Home Working

Home Working

Projects on the subject of working from home or remote working, which marks our time and leads us to question both what work is, and how and where we work.

The recent remote working experience gave us many new insights. This experience could lead to new ways of working in the future, as the COVID19 pandemic amplifies and accelerates. This is a good opportunity to re-evaluate the concept of home office, which started with the emerging computization and technology from the 1950/60s, but has never happened on a global scale like this until now.

From the Industrial Revolution until fairly recently, most people worked outside their homes in factories, offices, public buildings or outdoors. Those places and our ways of working in them were designed accordingly. “Home working” or “remote working” marks our time questioning both what is work, and how and where we work. Public and private spaces collapse into one realm with all its social, economical and political consequences.

For this project, we wanted to see visionary ideas about where and how we will work in the future and solutions for home working, translated in a surprising/relevant design. This new “home work station” could be a piece of furniture, or an object, or a transforming space.

Studio project (2021) with Dylan van den Berg, Wieki Somers, Giulia-Amélie Chehab

Students
Dario Aguet, Masen Al-Saghir, Fanny Bichet, Marine Bouvard, Frederik Buchmann, Paul Carluy, Emma Casella, Yann Cistac, Alexandre Desarzens, Frank Frick, Léon Félix, Guillaume Gindrat, Gabriel Hafner, Lucie Herter, Camila Hidalgo, Domenico Iamartino, Nima Kaufmann, Anaïs Lehmann, Timothée Lehmann, Kim Lissy, Alexandre Margueron, Lirjeta Maxhuni, Stéphane Mischler, Agnes Murmann, Alex Nguyen, Jillian Reichlin, Anaïs Rochat, Theodore Simon, Constance Thiessoz, Célia Tourette, Laure Wasser, Sophie van der Bij
BSOD ECAL/ Alex Nguyen
BSOD ECAL/ Alex Nguyen
BSOD ECAL/ Alex Nguyen

1/3

Get Up ECAL/ Frederik Buchmann
Get Up ECAL/ Frederik Buchmann

1/2

Eclipse ECAL/ Théodore Simon
Eclipse ECAL/ Théodore Simon

1/2

Sol ECAL/ Léon Félix
Sol ECAL/ Léon Félix

1/2

Midi ECAL/ Guillaume Gindrat
Midi ECAL/ Guillaume Gindrat
Midi ECAL/ Guillaume Gindrat

1/3

rendu table cook.jpg
Tabula Rasa ECAL/ Nima Kaufmann
Flip ECAL/ Anaïs Lehmann
Flip ECAL/ Anaïs Lehmann
Flip ECAL/ Anaïs Lehmann

1/3

Unité de travail ECAL/ Gabriel Hafner
Unité de travail ECAL/  Gabriel Hafner
Unité de travail ECAL/ Gabriel Hafner

1/3

Tug Plug ECAL/ Agnes Murmann
Tug Plug ECAL/ Agnes Murmann

1/2

Home Working

Home Working

Projets sur le thème du travail à domicile ou du télétravail, qui marquent notre époque et nous amènent à nous interroger à la fois sur ce qu'est le travail, et sur la manière et le lieu où nous travaillons.

La récente expérience de travail à distance nous a donné de nombreuses idées nouvelles. Cette expérience pourrait déboucher sur de nouvelles méthodes de travail à l'avenir, à mesure que la pandémie de COVID19 s'amplifie et s'accélère. C'est une bonne occasion pour réévaluer le concept de bureau à domicile, qui a commencé avec l'émergence de l'informatique et de la technologie dans les années 1950/60, mais qui n'a jamais été appliqué à une échelle mondiale comme celle-ci jusqu'à présent.

Depuis la révolution industrielle jusqu'à une date assez récente, la plupart des gens travaillaient en dehors de leur domicile dans des usines, des bureaux, des bâtiments publics ou à l'extérieur. Ces lieux et nos méthodes de travail ont été conçus en conséquence. Le "travail à domicile" ou "travail à distance" marque notre époque et nous amène à nous interroger à la fois sur ce qu'est le travail, et sur la manière dont nous travaillons et les lieux où nous travaillons. Les espaces publics et privés s'effondrent en un seul royaume avec toutes ses conséquences sociales, économiques et politiques.

Pour ce projet, nous voulions voir des idées visionnaires sur le lieu et la manière dont nous travaillerons à l'avenir et des solutions pour le travail à domicile, traduites dans un design surprenant et pertinent. Ce nouveau "poste de travail à domicile" pourrait être un meuble, un objet ou un espace transformant.

Projet d’atelier (2021) avec Dylan van den Berg, Wieki Somers, Giulia-Amélie Chehab

Étudiant·e·s
Dario Aguet, Masen Al-Saghir, Fanny Bichet, Marine Bouvard, Frederik Buchmann, Paul Carluy, Emma Casella, Yann Cistac, Alexandre Desarzens, Frank Frick, Léon Félix, Guillaume Gindrat, Gabriel Hafner, Lucie Herter, Camila Hidalgo, Domenico Iamartino, Nima Kaufmann, Anaïs Lehmann, Timothée Lehmann, Kim Lissy, Alexandre Margueron, Lirjeta Maxhuni, Stéphane Mischler, Agnes Murmann, Alex Nguyen, Jillian Reichlin, Anaïs Rochat, Theodore Simon, Constance Thiessoz, Célia Tourette, Laure Wasser, Sophie van der Bij
BSOD ECAL/ Alex Nguyen
BSOD ECAL/ Alex Nguyen
BSOD ECAL/ Alex Nguyen

1/3

Get Up ECAL/ Frederik Buchmann
Get Up ECAL/ Frederik Buchmann

1/2

Eclipse ECAL/ Théodore Simon
Eclipse ECAL/ Théodore Simon

1/2

Sol ECAL/ Léon Félix
Sol ECAL/ Léon Félix

1/2

Midi ECAL/ Guillaume Gindrat
Midi ECAL/ Guillaume Gindrat
Midi ECAL/ Guillaume Gindrat

1/3

rendu table cook.jpg
Tabula Rasa ECAL/ Nima Kaufmann
Flip ECAL/ Anaïs Lehmann
Flip ECAL/ Anaïs Lehmann
Flip ECAL/ Anaïs Lehmann

1/3

Unité de travail ECAL/ Gabriel Hafner
Unité de travail ECAL/ Gabriel Hafner
Unité de travail ECAL/ Gabriel Hafner

1/3

Tug Plug ECAL/ Agnes Murmann
Tug Plug ECAL/ Agnes Murmann

1/2