Light Perception

Jonathan Boulenaz – Light Perception

Starting from the observation that technology evolves by putting more and more the visual in the foreground, especially via VR, I have chosen to play on the partial deprivation of this sense, to appeal to more primary instincts. The user is in the VR space where light is captured and redistributed to represent the sound, giving him brief insights into what surrounds him. He will therefore have to use his ability to mentally visualize a space in order to be able to evolve in the experience.

Diploma project (2019) by Jonathan Boulenaz

Professors
Alain Bellet, Christophe Guignard, Gaël Hugo, Pauline Saglio

Starting from the observation that technology evolves by putting more and more the visual in the foreground, especially via VR, I have chosen to play on the partial deprivation of this sense, to appeal to more primary instincts.

The user is in the VR space where light is captured and redistributed to represent the sound, giving him brief insights into what surrounds him. He will therefore have to use his ability to mentally visualize a space in order to be able to evolve in the experience.

jonathan_boulenaz_BAMID.jpg
Photo ECAL/Calypso Mahieu

Light Perception

Jonathan Boulenaz – Light Perception

Partant du constat que la technologie évolue en mettant de plus en plus le visuel au premier plan, notamment via la VR, j'ai choisi de jouer sur la privation partielle de ce sens, pour faire appel à des instincts plus primaires. L'utilisateur se trouve dans espace VR où la lumière est capturée et redistribuée pour représenter le son, lui donnant ainsi de brefs aperçus de ce qui l'entoure. Il devra donc faire appel à sa capacité à visualiser mentalement un espace pour pouvoir évoluer dans l'expérience.

Projet de diplôme (2019) par Jonathan Boulenaz

Professeur·e·s
Alain Bellet, Christophe Guignard, Gaël Hugo, Pauline Saglio

Partant du constat que la technologie évolue en mettant de plus en plus le visuel au premier plan, notamment via la VR, j'ai choisi de jouer sur la privation partielle de ce sens, pour faire appel à des instincts plus primaires.

L'utilisateur se trouve dans espace VR où la lumière est capturée et redistribuée pour représenter le son, lui donnant ainsi de brefs aperçus de ce qui l'entoure. Il devra donc faire appel à sa capacité à visualiser mentalement un espace pour pouvoir évoluer dans l'expérience.

jonathan_boulenaz_BAMID.jpg
Photo ECAL/Calypso Mahieu