Berclaz, Jessy Bueno, Mattia Cook, Léo Crespin, Charlotte Dubois, Sacha Dufour, Louise Dupont, Hugo Duport, Jade Eymann, Antony Gallay, Camila Hidalgo, Nicolas Honegger, Sam Lombardo, Robin Luginbühl, Julie Meyer, Aleksandra Nazarova, Sven Odermatt, Annick Persechini, Marco Renna, Tiziana Rocha da Silva, Aramis Rüdisühli, Cindy Sacher, Léonie Sammons, Shania Soares, Noah Watzlawick

Professors
Elie Fazel, Stephane Halmai-Voisard, Julie Richoz

The resulting collection made of up-cycled components features a modernist inspired dolls house, a convenient wagon to move toys and other things around, quirky plush toys in the form of fish and sea creatures, a minimalist sledge to enjoy the snowy Lapland winter, a hanging ladder to reach for the stars, mesmerising marble mazes, a tiny theatre for a spontaneous play with your best friends, and a handy clothes rack to help tidy up your children’s room after a busy day – to name just a few.

During our journey in Finland, students were able to visit multiple manufacturers, craftsmen, designers and cultural landmarks such as: Fiskars scissors factory, Artek main wooded furniture factory, Iittala glassblowing plant, up and coming Vaarnii founder, and several historical buildings from famous architect and designer Alvar Aalto, including his house and studio, to name only a few.

In partnership with the iconic finish design brand Artek and the Fiskars Village Art & Design Biennale, the students discovered the bountiful nature that inspires and nurtures Finnish industry and craftsmanship, one of the pillars of contemporary Scandinavian design. 

This project was made possible with the kind support of the Summer University programme of the Board of Higher Education (DGES) – State of Vaud.

Mattia Cook - MIELIKKI - Image by ECAL/Jasmine Deporta
Inès Aznar - RICOCHETS - Image by ECAL/Jasmine Deporta
Antony Gallay - KÄRRY - Image by ECAL/Jasmine Deporta
Léo Crespin - CALICO - Image by ECAL/Jasmine Deporta
Shania Soares - L-BIKE - Image by ECAL/Jasmine Deporta
Sam Lombardo - CARRIOLA- Image by ECAL/Jasmine Deporta

1/6

Bruno Pauli Caldas - SPARK - Image by ECAL/Jasmine Deporta
Léonie Sammons - NÄYTÄ - Image by ECAL/Jasmine Deporta
Julie Meyer - TILA - Image by ECAL/Jasmine Deporta
Hugo Duport - ARVOITUS - Image by ECAL/Jasmine Deporta
Tiziana Rocha da Silva - MY TINY HOUSE - Image by ECAL/Jasmine Deporta
Annick Persechini - SOARING - Image by ECAL/Jasmine Deporta

1/6

Noah Watzlawick - PAKKO - Image by ECAL/Jasmine Deporta
Aleksandra Nazarova - PIKNIKKI - Image by ECAL/Jasmine Deporta
Charlotte Dubois - LLL - Image by ECAL/Jasmine Deporta
Marco Renna - WHEELING - Image by ECAL/Jasmine Deporta
Jade Eymann - KOTI - Image by ECAL/Jasmine Deporta
Alicia Berclaz - SENSE BAIT - Image by ECAL/Jasmine Deporta

1/6

Fiskars Design Biennale - Image by ECAL/Jasmine Deporta
Fiskars Design Biennale - Image by ECAL/Jasmine Deporta
Fiskars Design Biennale - Image by ECAL/Jasmine Deporta

1/3

Artek A-Factory - Image by ECAL/Jasmine Deporta
Artek A-Factory - Image by ECAL/Jasmine Deporta
Artek A-Factory - Image by ECAL/Jasmine Deporta

1/3

Artek 2ndCycle - Image by ECAL/Jasmine Deporta
Artek 2ndCycle - Image by ECAL/Jasmine Deporta

1/2

RELATED EVENTS

ECAL + MAU TOYS WITH ARTEK,04–20.02.2023,Artek Tokyo Store

EXHIBITIONS

ECAL + MAU TOYS WITH ARTEK,
04–20.02.2023,
Artek Tokyo Store

From February 4 to 20 2023, ECAL and Musashino Art University students present a selection of playful objects for children created in collaboration with the Finnish furniture company Artek. The exhibition will take place in the brand's store in Tokyo. Opening on February 3 at 7pm.

ECAL TOYS WITH ARTEK,09.01–04.02.2023,Artek Helsinki Store

EXHIBITIONS

ECAL TOYS WITH ARTEK,
09.01–04.02.2023,
Artek Helsinki Store

From January 9 to February 4, 2023, Bachelor of Industrial Design Bachelor students present a selection of playful objects for children created in collaboration with the Finnish furniture company Artek, and under the direction of the designer Julie Richoz. The exhibition will take place in the brand's store in Helsinki.

ECAL toys with Artek,22.05–04.09.2022,Fiskars Village Art & Design Biennale

EXHIBITIONS

ECAL toys with Artek,
22.05–04.09.2022,
Fiskars Village Art & Design Biennale

Teaming up with iconic Finnish furniture company Artek, Bachelor Industrial Design students from ECAL, under the guidance of designer Julie Richoz, present a collection of playful objects for children made from salvaged b-quality, rejected and half-finished materials and offcuts. Staying true to the spirit of Artek and its founders, the products promote conscious manufacturing and seek to highlight the natural materials that have gone into producing these designs. Presented at the Fiskars Village Art & Design Biennale – from 22 May to 4 September 2022 – at the Old Granary Building in Fiskars (Finland).

Summer University Finland — ECAL toys with ARTEK

Summer University Finland — ECAL toys with ARTEK

En collaboration avec le célèbre fabricant de meubles finlandais Artek, les étudiants en Bachelor design industriel, sous la direction de la designer Julie Richoz, présentent une collection d'objets ludiques pour enfants fabriqués à partir de pièces de qualité inférieure, rejetés ou semi-finis. Fidèles à l'esprit d'Artek et de ses fondateurs, les produits favorisent une fabrication responsable et cherchent à mettre en valeur les matériaux naturels qui ont servi à produire ces objets.

Projet d’atelier (2022) par Inès Aznar, Alicia Berclaz, Jessy Bueno, Mattia Cook, Léo Crespin, Charlotte Dubois, Sacha Dufour, Louise Dupont, Hugo Duport, Jade Eymann, Antony Gallay, Camila Hidalgo, Nicolas Honegger, Sam Lombardo, Robin Luginbühl, Julie Meyer, Aleksandra Nazarova, Sven Odermatt, Annick Persechini, Marco Renna, Tiziana Rocha da Silva, Aramis Rüdisühli, Cindy Sacher, Léonie Sammons, Shania Soares, Noah Watzlawick

Professeur·e·s
Elie Fazel, Stephane Halmai-Voisard, Julie Richoz

La collection qui en résulte, composée d'éléments surcyclés, comprend une maison de poupées d'inspiration moderniste, un chariot pratique pour déplacer ses jouets et autres objets, des peluches originales en forme de créatures marines, une luge minimaliste pour profiter des hivers enneigés de Laponie, une échelle suspendue pour atteindre les étoiles, des labyrinthes de billes hypnotisants, un petit théâtre pour une pièce de théâtre improvisée avec vos meilleurs amis et un portemanteau pratique pour aider à ranger la chambre des enfants après une journée animée, pour n'en citer que quelques-uns.

Au cours de ce séjour en Finlande, les élèves ont pu visiter de nombreux producteurs, artisans, designers et monuments culturels tels que l'usine de ciseaux Fiskars, l'usine principale de meubles en bois Artek, les ateliers de soufflage de verre Iittala, rencontrer le fondateur de l'entreprise émergente Vaarnii, et plusieurs bâtiments historiques du célèbre architecte et designer Alvar Aalto, dont sa maison et son studio.

En partenariat avec la marque iconique Artek et la Biennale Art & Design de Fiskars Village, les étudiants ont fait la découverte de la nature généreuse qui inspire et nourrit l'industrie et l'artisanat finlandais, l'un des piliers du design scandinave contemporain.

Ce projet a été rendu possible grâce à l'aimable soutien du programme 'Summer University' de la Direction Générale de l'Enseignement Supérieur (DGES) - Etat de Vaud.

Mattia Cook - MIELIKKI - Image by ECAL/Jasmine Deporta
Inès Aznar - RICOCHETS - Image by ECAL/Jasmine Deporta
Antony Gallay - KÄRRY - Image by ECAL/Jasmine Deporta
Léo Crespin - CALICO - Image by ECAL/Jasmine Deporta
Shania Soares - L-BIKE - Image by ECAL/Jasmine Deporta
Sam Lombardo - CARRIOLA- Image by ECAL/Jasmine Deporta

1/6

Bruno Pauli Caldas - SPARK - Image by ECAL/Jasmine Deporta
Léonie Sammons - NÄYTÄ - Image by ECAL/Jasmine Deporta
Julie Meyer - TILA - Image by ECAL/Jasmine Deporta
Hugo Duport - ARVOITUS - Image by ECAL/Jasmine Deporta
Tiziana Rocha da Silva - MY TINY HOUSE - Image by ECAL/Jasmine Deporta
Annick Persechini - SOARING - Image by ECAL/Jasmine Deporta

1/6

Noah Watzlawick - PAKKO - Image by ECAL/Jasmine Deporta
Aleksandra Nazarova - PIKNIKKI - Image by ECAL/Jasmine Deporta
Charlotte Dubois - LLL - Image by ECAL/Jasmine Deporta
Marco Renna - WHEELING - Image by ECAL/Jasmine Deporta
Jade Eymann - KOTI - Image by ECAL/Jasmine Deporta
Alicia Berclaz - SENSE BAIT - Image by ECAL/Jasmine Deporta

1/6

Fiskars Design Biennale - Image by ECAL/Jasmine Deporta
Fiskars Design Biennale - Image by ECAL/Jasmine Deporta
Fiskars Design Biennale - Image by ECAL/Jasmine Deporta

1/3

Artek A-Factory - Image by ECAL/Jasmine Deporta
Artek A-Factory - Image by ECAL/Jasmine Deporta
Artek A-Factory - Image by ECAL/Jasmine Deporta

1/3

Artek 2ndCycle - Image by ECAL/Jasmine Deporta
Artek 2ndCycle - Image by ECAL/Jasmine Deporta

1/2

ÉVÉNEMENTS LIÉS

ECAL + MAU TOYS WITH ARTEK,04–20.02.2023,Artek Tokyo Store

EXPOSITIONS

ECAL + MAU TOYS WITH ARTEK,
04–20.02.2023,
Artek Tokyo Store

Du 4 au 20 février 2023, les étudiant·e·s de l'ECAL et de l'Université d'art de Musashino présentent une sélection d’objets ludiques pour enfants créés en collaboration avec l’entreprise finlandaise de meubles Artek. L'exposition se tiendra dans le magasin de la marque à Tokyo. Vernissage le 3 février à 19h00.

ECAL TOYS WITH ARTEK,09.01–04.02.2023,Artek Helsinki Store

EXPOSITIONS

ECAL TOYS WITH ARTEK,
09.01–04.02.2023,
Artek Helsinki Store

Du 9 janvier au 4 février 2023, les étudiant·e·s en Bachelor Design Industriel présentent une sélection d’objets ludiques pour enfants créés en collaboration avec l’entreprise finlandaise de meubles Artek, et sous la direction de la designer Julie Richoz. L'exposition se tiendra dans le magasin de la marque à Helsinki.

ECAL toys with Artek,22.05–04.09.2022,Fiskars Village Art & Design Biennale

EXPOSITIONS

ECAL toys with Artek,
22.05–04.09.2022,
Fiskars Village Art & Design Biennale

En collaboration avec l'entreprise finlandaise de meubles Artek, les étudiant·e·s en Bachelor Design Industriel de l'ECAL, sous la direction de la designer Julie Richoz, présentent une collection d'objets ludiques pour enfants fabriqués à partir de matériaux et de chutes de qualité inférieure, rejetés et semi-finis. Fidèles à l'esprit d'Artek et de ses fondateurs, les produits favorisent une fabrication consciente et cherchent à mettre en valeur les matériaux naturels qui ont servi à produire ces créations. Présentée à Fiskars Village Art & Design Biennale - du 22 mai au 4 septembre 2022 - dans le Old Granary Building à Fiskars (Finlande).