Feed

Type

Course

Know-how

Years

2006 2022
Random?

MEDIA & INTERACTION DESIGN

Random?

Workshop with Andreas Gysin, Sébastien Matos

Random ? – Workshop with Andreas Gysin The students worked on the concept of randomness to generate a series of patterns and drawings.

Nathanaël Vianin – The Last Forest

MEDIA & INTERACTION DESIGN

Nathanaël Vianin – The Last Forest

Diploma project with Alain Bellet, Christophe Guignard, Gaël Hugo, Laura Nieder, Pauline Saglio

The Last Forest offers a browser-based walkable forest of spatialised information about collapse in general. Internet users are invited to wander through it and to find posts from the r/collapse reddit community in the form of trees. The categorisation and index provide a more structured browsing of the information contained in the trees. The Last Forest aims to raise awareness about climate change and its potential to end globalised, consumerist civilisation as we know it.

Raster Walker

MEDIA & INTERACTION DESIGN

Raster Walker

Workshop with Gaël Hugo

Content produced during a one week workshop led by Gaël Hugo, around experimenting with image rasterisation and particle systems. Projects by ECAL/Alicia Gantès, Mélanie Martin, Julie Turin.

MATHEMATICAL MUSIC

MEDIA & INTERACTION DESIGN

MATHEMATICAL MUSIC

Studio project with Gaël Hugo

Soundtoys coded by Emma Grosu, Isaïa Delaplace, Gary Sandoz, Viktor Gagné, 1st year Bachelor students in Media & Interaction Design as part of a semester project led by Gaël Hugo.

Transitions

MEDIA & INTERACTION DESIGN

Transitions

Workshop with Mario Von Rickenbach

Webtoys coded by 1st year Bachelor students in Media & Interaction Design as part of a week-long workshop given by Mario von Rickenbach.

Ultra Low Resolution

MEDIA & INTERACTION DESIGN

Ultra Low Resolution

Workshop with Andreas Gysin, Pierry Jaquillard

Ultra Low Resolution – A workshop led by Andreas Gysin

Circle Studies

MEDIA & INTERACTION DESIGN

Circle Studies

Workshop with Zach Lieberman, Sébastien Matos

Circle Studies - A week-long remote workshop taught by Zach Lieberman around daily sketching. The students all started with the same circle and found different ways to push and manipulate it. Workshop taught by Zach Lieberman, assisted by Sébastien Matos.

From Screen to Paper Abecedarium

MEDIA & INTERACTION DESIGN

From Screen to Paper Abecedarium

Workshop with Jessica In, Paul Noël, Clio Hadjigeorgiou

<meta charset="UTF-8"> Un workshop d’une semaine à distance avec Jessica In où les étudiant·e·s de 1ère année Media & Interaction Design et Design Graphique ont travaillé ensemble sur le lien entre contenu écran et imprimé. Durant cette semaine, les étudiant·e·s ont effectué des recherches formelles dans Processing afin de réaliser un abécédaire, ensuite imprimé à l'aide d'un plotter axidraw.

Collection

MEDIA & INTERACTION DESIGN

Collection

Studio project with Gaël Hugo

Interactive illustrations created around the theme of the collection. Selection of projects created during Creative Coding course with Gaël Hugo

TEXTMODE

MEDIA & INTERACTION DESIGN

TEXTMODE

Workshop with Andreas Gysin

Modes of display and use of text as creative material: raster, ASCII art, emoticons and poetry. Projects created in the first year Bachelor Media & Interaction workshop TEXTMODE given by Andreas Gysin. Workshop assisted by Paul Lëon.

Extra 2020

MEDIA & INTERACTION DESIGN

Extra 2020

Workshop with Cyril Diagne

A one week workshop with Cyril Diagne where students were asked to question the browser and its use, to change the experience of the web thanks to chrome extensions. Trace ECAL/Jamy Herrmann “TRACE” is a Chrome extension that lets you visualize your path through images on the web. An alternative to the classical browsing history and a simple project mixing graphic design and data visualization. History Bubble ECAL/Elodie Anglade “History Bubble”, a Chrome extension helping you visualize your browsing history on a day-to-day basis. Chrome Pollution ECAL/Jorge Reis “Chrome Pollution” allows you to see the invisible working with real time air quality data. iEye ECAL/Achille Masson “iEye” is the best add-on for your browser in this decade. Switch tabs, scroll down, interact with your browser… just with your face. This Chrome extension uses ml5.js for facetracking. Rekt Animation ECAL/Martial Grin “Website Animations suck” With the Chrome extension “Rekt Animation”, remove any pointless and invasive animation on any website.

Evan Kelly – Invisible Social Network

MEDIA & INTERACTION DESIGN

Evan Kelly – Invisible Social Network

Diploma project with Alain Bellet, Christophe Guignard, Gaël Hugo, Laura Nieder, Pauline Saglio

Mention Excellent Prix de l’ECAL “Invisible Social Network” is a portable device that makes the invisible and autonomous communications of machines perceptible and tangible. The way they interact with each other is akin to the modes of human communication, thus creating a real social network of machines. This device mediates between users and the machines around them. Via the screen it transmits fragments of its continuous and silent communications in the form of human social metaphors.

Satisfaction 2020

MEDIA & INTERACTION DESIGN

Satisfaction 2020

Workshop with Mario Von Rickenbach

Satisfying webtoys coded by 1st year Bachelor students in Media & Interaction Design as part of a week-long workshop given by Mario von Rickenbach.

TYPEMACHINES

MEDIA & INTERACTION DESIGN

TYPEMACHINES

Workshop

Exploration through the infinite possibilities of typographic expression, framed in a strict visual system. A one week workshop given by Tim Rodenbröker to the 2nd year Bachelor in Media & Interaction Design, assisted by Pietro Alberti.

Super Low Resolution

MEDIA & INTERACTION DESIGN

Super Low Resolution

Workshop with Andreas Gysin

For a week, the first year students of the Media & Interaction Design Bachelor were given the challenge of creating interesting experiences using a super low resolution. Project week led by Andreas Gysin and assisted by Callum Ross.

XY

MEDIA & INTERACTION DESIGN

XY

Workshop with Ted Davis

XY - Experiments around the graphical and interactive potential of oscilloscopes. One week workshop given by Ted Davis to the 1st year Bachelor in Media & Interaction Design. Workshop assisted by Sébastien Matos.

Extra 2019

MEDIA & INTERACTION DESIGN

Extra 2019

Workshop with Cyril Diagne

A one week workshop with Cyril Diagne where students were asked to question the browser and its use, to change the experience of the web thanks to chrome extensions.

Satisfaction 2019

MEDIA & INTERACTION DESIGN

Satisfaction 2019

Workshop with Mario Von Rickenbach

Satisfying webtoys coded by 1st year Bachelor students in Media & Interaction Design as part of a week-long workshop given by Mario von Rickenbach.

Infomesh

MEDIA & INTERACTION DESIGN

Infomesh

Collaboration with Vincent Jacquier, Pauline Saglio

Information Mesh is a web platform celebrating the 30th anniversary of the World Wide Web that explores social, technical, cultural and legal facts throughout different interactive timelines. It was initiated in October 2018 during a one week workshop in partnership with swissnex San Francisco, where students visited key partners and began developing the project.  The timelines present an overview of Web history, starting with the proposal for hypertext by Tim Berners-Lee at CERN in 1989, initially under the name "Information Mesh." From this start date, users can then explore 30 years of evolution. infomesh.org

Raster Walker

MEDIA & INTERACTION DESIGN

Raster Walker

Workshop with Gaël Hugo

Content produced during two one week workshops led by Gaël Hugo in 2018 and 2019, around experimenting with image rasterisation and particle systems. Projects by ECAL/Antony Demierre, Antoine Barras, Aurélien Pellegrini, Bastien Claessens, Basil Dénéréaz, Diane Thouvenin, Dorian Jovanovic, Evan Kelly, Guillaume Giraud, Ignacio Pérez, Ivan Chestopaloff, Kylan Luginbühl, Léonard Guyot, Maya Bellier, Malik Sobgoui, Michael Pica, Nora Fatehi, Paul Lëon, Paul Fritz, Sébastien Galera Larios, Valentine Leimgruber, Valerio Meschi and Yaël Sidler

Network Related Design

MEDIA & INTERACTION DESIGN

Network Related Design

Studio project with Gaël Hugo

Selectio of videogames produced in 2018 during a course about Network Related Design led by Gaël Hugo. Projects by ECAL/Pablo Bellon, Bastien Claessens, Evan Kelly and Aurélien Pellegrini

Satisfaction 2019

MEDIA & INTERACTION DESIGN

Satisfaction 2019

Workshop with Mario Von Rickenbach

Satisfying webtoys coded by 1st year Bachelor students in Media & Interaction Design as part of a week-long workshop given by Mario von Rickenbach.

Growth

MEDIA & INTERACTION DESIGN

Growth

Workshop with Nicolas Barradeau

Creative coding week with Nicolas Barradeau around the theme "Growth". More informations here

Timeline 125

MEDIA & INTERACTION DESIGN

Timeline 125

Collaboration with Angelo Benedetto, Cyril Diagne, Vincent Jacquier

Timeline 125 is an interactive timeline for the 125th anniversary of Ecole hôtelière de Lausanne. The project is developed in collaboration with 1st year students in BA Media & Interaction Design.

HHMMSS

MEDIA & INTERACTION DESIGN

HHMMSS

Studio project with Angelo Benedetto

Virtual clocks with no time markers, simple representations of time passing. Selection of projects created in the first year Bachelor Media & Interaction during the Dynamic Display course with Angelo Benedetto. Find all the interactive versions  here .

Moving Posters

MEDIA & INTERACTION DESIGN

Moving Posters

Workshop with Jürg Lehni

During this one week workshop led by Jürg Lehni, the students have explored and made experiments with the Paper.js framework. More projects here

Pietro Alberti – Beyond Fields

MEDIA & INTERACTION DESIGN

Pietro Alberti – Beyond Fields

Diploma project with Alain Bellet, Cyril Diagne, Christophe Guignard, Gaël Hugo

Beyond Fields is a plateform independent puzzle game composed of three chapters each inspired by the fundamental interactions of nature. Throughout the game the player pass through different levels during which he has the opportunity to interact with various graphical elements that will allow him to rebalance the force fields and to solve the level. Thanks to a system of filters, it is possible to travel through different representations of the game - graphical, analytical or mathematical - thus allowing the player to have a global vision of the forces that are exerted between the graphical elements. Play online

Satisfaction 2017

MEDIA & INTERACTION DESIGN

Satisfaction 2017

Workshop with Mario Von Rickenbach

Satisfying webtoys coded by 1st year Bachelor students in Media & Interaction Design as part of a week-long workshop given by Mario von Rickenbach. Every interactive versions here.

Audio Reactive

MEDIA & INTERACTION DESIGN

Audio Reactive

Other with Gaël Hugo

Series of audio reactive projects developed for the visual identity of the French Pavilion “Studio Venezia” by Xavier Veilhan at the Biennale di Venezia. Instagram posts were produced based on these experiments. Curators : Lionel Bovier and Christian Marclay Graphic Design : Gavillet Cie

Swiss Data

MEDIA & INTERACTION DESIGN

Swiss Data

Collaboration with Cyril Diagne, Vincent Jacquier

A series of interactive data-visualizations around swiss culture and the swissnex activity. Designed by Bachelor Media & Interaction Design students of ECAL/University of Art and Design Lausanne, the projects were initiated during a one-week trip to San Francisco in March 2016. They present a novel and entertaining way to display various data. Commissioned by swissnex San Francisco.

Romain Cazier – Rec All

MEDIA & INTERACTION DESIGN

Romain Cazier – Rec All

Diploma project with Alain Bellet, Cyril Diagne, Christophe Guignard, Gaël Hugo

This project is a personal interpretation of the geometrical puzzle game, widely popular on mobile. Taking some of this genre’s features, I also wanted to stand out and propose a singular universe, where strange creatures with a cyclic behaviour are generated from a simple gesture. It is composed of two parts: an “arcade” mode with different levels the player must resolve, and a “sandbox” mode where he can generate creatures at will. Rec All is the continuation of playful and technical experimentations I initiated at ECAL.

Bastien Girschig – Wimbi

MEDIA & INTERACTION DESIGN

Bastien Girschig – Wimbi

Diploma project with Alain Bellet, Cyril Diagne, Christophe Guignard, Gaël Hugo

Wimbi is a riddle game based on a peculiar interaction: Instead of touching the screen as usual, the player uses the table as an input to create the waves he needs to unlock the targets. As the levels rise, he will have to be more and more precise, and make good use of chain reactions, bounding, and clipping of the waves. This project gave me the opportunity to work on a combination of real and virtual spaces, allowing the game to extend beyond the simple screen, to create richer interactions.

Nicolas Nahornyj – Lazy Pen

MEDIA & INTERACTION DESIGN

Nicolas Nahornyj – Lazy Pen

Diploma project with Alain Bellet, Cyril Diagne, Christophe Guignard, Gaël Hugo

After receiving a dozen handwritten letters from my grandmother, I finally decided to answer them. I wanted to combine the practical side of computer-based word processing and the emotional aspect of one's handwriting. This tool allows the user to distort the typeface as they write, using the moving palettes placed beneath their palms. The goal is to be able to produce one's own typography in real time, thus offering a more personal touch.

Chain Reaction

MEDIA & INTERACTION DESIGN

Chain Reaction

Workshop with Gaël Hugo, Mathieu Rivier

This installation is composed of six iPads disposed one above the other. Students in group of two developed an application that could be adapted for the six different devices. A system then allows the iPads to communicate with each other. Each unit is related to a type of behavior developed independently but taking into account all the juxtaposed iPads to form a coherent visual whole.

Sylvain Meltz – Mecadro

MEDIA & INTERACTION DESIGN

Sylvain Meltz – Mecadro

Diploma project by Sylvain Meltz

Mecadro is a construction game available on computer and online (sylvainmeltz.com/mecadro), that allows you to create a “machine“ based on simple mathematical and geometric principles (translations, rotations, trigonometry…) to product complex drawings. The game introduces the user to programming through a graphic interface: he has to experiment, think in a certain way, observe and contemplate a more or less expected result. During my 4 years at ECAL, the hidden beauty of mathematics and geometry has been one of the most interesting discoveries: with a simple formula, a point can become a moving, independent and complex object. Programming took a significant part in my studies and introduced me to a certain reasoning and creative “behaviour” : to experiment, to research, to alter… Sylvain Meltz

Karian Foehr – Timor

MEDIA & INTERACTION DESIGN

Karian Foehr – Timor

Diploma project with Alain Bellet, Gaël Hugo

Reactive Type

MEDIA & INTERACTION DESIGN

Reactive Type

Studio project with Gaël Hugo

Filter

Feed

Type

Formation

Savoir-faire

Années

2006 2022
Random?

MEDIA & INTERACTION DESIGN

Random?

Workshop avec Andreas Gysin, Sébastien Matos

Random? – Workshop par Andreas Gysin Les élèves ont travaillé sur le concept d’aléatoire pour générer une série de motifs et de dessins.

Nathanaël Vianin – The Last Forest

MEDIA & INTERACTION DESIGN

Nathanaël Vianin – The Last Forest

Projet de diplôme avec Alain Bellet, Christophe Guignard, Gaël Hugo, Laura Nieder, Pauline Saglio

The Last Forest propose une forêt, accessible par navigateur, contenant des informations spatialisées sur l’effondrement en général. Les internautes sont invité·e·s à s’y promener, et ils·elles y trouvent des messages de la communauté reddit r/collapse sous forme d’arbres. Catégorisation et index permettent une navigation structurée des informations contenues dans les arbres. The Last Forest a pour but de sensibiliser au changement climatique et à son potentiel de mettre fin à la civilisation mondialisée et consumériste telle que nous la connaissons.

Raster Walker

MEDIA & INTERACTION DESIGN

Raster Walker

Workshop avec Gaël Hugo

Contenu produit pendant une semaine bloc avec Gaël Hugo, basé sur l'expérimentation autour de la rastérisation d'images et des systèmes de particules. Projets par ECAL/Alicia Gantès, Mélanie Martin, Julie Turin.

MATHEMATICAL MUSIC

MEDIA & INTERACTION DESIGN

MATHEMATICAL MUSIC

Projet d’atelier avec Gaël Hugo

Soundtoys développés par Emma Grosu, Isaïa Delaplace, Gary Sandoz, Viktor Gagné de 1ère année Bachelor en Media & Interaction Design dans le cadre d'un cours donné par Gaël Hugo.

Transitions

MEDIA & INTERACTION DESIGN

Transitions

Workshop avec Mario Von Rickenbach

Webtoys développés par les étudiants de 1ère année Bachelor en Media & Interaction Design dans le cadre d'une semaine de workshop donnée par Mario von Rickenbach.

Ultra Low Resolution

MEDIA & INTERACTION DESIGN

Ultra Low Resolution

Workshop avec Andreas Gysin, Pierry Jaquillard

Ultra Low Resolution – Workshop par Andreas Gysin

Circle Studies

MEDIA & INTERACTION DESIGN

Circle Studies

Workshop avec Zach Lieberman, Sébastien Matos

Circle Studies - Un atelier à distance d’une semaine enseigné par Zach Lieberman autour des croquis quotidiens. Les étudiants ont tous commencé avec le même cercle et ont trouvé différentes façons de le pousser et de le manipuler . Atelier d'une semaine donné par Zach Lieberman, assisté par Sébastien Matos.

From Screen to Paper Abecedarium

MEDIA & INTERACTION DESIGN

From Screen to Paper Abecedarium

Workshop avec Jessica In, Paul Noël, Clio Hadjigeorgiou

<meta charset="UTF-8"> Un workshop d’une semaine à distance avec Jessica In où les étudiant·e·s de 1ère année Media & Interaction Design et Design Graphique ont travaillé ensemble sur le lien entre contenu écran et imprimé. Durant cette semaine, les étudiant·e·s ont effectué des recherches formelles dans Processing afin de réaliser un abécédaire, ensuite imprimé à l'aide d'un plotter axidraw.

Collection

MEDIA & INTERACTION DESIGN

Collection

Projet d’atelier avec Gaël Hugo

Illustrations intéractives réalisées autour du thème de la collection. Sélection de projets créés  lors du cours  Creative Coding  avec Gaël Hugo

TEXTMODE

MEDIA & INTERACTION DESIGN

TEXTMODE

Workshop avec Andreas Gysin

Modes d'affichage et d'utilisation de texte comme matériel creatifs : tramme, ASCII art, émoticônes et poésie. Projets créés en première année Bachelor Media & Interaction lors du workshop  TEXTMODE  donné par Andreas Gysin. Workshop assisté par Paul Lëon.

Extra 2020

MEDIA & INTERACTION DESIGN

Extra 2020

Workshop avec Cyril Diagne

Un workshop d’une semaine avec Cyril Diagne où les étudiants ont été invités à questionner le navigateur et son utilisation, à changer l’expérience du web grâce aux extensions Chrome. Trace ECAL/Jamy Herrmann « TRACE » est une extension Chrome qui vous permet de visualiser votre parcours à travers des images sur le web. Une alternative à l’historique de navigation classique et un projet simple mêlant graphisme et visualisation de données. History Bubble ECAL/Elodie Anglade « History Bubble », une extension Chrome vous aidant à visualiser votre historique de navigation au jour le jour. Chrome Pollution ECAL/Jorge Reis « Chrome Pollution » vous permet de voir l’invisible travailler avec des données de qualité de l’air en temps réel. iEye ECAL/Achille Masson « iEye » est le meilleur add-on pour votre navigateur de cette décennie. Changez d’onglet, faites défiler vers le bas, interagissez avec votre navigateur… Juste avec votre visage. Cette extension Chrome utilise ml5.js pour le facetracking. Rekt Animation ECAL/Martial Grin « Les animations de sites Web sont nulles » Avec l’extension Chrome « Rekt Animation », supprimez toute animation inutile et envahissante sur n’importe quel site web.

Evan Kelly – Invisible Social Network

MEDIA & INTERACTION DESIGN

Evan Kelly – Invisible Social Network

Projet de diplôme avec Alain Bellet, Christophe Guignard, Gaël Hugo, Laura Nieder, Pauline Saglio

Mention Excellent Prix de l’ECAL « Invisible Social Network » est un dispositif portable qui rend perceptibles et tangibles les communications invisibles et autonomes des machines. La manière dont elles interagissent les unes avec les autres s’apparente aux modes de communications humains, créant ainsi un véritable réseau social de machines. Ce dispositif agit en médiateur entre les humains et les machines qui les entourent. Par le biais de son écran, il nous transmet des bribes de ses communications continues et silencieuses sous la forme de métaphores sociales humaines.

Satisfaction 2020

MEDIA & INTERACTION DESIGN

Satisfaction 2020

Workshop avec Mario Von Rickenbach

Webtoys satisfaisants développés par les étudiants de 1ère année Bachelor en Media & Interaction Design dans le cadre d'une semaine de workshop donnée par Mario von Rickenbach.

TYPEMACHINES

MEDIA & INTERACTION DESIGN

TYPEMACHINES

Workshop

Exploration autour des possibilités infinies de l'expression typographique, encadrée dans un système visuel strict. Une semaine de workshop donnée par Tim Rodenbröker aux 2ème année Bachelor en Media & Interaction Design, assisté par Pietro Alberti.

Super Low Resolution

MEDIA & INTERACTION DESIGN

Super Low Resolution

Workshop avec Andreas Gysin

Pendant une semaine, les étudiants Bachelor 1ère année Media & Interaction Design ont été confrontés à la problématique de créer des visuels  en utilisant une résolution minimale. Semaine bloc donné par Andreas Gysin et assisté par Callum Ross.

XY

MEDIA & INTERACTION DESIGN

XY

Workshop avec Ted Davis

XY - Expérimentations autour du potentiel graphique et interactif des oscilloscopes. Une semaine de workshop donnée par Ted Davis aux 1re année Bachelor en Media & Interaction Design. Workshop assisté par Sébastien Matos.

Extra 2019

MEDIA & INTERACTION DESIGN

Extra 2019

Workshop avec Cyril Diagne

Un workshop d'une semaine avec Cyril Diagne où les étudiants ont été invités à questionner le navigateur et son utilisation, à changer l'expérience du web grâce aux extensions chrome.

Satisfaction 2019

MEDIA & INTERACTION DESIGN

Satisfaction 2019

Workshop avec Mario Von Rickenbach

Webtoys satisfaisants développés par les étudiants de 1ère année Bachelor en Media & Interaction Design dans le cadre d'une semaine de workshop donnée par Mario von Rickenbach.

Infomesh

MEDIA & INTERACTION DESIGN

Infomesh

Collaboration avec Vincent Jacquier, Pauline Saglio

Infomesh est une plateforme web célébrant le 30ème anniversaire du World Wide Web qui explore les faits sociaux, techniques, culturels et juridiques à travers différentes chronologies interactives. Il a été initié en octobre 2018 lors d'un atelier d'une semaine en partenariat avec swissnex San Francisco, où les étudiants ont visité des partenaires clés et commencé à développer le projet.  La chronologie présente une vue d'ensemble de l'histoire du Web, à commencer par la proposition d'hypertexte de Tim Berners-Lee au CERN en 1989, initialement sous le nom de "Information Mesh". A partir de cette date de début, les utilisateurs peuvent alors explorer 30 ans d'évolution. infomesh.org

Raster Walker

MEDIA & INTERACTION DESIGN

Raster Walker

Workshop avec Gaël Hugo

Contenu produit pendant deux semaines blocs avec Gaël Hugo en 2018 et 2019, basé sur l'expérimentation autour de la rastérisation d'images et des systèmes de particules. Projets par ECAL/Antony Demierre, Antoine Barras, Aurélien Pellegrini, Bastien Claessens, Basil Dénéréaz, Diane Thouvenin, Dorian Jovanovic, Evan Kelly, Guillaume Giraud, Ignacio Pérez, Ivan Chestopaloff, Kylan Luginbühl, Léonard Guyot, Maya Bellier, Malik Sobgoui, Michael Pica, Nora Fatehi, Paul Lëon, Paul Fritz, Sébastien Galera Larios, Valentine Leimgruber, Valerio Meschi et Yaël Sidler

Network Related Design

MEDIA & INTERACTION DESIGN

Network Related Design

Projet d’atelier avec Gaël Hugo

Sélection de jeux produits en 2018 dans le cadre du cours  Network  Related Design mené par Gaël Hugo. Projets par ECAL/Pablo Bellon, Bastien Claessens, Evan Kelly and Aurélien Pellegrini

Satisfaction 2018

MEDIA & INTERACTION DESIGN

Satisfaction 2018

Workshop avec Mario Von Rickenbach

Webtoys satisfaisants développés par les étudiants de 1ère année Bachelor en Media & Interaction Design dans le cadre d'une semaine de workshop donnée par Mario von Rickenbach.

Growth

MEDIA & INTERACTION DESIGN

Growth

Workshop avec Nicolas Barradeau

Semaine bloc de programmation créative avec Nicolas Barradeau autour du thème "Growth". Plus d'informations ici

Timeline 125

MEDIA & INTERACTION DESIGN

Timeline 125

Collaboration avec Angelo Benedetto, Cyril Diagne, Vincent Jacquier

Timeline 125 est une timeline interactive créée spécialement pour le 125e anniversaire de l’Ecole hôtelière de Lausanne. Ce projet fut développé en collaboration avec les étudiant·x·e·s de 1ère année Bachelor, orientation Media & Interaction Design.

HHMMSS

MEDIA & INTERACTION DESIGN

HHMMSS

Projet d’atelier avec Angelo Benedetto

Horloges virtuelles n'ayants aucun repères temporels, simples représentations du temps qui passe. Sélection de projets créés en première année Bachelor Media & Interaction lors du cours Dynamic Display avec Angelo Benedetto. Retrouvez toutes les versions interactives ici .

Moving Posters

MEDIA & INTERACTION DESIGN

Moving Posters

Workshop avec Jürg Lehni

Ce workshop d'une semaine avec Jürg Lehni a permis aux étudiants de première année en Media & Interaction Design d'explorer et d'expérimenter avec le framework Paper.js.  Plus de projets ici

Pietro Alberti – Beyond Fields

MEDIA & INTERACTION DESIGN

Pietro Alberti – Beyond Fields

Projet de diplôme avec Alain Bellet, Cyril Diagne, Christophe Guignard, Gaël Hugo

Beyond Fields est un jeu multiplateforme de type puzzle, décomposé en trois chapitres chacun s'inspirant des interactions fondamentales de la nature. Au fil du jeu, le joueur traverse les niveaux au cours desquels il a l'occasion d’interagir avec différents éléments graphiques qui vont lui permettre de rééquilibrer les champs de forces présents et résoudre le niveau en question. Grâce à un système de filtres, il a la possibilité de voyager entre différentes représentations du jeu - graphiques, analytiques ou mathématiques - lui permettant ainsi d'avoir une vision globale des forces qui s'exercent entre les éléments graphiques. Jouer en ligne

Satisfaction 2017

MEDIA & INTERACTION DESIGN

Satisfaction 2017

Workshop avec Mario Von Rickenbach

Webtoys satisfaisants développés par les étudiants de 1ère année Bachelor en Media & Interaction Design dans le cadre d’une semaine de workshop donnée par Mario von Rickenbach. Toutes les versions interactives ici.

Audio Reactive

MEDIA & INTERACTION DESIGN

Audio Reactive

Autre avec Gaël Hugo

Série de projets réactifs au son développés pour l'identité visuelle du Pavillon français "Studio Venezia" par Xavier Veilhan à la Biennale de Venise. Des postes Instagram ont été produits à partir de ces expériences. Curation : Lionel Bovier et Christian Marclay Graphic Design : Gavillet Cie

Swiss Data

MEDIA & INTERACTION DESIGN

Swiss Data

Collaboration avec Cyril Diagne, Vincent Jacquier

Une série de visualisation de données interactives à propos de la culture suisse et de l’activité de swissnex. Créés par les étudiants du Bachelor Media & Design d’Interaction de l’ECAL, les projets ont été initiés pendant un voyage d’une semaine à San Francisco en mars 2016. Ils présentent une manière nouvelle et ludique d’afficher des données. Commissioné par swissnex San Francisco.

Romain Cazier – Rec All

MEDIA & INTERACTION DESIGN

Romain Cazier – Rec All

Projet de diplôme avec Alain Bellet, Cyril Diagne, Christophe Guignard, Gaël Hugo

Ce projet est une réinterprétation personnelle des jeux de réflexion géométrique que l’on trouve sur mobile. Reprenant certains codes propres au genre, j’ai également voulu m’en démarquer en proposant un univers singulier composé de créatures étranges dont les comportements cycliques sont générés d’un simple geste. L’application est composée d’un mode par niveaux où le joueur doit résoudre des puzzles, et d’un mode « découverte » où il peut produire des créatures sans limite. Rec All s’inscrit dans la continuité d’expérimentations ludiques et techniques que j’ai initiées à l’ECAL.

Bastien Girschig – Wimbi

MEDIA & INTERACTION DESIGN

Bastien Girschig – Wimbi

Projet de diplôme avec Alain Bellet, Cyril Diagne, Christophe Guignard, Gaël Hugo

Wimbi est un jeu d’énigme basé sur une interaction particulière : au lieu de toucher l’écran, le joueur tape sur la table pour créer les vagues qui vont lui permettre de passer les différents niveaux. Au fur et à mesure, la précision demandée est de plus en plus grande, et le joueur devra utiliser des techniques plus poussées comme des rebonds ou des réactions en chaîne. Ce projet m’a permis de travailler sur une interaction singulière combinant les espaces réels et virtuels, permettant au jeu de sortir de l’écran seul, pour créer des interactions plus riches.

Nicolas Nahornyj – Lazy Pen

MEDIA & INTERACTION DESIGN

Nicolas Nahornyj – Lazy Pen

Projet de diplôme avec Alain Bellet, Cyril Diagne, Christophe Guignard, Gaël Hugo

Après réception de plus d’une dizaine de lettres manuscrites de ma grand-mère, j’ai finalement décidé d’y répondre. J’ai voulu allier le côté pratique d’une rédaction par ordinateur et l'aspect émotionnel d'une écriture manuscrite. Cet outil permet de modifier le tracé des caractères tout en écrivant, grâce aux palettes disposées sous les paumes de l'utilisateur. Le but est de pouvoir produire sa propre typographie en temps réel afin de proposer une approche plus personnelle.

Chain Reaction

MEDIA & INTERACTION DESIGN

Chain Reaction

Workshop avec Gaël Hugo, Mathieu Rivier

Cette installation est composée de six iPads disposés l’un au-dessus de l’autre. Les étudiants par groupe de deux ont développé une application qui s’adapte aux six différents appareils. Un système permet alors aux iPads de communiquer entre eux afin de former un ensemble visuel cohérent.

Sylvain Meltz – Mecadro

MEDIA & INTERACTION DESIGN

Sylvain Meltz – Mecadro

Projet de diplôme par Sylvain Meltz

Mecadro est un jeu de construction sur ordinateur disponible en ligne (sylvainmeltz.com/mecadro), qui permet de créer une « machine » qui repose sur des règles mathématiques et géométriques simples (translations, rotations, trigonométrie, …) afin d’obtenir des dessins complexes. Le jeu initie l’utilisateur à la programmation de manière graphique, en le poussant à expérimenter, raisonner d’une certaine manière, à observer/contempler un résultat plus ou moins attendu. Parmi les différentes découvertes faites durant ces 4 années à l’ECAL, la beauté cachée des mathématiques et de la géométrie a été l’une des plus intéressantes. Avec une simple formule, un point peut se transformer en un objet indépendant aux comportements et déplacements complexes. La programmation quant à elle a pris une grande partie de ma scolarité et m’a initié à un raisonnement et une attitude particuliers  : expérimenter, chercher, rechercher… Sylvain Meltz

Karian Foehr – Timor

MEDIA & INTERACTION DESIGN

Karian Foehr – Timor

Projet de diplôme avec Alain Bellet, Gaël Hugo

Reactive Type

MEDIA & INTERACTION DESIGN

Reactive Type

Projet d’atelier avec Gaël Hugo

Filtrer